Creative color mixing for a diy shirt dress

Hello Hiveians

The unique feature of this shirt dress is the creatively mixed colors of plain and pattern fabric.
Today am bringing to us this post of how we creatively designed this dress using a matching and perfect color mixed fabric. A patterned animal skin print fabric and a plain London material was used for this shirt.
The bodice was mixed with each piece of the fabric such as where a plain fabric was used for the quarter of the bodice a touch of the patterned one is seen on it this makes everything a blend of two piece.

IMG-20210514-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20210513-WA0028.jpg

Myself and a fellow designer @taimah-outfits thought to work on this dress before this idea of mixing the two colors came up.

We started with cutting the center back piece using the pattern fabric.

IMG_20210422_123544_381.jpg

This was then used to cut each single piece of the front block.
The neckline dimensions where

  • Back 3inches width by 1 or
    1.5inches depth

  • Front 3inches width by 2.5inches depth.

The bust circumference was measured out and connected to a base of 20 inches width for a shirt dress

IMG_20210422_123210_905.jpg


IMG_20210422_124357_918.jpg

All the measurements taken and each piece cut out we have the sleeves and other like this.

IMG_20210422_124555_792.jpg


IMG_20210422_124403_072.jpg

Next was stitching ironing and modeling on the mannequin.

There are various ways you can mix colors and fabrics and not getting it the right way can made the outfit look odd. You can try out your own design let's see some other times how beautiful they can be.

Thanks for viewing, we wish you lots of inspiration and creativity ability from myself and Halimat owner of the a fashion brand and upcoming design school.

Sort:  

You're making me like this craft with the simple guide explained in the post. I do hope it is as simple as it appears. Well done.

Thank you sir, hope you are having a great day

It's a wonderful design. It's the blend of colours for me. The pattern and the and the plain part perfectly blended together. Just the kind I would've love to see on my girl.

Awwnnn I can imagine, your girl must be lucky you had her in mind straight after seeing this.
🤗❤

My first thought when I saw this was "wow". The fabrics complement each other so well. The final look is just lovely 😍

Thank you so much sis ❤

My pleasure ❤️

 3 years ago  

I loved to watch how you cut the fabric, its remembered me my mother when she had to cut some big piece. Your dress is beautiful.

Your mum must have done beautiful outfits I have no doubt.
Thanks you for the comment.