Sonilez and my youth knitting days

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)

In my previous Needlework posts, I've been sharing some of the things made by my sister. Today I want to show you something that I made myself. Say hi to Sonilez.

DSC_2537.JPG
livinguktaiwan divider.png
I have knitted things in the past when I was very very young but I haven't really done much crocheting. About a month ago, I decided to do a bit of crocheting as someone mentioned amigurumi and the soft toys looked so cute. I figured I'd start off with something very easy at beginners level to ensure no failure. This soft toy looked simple enough and consisted of 9 separate pieces. What could go wrong? To be honest, not much really, even a noob like me managed to get through it.
DSC_2519.JPG

All these bits and pieces took me about three weeks on and off to make. The actual crocheting time wasn't very long, I just needed to make sure I had at least half an hour spare each time to complete each piece in one go. I was so relieved when I finally completed all the pieces last week.

I had a couple of noob issues during the process. First, the two arms and two legs each turned out slightly different sizes from one another. You can just about see the difference if you look hard enough in the photo, But then, us humans come in different sizes and shapes, and our body isn't perfectly balanced either, so I think that's ok.

Second, these tiny pieces are very fiddly to crochet. Especially when you start off with only 6 chains and have to find the correct hole for the next stitch. Most of the time I felt like two inexperienced teenagers fumbling around have sex for the first time. Boy! Those were the days!!!


Before I stitched the pieces together, I was very eager to see what it would look like so I stacked them together. It's looking like an object. That's a good start.
DSC_2525.JPG

Now for the tricky part, sewing them together. I found this to be the most important part, positioning the arms and legs in the correct position on the body. By the way, do you notice Sonilez has a different colour ear? I thought that would make her more unique. I used the same pattern for the ear but a different colour yarn which was thicker than the white one. It turned out nearly double the size!!!

DSC_2526.JPG

And finally I sew on the eyes and mouth to bring her to life. Isn't she a cutie!! At least in my eyes, she is 😍 By the way, do you know what animal Sonilez is supposed to be?
DSC_2537.JPG

This is what I was supposed to make .... it's a bunny!! But I think my Sonilez turned out to be more like a puppy🤗 What do you think?

Webp.net-compress-image.jpg

Source : https://amigurumi.today/white-rabbit-amigurumi-pattern-free/
livinguktaiwan divider.png

My youth knitting days

Back in my very very very young days, I was a knitter once upon a time. And truth to be told, I was quite proud of some of the stuff I knitted, they were wearable!! In particular, there were two garments I knitted for my nephew that I really liked. My sister had some photos of her son wearing them and I asked her to get me a copy recently.

Say hi to Calvin. Based on the time stamp on the photos, you can tell that this young lad is now a fine young man in his early 30's. This little guy was quite a poser when he was a little, and he's now a very stylish hairdresser.
IMG-20210210-WA0000.jpg
The first item I want to show you is a hoodie. I don't know how I managed to knit this, including the hoodie at the back. Perhaps, I, I mean children, are a lot cleverer when they're younger, as I'm sure I won't be able to knit this again today. For a start, I won't have the patience. Apart from the two rows of patterns at the bottom and the yellow part on the sides, the rest is in one single colour with no pattern. I think I would get so bored of just knitting, knitting and knitting now. That being said, this is my favourite out of the two garments.


IMG-20210210-WA0001.jpg
The second one is this nautical style jumper. Without blowing my own trumpet, I think I did well on knitting the theme of this jumper, it's easily recognizable. From the colour, to the pattern at the bottom, to the blue strips on white, you will immediately (I hope) think of something related to the sea.


Now I've crotcheted Solinez successfully, next I'm going to challenge myself and move a notch up to make something a tad more elaborate. Will be back soon..... assuming I don't fail.

Sort:  

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

It is really so cute and do introduce your nephew to Hive. Voted on behalf of the Neoxian city paper team.

Posted via neoxian.city | The City of Neoxian

Wow, cutie Solinez! My daughter said it looks like Picachu, perhaps because of the ears. 😁

First, the two arms and two legs each turned out slightly different sizes from one another.

I can very well relate to this with my very first (and only so far) amigurumi . I pushed to finish an arm one evening and I was so pleased with myself only to realize the day after and after I finished the other arm that they were not of the same size. 😂

Your knitted works are also great!

I sure look forward to your next project. 😉

You're so brave to tackle such a complex amigurumi for the first time, and the elephant is so adorable, you must be so proud.

Picachu, I love how things are seen through children's eyes!!

That is like one of those color optical illusions. It looks yellow in the photo with the green background. Cool.
I like the different color and different sized ear. It gives it a lot of character. Very well done!

It's really bad lighting at night time more than anything else!!

Thanks for your kind comments!!!

Pauline, I would have to agree yours looks more like a dog than a bunny. It is super cute!!

I don't know what kind of animal is that. But I like Sonilez's lips. It's so cute!

Sonilez is too cute, love it so much!
Frankly, I really think she is a puppy at the first sight (please keep it to ourselves as I don't want to upset her😅)