NEEDLEWORKMONDAY: COLLECTED STONES AS PAPER WEIGHT

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago (edited)

Hello crafters,

Today am sharing you may super long long time Or long years want to make. This time I must make because we need it.

The geotechnical boring test of hubby leads us to many places so, in every project site I collect stones or peebles or shells if the project is by the beach area. As the years passed by I accumulated many stones. Some were in our 2 nd home in Olongapo City. Some I left when we transferred to another house. Stone collecting I considered record of places I visited and history of our projects. Many stories to tell.

Last saturday I wrapped the stones with my forte, crocheting. My purpose as a paper weight this time. Hubby badly needed paper weights. He just used heavier things like small book, pentel pens, his magnifying glass etc. Aha, moment occured, why not make use of my stones collected.

The front: Triad Stone

IMG_20200720_175155.jpg

The back:

IMG_20200720_175140.jpg

IMG_20200720_175033.jpg

The material I used on my first try was the acrylic 3 ply but I changed it to mercerized cotton which I have ample supply from my previous projects because 3ply yarn was too thick.

IMG_20200720_175048.jpg

My next try...using mercerized cotton single pull with 1.5 mm silver hook jibed with the triad stone constructing a triangular granny stitch.

IMG_20200720_175101.jpg

Pattern:

Row 1: With ecru, [ chain(ch) 3, in a ring, 1double crochet(dc), ch 2, 2 dc, ch 5 ] repeat 3x, slip stitch(sl st) into 3rd ch of beginning ch 3.

Row 2: sl st once, into space ch 3, [1dc in same space (sp) ch 3, 2 dc in same sp, ch 2, single crochet (sc) into the ch 5 of Row 1] rep 2x, sl st into 3rd ch og beg ch 3.

Row 3: [ Ch 3, 2 dc in same sp, ch 3, 3 dc in same st, ch 3, 1 dc into sp, 1 dc in previous sc, ch 3] rep 3x, sl st into 3rd ch of beg ch 3.

Row 4: Ch 3, considered as 1st dc, 2 dc, ch 3, 3dc all in same corner sp, ch 2, 3 dc in each space repeat all around, achieving 3 corner, sl st into ch 3 of beg ch 3.

Row 5 & Row 6: Repeat Row 4.

Row 7 to Row 9: Ch 5 all around.

Row 10: ch 10 in each st, all around.

Row 11: sc in each 9 sp without continuing the loops to gather all 9 st, repeat again, knot then weave ends.

IMG_20200720_200353.jpg

I searched from my stash of uncontinued items I made before that fit the shape of the stone, then, I will just sew the sides.

IMG_20200720_175125.jpg

Thanks for passing by...

received_709825929767277(1).gif

Once again, grateful to the founder @crosheille of this awesome # needleworkmonday community and the active admins: @marblely @shanibeer @muscara another monday of sharing our passion on the blockchain.

Thanks much to @shanibeer for sponsoring the delegation through raffles every monday activity to posting members

IMG_20200623_000310.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you much much @appreciator


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #30.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph to your every post.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.

Oh, Thank you much @hiveph

Wow grabe nice ate..murag koti kaayo buhaton.

Keep posting your needle works ate.

Thank you, dali ra baya na tun an.

Lagi unta ate