Let's Knit these Socks Together

Painted Desert Sock.jpg
photo by Tsinbikeeknits used with permission

I have been having a lot of fun with knitting socks this year. So far, I have 25 pairs finished since the beginning of the year.

A little while I came across this design by Tsinbikeeknits on Ravelry and decided to start a Kal - Knit Along- using this pattern.

Please join me in knitting these beautiful socks.

You can buy the pattern for US $ 6 here
or find the designer on Ravelry.

Let me know if you will join in. If you are on Ravelry, join us in this thread.

Use #painteddesertkal and #painteddesertsocks here and on Instagram.

I am going to cast on right after posting this - if I have been able to decide on the colors to use 🤪

598E0222-9320-43E0-9DD9-151D4ED8749F.jpg

Or

painted desert socks.jpg

I hope that you will knit along and show me what you are creating.

Sort:  

I tried to do socks years ago and got stumped trying to figure out how to turn the heel. I never tried it again. I still have a bunch of sock yarn. One day I will get brave and give it another try... ;)

Do!! Knit this one with us and I will help you with the heel. Once you have done it once, it all makes sense!

I think I will need to try a simpler design for my first sock though! :)

have you done any colorwork before? If yes, it is pretty much the same. If not, you could just knit a plain sock to get the formula and then try the colorwork later.
I did my first colorwork earlier in the year and it took me forever, then, I joined sock madness (I will write about that later) and have learned so much. After a particularly difficult sock

IMG_8233.jpg
This one, the front is brioche which I had never done and the back...

IMG_8235.jpg
after I was done with that one - and don't ask how long it took 🤪

this one, that had seemed very difficult when I started it

IMG_8391.jpg

was suddenly super easy when I picked it up again lol

My grandma used to knit and crochet and do beautiful handmade quilts. She taught me how to crochet a couple of stitches when I was very young. I never learned how to knit but these socks are absolutely beautiful! You have so many talents!

I would love to teach you how to knit!

You certainly do beautiful work!
If life quiets down that would be fun to learn. ❤❤

I hope life will become easier for you - and then, we knit lol

I love these, so beautiful! And a knit-a-long is a great idea ... is this something we could on Hive some time in the future, maybe in the Autumn as the Northern hemisphere nights draw in. Socks are perfect, too, not too long to knit 😁.

Where does the "painted desert" idea come from? I've heard it in a Bob Dylan song and was entranced by the images it evoked (I have plans for a whole series of art works inspired by that particular song), but is there a tradition or story behind it?

I cannot help you with the colours, although I love the orange ones - I would probably choose those. I have been wondering whether it is possible to get cotton sock yarn?

Hope all is well with you.

This particular pattern is by a Native American - Navajo to be precise. She called it Painted Desert because that is the land all around her :)

I am starting the knit-along right now and am hosting it across platforms. Here, Steem, Instagram, Ravelry, WhatsApp with friends, and in-person in my area.

I think so far, maybe 10 are participating - but more might join in.

I really want to see some exposure for this designer and to get the word out that Native Americans are still very much alive and part of society - not people of the past. Please share widely.

And yes, there are cotton sock yarns. https://schachenmayr.com/en/yarns/regia-cotton

I haven't used any yet and most of some kind of man-made fiber in them. I am trying to eliminate fossil-fuel based fabrics and most sock yarns have a percentage of nylon and such...

But much has happened in the world of knitting. We might get some great products before we know it.

Ah, thank you, I've seen now on the designer's pattern that there is a National Park called the Painted Desert.

I guess then, that there will be a weekly post for the Knit Along, is that how it will work? Great idea 😍.

I found a UK supplier for the yarn and I've bought a copy of the pattern. I love the two colour variation - it will be interesting to knit, a new adventure for me. Given the painted desert theme I really wanted pink and mauve, but ended with the blues that were in stock. Never mind, they will go with everything in my wardrobe.

Really interesting idea, so good to see in Needlework Monday.

I am so glad that you like the pattern. Yes, let's use the hashtags and show each other our progress on Needlework Monday.
I am a fairly fast knitter and probably make more than one pair - there are always people who want some lol
Maybe I will give a prize away for the KAL on Hive and offer for those that live in poor countries to buy the pattern for them...

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

these socks are very beautiful !!!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more