Upcycling a silk shirt.

Once I start looking for something, I often see myself reaching this point where I keep seeing or finding that thing all over. Even if I don’t need it anymore.

That’s how it went with my passion to upcycle silk shirts. At one stage I realized how much I like to work with silk, just because it is the loveliest material to touch.
Running your finger through silk fabric feels like holding a mountain river in your hands or catching the wind with your fingers.
That’s when I started to only look for silk shirts in all the secondhand shops I visited. Up to this stage, where I own lots of silk shirts, and barely find the time to turn all of them into cute little blouses.

This week though I digged one of those shirts out…

…to turn it into something new.

Upcycling shirts is since I started sewing one of my favorite things to do.

Funny enough it was also one of the first sewing-projects I did. Back then though it wasn’t really a matter of choice but rather a matter of not having enough fabric. Since, back then, the inspiration to learn how to sew overcame me very spontaneously, I didn’t have a great stock of fabric with me. And the little I had was very quickly used up.

In need of fabric, I looked around and one thing I could find where some shirts of my man, that I decided to give a new life to. And that’s pretty much how I started turning shirts into wrap tops.

This time I didn’t make a wrap top. But I wanted to change the neckline and the length of the arms. Somehow, I really dislike shirts with short arms.

So, I cut off some parts, that I would use to lengthen the arms.

Crop the whole top.

Measuring and pinning, as always.

Assembling.

And change the neckline...

...through cutting off and serge the seams.

Sewing everything together.

Then of course I took off the old tag.

And replaced it with mine.

Sewing it on by hand.

Finally we are left with the off cuts.

And the blouse, of course.

Thank you all to take your time and stop by to share my stories with me!! Have a very lovely week!

(all photos are mine, taken by me)

Sort:  
 last year  

Oooh I love this design. Thank you for all your work to give these garments another chance. That print is very cute, this shirt definitely had to be brought back and it looks great, what I would say "aesthetic" :p

As always, I love your posts. Your photos are beautiful.

Greetings, have a great day ❤️!

Thank you!!!
I really appreciate your lovely comment!
Yes I really like the print too, sometimes it gets a bit much for the eyes though..haha:)
Have a great time💕

Tha's a nice upcycling blouse. I like the idea of turning the shirt into a blouse.

Thank you! thats very nice to hear:)

Woah the result came up so good!
I love this blouse looks loose and classy and the print is awesome.
Have a great day girl!❤️

Thaaank you!!💕
aah yes thats what I like about it too:)
You too have a very good evening!!

Silk is so lovely and what a treat to find it secondhand at a reasonable price. I think it’s really cool you have your own labels, that really adds such a nice finishing touch. Maybe I should have some made too 🤔

Ooh you should definitely!!
Especially in knitwear it would also add up a very nice touch:)

Silk and cashmere, cuddling all day long!

Monday starts to look like, what did she made for this one!? 😍

❤️
aah thats really nice!!
...and my sundays, what will I come up with? haha
yes cant get me out of my cashmere, now the days get colder:)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for the support!! thats very nice @ewkaw and @qurator , glad you enjoyed it:)

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator tibfox & you just received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Make sure to always post / cross-post your creations within the DIYHub community on HIVE so we never miss your content. We also have a discord server where you can connect with us and other DIYers. If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/gardening/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you!! Your support is appreciated:)

Wow this is really beautiful