Lino printing fabric with a further project in mind.

Recently I like to focus on the certainty, that I already have a lot of components to my creative work around me.

I enjoy giving myself the time, to just look around and use the things that are already there. Try to keep myself away from inventing the wheel new every time. Trying to keep myself away from buying things, with the excuse of a creative project.

With that and a few other thoughts in mind I started the following...

There is this secondhand shop where I live at the moment, that I visit from time to time. I never bought anything, couldn’t find interesting things. Meanwhile mainly, as I started this article off. I don’t want to fill up the boxes with more projects and great ideas.

Nevertheless it happens to be, that they had huge rolls of super cheap “sweater”-fabric in bright colors such as red, purple, green.
Of course, I was tempted to buy some. And I didn’t, requesting to myself, that I could only get some of it if I would have a very specific idea on what to do with it.

Last week I had this idea. And I got some meters of red fabric.

The lady was super nice and gave me even more meters than I asked for and made me pay even less than the original measures I had asked for. Which I gladly took as a sign that I was right to get into this new project.

And what will that project be about?

Hand printing fabric with Lino plates I designed and carved. And so forth assembling a two piece, consisting of a sweater and pants.

At first, I choose the patterns I was going to use for the sweater and the trousers. As for the sweater I found a free pattern on the internet, that I could always alter to my liking.

For once, it was very much enjoyable, to use a ready-made pattern, not having to wreck my head around measurements and shapes before I could even start.
For the bottom I used a leggings pattern from my collection, which I also plan to alter. (Still can’t help it.)

Firstly, I am cutting the patterns…

…coping them onto the fabric

…so, I would know where to print

…and where I wouldn’t have to

In the last weeks I did share some of my recent Lino printing sessions. That’s where I took the Plate for this project from.

Undeceive at first which plate to choose I went for this one…

…what I found interesting about that one was. That the plate itself is already designed in a way, that you could assemble it into a half offset pattern.

At first, I thought I was going to do this with a brush…

…luckily, I reconsidered

…the paint

...blue

…the set up

…rolling the paint over the Lino plate

…before each print

...test print, yes it works

…one after the other I place them on the fabric

…sometimes respecting order an edges

…placing the plate straight next to where the last one ended

…sometimes randomly choosing a spot

...only accepting the lines of the pattern as a guideline.

After I place the plate for the last time...

...the space is full of marks

...evidence for what had just taken place

...blue paint everywhere.

What I love about manual printing are those irregularities of the paint. Sometimes overlapping. Then dark blue and in the next part see-through and washes off.

Pieces of oranges all over the fabric.

For two hours I was absorbed, by this repetitive calming process. I even forgot to eat. The sun was shining through the windows from time to time. Listening to music. Letting my thoughts come and go however they wanted to.

Thank you all for being here!! Have a lovely week!
Thanks also to @nickydee to repentantly mention to me that Lino printing also works on fabric. I guess she is partially to blame for what you where witnessing…:)

All photos in this post are mine taken by me.

Sort:  
 last year  

I love this double craft project, sewing + stamping. That red cloth looks good, I'm glad you got to work right away and were able to get more of what you wanted. The whole was a very original idea. We'll see how it turns out.

Greetings, have a good week ❣️

Thank you!!! Yes I am very excited for the result:)
have a good day💕

Honestly I felt in love with the print you created!😍
It's amazing that you made this from scratch. Your ideas and your talent are endless girl! Congrats for your unique work🙂

Thank youu!!!❤️
what a compliment, really inspires me to keep going:) was already thinking about some other fabric-printing projects😅

Are you available somewhere online, like a shop?

This is w o n d e r f u l!

Machine or hand washing recommended? Would you do the house textile?

Thank you!!! I am just working on my online shop (or rather procrastinating about it) but I promise, also to myself it will be done soon...
Hmhm good question, it is meant for fabric (the paint) so should be washable, maybe just lower than 60° (Ill find out)!
You mean like duvet-covers and curtains?

So far as I am familiar most are recommended to be washed at lower temperatures, if you wanna keeo the newly.

Wohhhoooo, online shop is a must have, so stop making excuses, you will like it!

Yeap, like home textile, cloths, drapes, tablecloths, pillowcases....

you giving my ideas there on the bedsheets and pillowcases... well well one thing after the other:)
so far I am still working on getting my own bed into nice wrappings..

Hahaha, I just love handmade things, can't blame me on that and I don't know how to sew. :P

Looking forward to check out brand new wrapped bed and online shop! (:

The blue and red are lovely together, especially with the organic pattern of the block and the variations in the printing. I would struggle to contain the blue paint from where you have applied it to the printing block in its place and not everywhere else! What kind of paint did you use?

Uuuh I had that problem first (starting to put paint all over, the block, my hands and then on the fabric) but by attaching some scotch to the plate, it allowed me to hold it on those parts(and not on the edges), that helped. And continuously wiping my hands on my hoodie:)
It is serigraphy paint but more specifically I couldnt tell you what it was.
And thank you!! I must say I am glad the combination worked out, I like to go for those kind of contrasting choices..

It's a great idea. I love the result

Thank you:) thats very nice to hear!!

This is so beautiful, I love those stamps

Thank you!!:)

Pretty!

Thanks!

You're welcome

This is fabulous! I remember doing linoleum printing in a high school art class many years ago. You have tempted me to try it again, maybe. !CTP

Uuuh awesome, I love hearing it inspired you (maybe:))! Would like to see your version of Lino printing!!
Thank you:)