Sewing Machine Cover

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

I decided to recycle a seat cover that I bought for an old chair that I no longer have. I bought it from IKEA and it is made from a very heavy duty canvas that is 100% cotton. I have a plastic cover for my Singer embroidery/sewing machine, but I wanted to make a better one.

1B473A6DA6004EB687AF7ED41D01D6E2.jpeg

I ordered a new embroidery carriage for my sewing machine from a seller on eBay. The seller paid for two day priority mail and it was supposed to be delivered this past Friday. I waited all day long and it did not come. When I checked the tracking number, it said that it was out for delivery. when it did not arrive, I just knew that it would come today.

C5725C02BCB24680B1B51F775E08652B.jpeg

I spent my time taking the old seat cover a loose at the seams so that I could use as much of the fabric that I could.

C2EC190B649047D19913CA82DC1766A5.jpeg

I was actually hoping that I could get two sewing machine covers from the one cushion cover.

I used the old plastic cover as a template to cut out my new cover. I want to embroider on the new cover before I sew it together because it is easier to hoop a flat piece of fabric.

The postman finally came and did not have my package. I told him that it was overdue and should have been delivered Friday. He told me that he would go back to the station and if it was there he would bring it back to my house once he finished his route.

21F2C12C0D8A405AB3505C72ECEB03CE.jpeg

In the meantime, I decided to serge along the raw edges of the canvas that were not finished. I have some dark blue thread on my serger, and I did not want to replace all four cones with white thread right now.

26BB79EB33EA4C1E854CC11058F585C9.jpeg

I decided to use the overcast function on my Singer machine instead of re-threading the serger.

D298A24A276E4220B33A3393D053D0BA.jpeg

Talk about slow going! My serger sews so quickly that it takes seconds to go along the edge of a 10 inch piece of fabric. The regular sewing machine sews the overcast stitch very slowly in comparison. The machine goes forward, backward and side to side. The stitch looks really good, but it is not practical at all if you own a serger.

This machine cover will just have to be a work in progress because I don’t know when or if the postman will return this evening with my embroidery carriage. I am not going to make it more difficult for me to embroider on the fabric by sewing the pieces together before I embroider a design on the front.

If you sew on a regular basis and you don’t on a serger, you might want to buy one if you can find a good deal. Sewing with a serger gives you the speed of a commercial sewing machine.

To be continued. . .

BBCE118B90684C4AB0C2F353519C651E.jpeg

Sort:  

Good luck with your machine cover! It is rather annoying when the mail is really late like that. I am still waiting on a tshirt that was supposed to come months ago. I like that you are recycling the canvas from the seat cover.

I ended up going to the post office to retrieve my package myself. The post office was swamped and I got there early. I am just glad that they were able to find my package in the back. The postal worker told me that they were short staffed because of people being ill from the virus.

It's great that you got it finally.