DIY of a velvet turban cap for my kid sis.

Hello Hive

Ever since I find it tasking to take care of my hair, I have ventured into making series of extravagant turban cap and scarf for my hair cover because sometimes my hair could go a little rough and am not a fan of face caps.

Not to think that I have an 'Ojuwo'( A Yoruba term for a jealous person.) always by my side

Although not in a bad light my kid sis often desired everything I own and have.
She wears my shoes and tries my cloth on even though she barely ten and am old enough to be her mother 😁 (which I actually am coz there is no mother in the house).

The annoying part is that she is a little careless with things and if she uses my items I have to search everywhere in the house to look for such item before I can use them.
I don't want her near my things at all. No matter how much I love her that boundary is there.
Am a busy person and don't have time to waste arranging the house or looking for missing items

Everything now in pairs

I now make everything in pair, I have to keep fabrics and make her size of every cloth cap or outfit.

This is one of the results from such decision.

I made this longer turban cap/scarf
here for myself and have to make another design for her.

I wanted to make it a little more simple but after comparing it with the longer version of mine am beginning to prefer the short one with please.

20210823_115759-COLLAGE_1629716406541.jpg


20210823_120113-COLLAG


20210823_115759-COLLAGE.jpg


IMG_20210823_113838_742.jpg


IMG_20210823_114243_400.jpg

This was the making process.

Measurements was 20inches head circumference divided into two and a 12 inches length for the cap.

Note

That you have to cut along the stretchy part of the velvet fabric so that it can still fit into your head if you make a very full hair.

img_1629716038653.jpg


img_1629715971956.jpg

Sewing.

An error occurred with this, this beautiful white strip I wanted to use for embellishing wasn't stretchy and after fixing it on the seam joining the cap and band it restricted the stretchy effect of the velvet, hence this has to be removed so I can seek a better fitting embellishing strip.

img_1629716076220.jpg

The final part is the handwork where I tag in some ornaments and pulled a gathers round the cut edge of the cap, the part that will be lying at the middle of the head.

IMG_20210823_110250_241.jpg


IMG_20210823_110644_517.jpg


IMG_20210823_111521_068.jpg

Now we all have at least two sets of cap to meet our needs.

Am thinking of making something similar but with a thicker fabric and addition of some Canadian smoke. That's just an idea, but if it turns into something beautiful I will bring it on.

Hope we are enjoying every bit of the day even though the sun didn't smile much on my side today?

THANKS FOR COMING AROUND.

Sort:  

This turban looks really nice oooo welcome @monica-ene your one of a kind, you always have something to put on the table!!

Nice cap sis.
This looks good, easing the need to cover our hairs/head.
!gihpy nice

Exactly, thanks for checking in. Hope you had a great day.

Yeah, I did

How about you?

I did too, I took a break to rest properly

Yeah. You need it.
Doing both online and offline jobs is not an easy thing.
!giphy well done

Congratulations @monica-ene! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

it is a very wise decision, my dear, to sew two copies at once. so you will be calmer and your sister will be happy. it is clear that she loves you very much and wants to imitate you

Exactly you are right.
Thanks for reading.

You've chosen the best choice..lol making everything in pair to avoid sharing...

 3 years ago  

No wonder your little sister admires you as you are not only super stylish and accomplished in sewing you are also a lovely woman who cares deeply for her sister. Such a nice idea to not make one but two of these lovely turbans.
DId I understand the tutorial correctly that you gathered the middle part of the cap?

Exactly, I did a hand gathering of the middle part just to give it a shape there.

Greetings @monica-ene !

We appreciate this wonderful DIY/Craft article and have manually voted on it. It will interest you to know we have a DIY (do it yourself) and Handmade Craft interface and community built on Hive Network.

Build-it is a DIY (do it yourself) handmade craft social sharing platform that leverages Hive Network for scalability, decentralization, and tokenization. On our unique interface DIY'ers earn 'BUIDL' tokens when publishing their DIY and How-to tutorial/craft simply by using one of our recommended tags: #build-it, #buidl, and #diy respectively. You also earn 30% post rewards when curating on our website. We also sponsor a weekly contest rewarding the best DIY projects with Hive and Buidl tokens respectively. Check it out HERE


Want to invest in 'BUIDL' tokens?

Deposit Hive to your Hive-Engine or TribalDex and purchase the token. The ticker is 'BUIDL', or click the quick links below

==> TribalDex

==> Hive-Engine

Connect with us on our friendly socials:

Let's build together at Build-it!

Build-it line divider 2.gif

Thank you.
I will look onto all that you have tendered.