Needleworkmonday: A Kingsnake and a Sweater / Schlangensocken und Streifenpulli. [Ger/Eng]

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

Lampropeltis

Lampropeltis ist der Name für Königsnattern, ungiftige aber schön gezeichnete Schlangen der Neuen Welt. Diesen Namen gab die russische Designerin Natalia Vasilieva den Socken, die in der vorletzten Runde der SockMadness zu stricken waren. In jeder Gruppe waren nur noch fünf Strickerinnen am Start, eine nur sollte weiterkommen und dafür hatten sie nur 10 Tage Zeit. In der letzten Runde treffen dann die besten der 25 Gruppen aufeinander. Das ist mittlerweile ein harter Kampf, schon in dieser Runde kam eigentlich nur weiter, wer auf solche unwichtige Dinge wie Schlaf verzichtet hat.

Lampropeltis is the name for king snakes, non-toxic but nicely drawn snakes of the New World. This name was given by the Russian designer Natalia Vasilieva to the socks to be knitted in the penultimate round of SockMadness. In each group there were only five knitters at the start, one was only supposed to advance and they had only 10 days to do so. In the last round the best of the 25 groups will meet each other. This has become a hard fight, already in this round only those who did without such unimportant things like sleep got further.

Ich bin ja schon vor einigen Runden ausgeschieden - glücklicherweise, muss ich sagen. Denn dadurch muss ich mich nicht den strengen Vorgaben unterwerfen, sondern kann die Socken passend für meine Füße stricken. Und so war mein Plan, einen Socken fertig zu stellen in der Zeit in der die Meisterstrickerinnen ein ganzes Paar stricken. Nun, es hat nicht ganz geklappt, ich habe einen halben Tag länger gebraucht... Aber ich bin extrem froh, dass ich das angegangen bin. Das Muster ist wunderbar, die drei Farben ergeben eindrucksvolle optische Effekte. Aber das Stricken mit 3 Garnen ist ein ziemlicher Kuddelmuddel, denn sie verheddern sich ständig. Nach jeder Runde (die nur mit jeweils einer Farbe gestrickt wird, also weniger kompliziert als es aussieht) muss man die Fäden wieder entwirren.

I already dropped out a few laps ago - fortunately, I must say. Because this way I don't have to submit to the strict rules of the contest, but can knit the socks to fit my feet. My plan was to finish a sock in the time it took the master knitters to knit a whole pair. Well, it didn't quite work out, it took me half a day longer... But I'm extremely glad I went into it. The pattern is wonderful, the three colours produce impressive optical effects. But knitting with three yarns is quite a mess, because they get tangled up all the time. After each round (which is knitted with only one colour at a time, so it's less complicated than it looks) you have to untangle the yarns again.

grafik.png

Ich werde, wenn die letzte Runde in den nächsten Tagen beginnt, versuchen auch davon einen Socken zu stricken. Aber hier sind die Regeln anders. Die letzte Runde endet, wenn drei Leute fertig sind. Da werde ich bei meinem Socken vermutlich nicht mal eine Handbreit gestrickt haben. Aber egal, das ist SockMadness. Und jetzt bald zu Ende - glücklicherweise, denn ich muss schon sagen: ich kann keine Socken mehr sehen. Deswegen habe ich jetzt etwas anderes auf den Nadeln...

I will try to knit the new sock when the last round starts in the next days. But here the rules are different. The last round ends when three people have finished. I probably won't even have knitted a hand width of my sock. But anyway, this is SockMadness. And it will end soon - fortunately, because I have to say: I can't stand socks anymore. That's why I now have something else on my needles...

Gegengewicht / Counterbalance

Ja, es gibt mehr im Leben als Socken. Ich weiß, das mag manchen aufmerksamen Leser von mir überraschen, aber manchmal häkele ich auch. Oder ich nähe. Aber zugegeben, zurzeit stricke ich wieder, nur etwas Größeres. Nämlich einen Pullover für den Sommer in Schwarz mit orangen Streifen. Im Moment ist er eher noch geheimgeheim, deswegen nur ein kleines Ausschnitt-Foto. Ich weiß nicht, ob das mit der Konstruktion und den Farben so funktioniert wie ich es mir vorstelle, deswegen erzähle ich nicht vorher was ich vorhabe ;)

Yeah, there's more to life than socks. I know this may surprise some attentive readers of mine, but sometimes I crochet. Or I sew. But I must admit, I'm knitting again these days, just something bigger. I'm knitting a sweater for the summer in black with orange stripes. At the moment it's top secret, so you get just a small cropped picture. I don't know if the construction and the colours work as I imagine them to, so I don't tell you in advance what I plan to do ;)

grafik.png



5% der Einnahmen dieses Posts gehen automatisch an @needleworkmonday, unseren Gemeinschaftsaccount.

5% of this post's rewards automatically go to @needleworkmonday, our community account.

Sort:  

I love the sweater colors! You deserve something to go with all your lovely socks.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @tibfox and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

 4 years ago  

Nooooooo!!!!! I wanted to see the whole sweater (or the pattern) you are not allowed to knit secretly 😂😱😂 But if the weather is getting as fast warmer as I fear, you should perhaps better cast on a knitted bra (I like warmth, but I hate heat and this humid stinky air we have here)
Your socks are amazing and I cannot imagine to knit something like this under pressure. It is stunning how the pattern and colors form the optical illusion of braids. Wow.

The sweater is cotton/viscose, so suitable for German summers. And especially good to knit in summer, I hate knitting with wool when it's warm.

Love it :)