NEEDLEWORKMONDAY: MAKING REF TOWEL

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

Hello crafters,

When I posted my Copying Nature: Talampunay on FB, my high school batchmate a retired teacher pm me, requesting if I could post a video tutorial of a Ref Towel on my YouTube Channel, Jurich Vlog, for her to view and copy because she have on hand towels, hook and yarn. She just do not know how to start.

I did it, later I will upload in my Channel. I told her I will design the ref towel that is not available on malls or craft store, must be unique so she can also sell it to keep her busy on this pandemic time.

IMG_20200802_190059.JPG

Thankful I have the materials needed because the craft stores where I used to buy yarns and accesories is far from new abode plus the GCQ status Seniors can't leave the house.

Materials used: face towel, 4ply yarn, sewing needle and thread, button and crochet hook double ended hook 2.5mm/3mm.

Fold the edge of the face towel or pleats using pins.

IMG_20200803_002245.jpg

Then, I made the base for the flower.

IMG_20200803_194550.jpg

Row 1: Foundation chain(ch)- ch 16, 1 double crochet ( dc) in 3rd hook from ch , 1 dc in each 14 ch, ch 2, turn your work. (15dc)

Row 2 to Row 11: all dc in each row, cut and weave ends.

The holder:

Fold into half, Row 1: 1 dc in each 5 stitch (st) starting into the 6th stitch, ch 2, turn your work (5dc). Repeat until Row 9.

Row 10: for the button hole, 1dc in each 2 st, ch2, 1 dc into the ch 2, skip 1 dc, 1dc in next st, ch2, slip stich into last st, cut and weave ends.

Sew the button, lower of the first Row of the holder.

I know my button did not match the towel,but that is just what I have.

Flower:

IMG_20200803_193458.jpg

With brown yarn and crochet hook 2.5mm, work in continous rounds, in a ring ch 1, 5 single crochet (sc) do not close.

Round(Rnd) 2: 2 sc in each st

Rnd 3: 1sc, 2 sc all around

Down with brown yarn, bring in yellow gold, wirh 3mm hook: ch 4, 1 extended triple crochet (etr) in each 2st, holding the last loop, ch 3, sl st into 3rd ch, 1 etr, ch 4, sl st in same st (1st petal made. Repeat again to form four petals more.
Sl st, cut and weave ends. Sew, at center of the base.

Insert the towel in the center of the base, green, and sew the edges of the base to close. Done!

Last night, my youngest daughter saw the Ref Towel, too. Waiting for the video for her to follow.

Thanks for passing by...

received_709825929767277(1).gif

Once again, grateful to the founder @crosheille of this awesome # needleworkmonday community and the active admins: @marblely @shanibeer @muscara another monday of sharing our passion on the blockchain.

Am inviting every needle enthusiasts, cmon join the #needleworkmonday activity community and learn from each other.

IMG_20200623_000310.jpg

Sort:  

So creative and so lovely - having this sunflower decorated towel will light up the plainest kitchen!

Have a !BEER

Thank you much Admin Muscara, true it will add beauty to the kitchen especially the ref.

Hello @juricho! I really miss visiting your posts with your crocheted creations! The towel is so beautiful and very neatly made! I really love how you pleated the face towel and I love all of the contrasting colors. I think the button looks just fine. This is the generation of not matching lol. Any color scheme goes nowadays ;)

Thanks so much for sharing this week and showing the process of your work. I look forward to connecting again once I fully return later this Fall. You may see me pop in an out every now and again until then ~

Oh thank you thank you much for dropping by my post, it's an honor hehehe. Thanks you liked the contrasting button, I was worried really it did not match.

Of course!! I really enjoyed visiting today :)

Yes, love that button! 😍

Some creative crotched work. Good looking

Thank you much for appreciating.


Hey @jurich60, here is a little bit of BEER from @muscara for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I've always wanted to learn crochet but never got the time. When time came because of the pandemic I don't have the tools. Wahhh..

Buy online Sis, yes, now is the time, pandemic time just at home, many tutorials in YouTube,never too late to learn crochet.

This looks very good. I love the creativity.

Such a great idea to vivid a kitchen!! I think I will make a towel too, when I find the time!! Hehe!

Thanks @puellacreativa yes nice for the kitchen

 4 years ago  

So lovely. You changed the look of the towel entirely! I love your pincushion too :)

Thanks @marblely yes, just found the dual use of my collected stones can be paper weight plus can be as pin cushion.