Needleworkmonday: The Neverending Story of the Cotton Hat / Mal wieder die Baumwollmütze [Ger/Eng]

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

Aufmerksame Leser werden sicherlich beim Anblick des Bildes gesagt haben: was denn jetzt schon wieder mit dieser Mütze? Denn ich hatte einiges schon davon erzählt. Die Mütze war von mir für eine meiner Schwestern gestrickt worden. Da ich aber nicht wusste, dass sie einen so viel größeren Kopf hat als ich, war die erste Mütze zu klein. Also wurde eine zweite angefertigt und letztes Jahr pünktlich zu Weihnachten verschenkt.

Attentive readers will surely have said at the sight of the picture: what is it now again with this hat? Because I had already told a lot about it. The hat had been knitted by me for one of my sisters. But since I didn't know that her head was so much bigger than mine, the first hat was too small. So I made a second one and gave it away last year just in time for Christmas.

Baumwollmütze vor der Änderung / Cotton Hat before Modification

Jetzt war diese Schwester einige Tage zu Besuch und packte diese Mütze aus: An sich sei sie wunderbar, aber... Etwas zu kurz, weil die Ohren nicht ganz bedeckt sind und auch nicht warm genug um die Ohren.

Now this sister was visiting for some days and took out this hat: She said it was wonderful in itself, but... A bit too short, because the ears are not completely covered and also not warm enough over the ears.

Also war der Arbeitsauftrag: länger und wärmer um die Ohren und Stirn. Wir haben gemeinsam einiges überlegt und sind dann zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass ich erst einmal einige Reihen wieder aufmache und dann neustricke, und zwar als Double Knitting. Das ist durch die beiden Schichten wesentlich wärmer, aber auch elastisch genug für den Rand einer Mütze. Ein Muster dafür war schnell gefunden, es sollte ja geometrisch sein, um zum Rest der Mütze zu passen.

So the mission was: longer and warmer around the ears and forehead. Together we thought about a few options and then we came to the decision that I would first unravel a few rows and then reknit them in double knitting. This is much warmer due to the two layers, but also elastic enough for the edge of a hat. A pattern for this was quickly found, it should be geometrical to fit the rest of the hat.

Soweit so gut, ich habe also gestern den Rand der Mütze aufgedröselt und die Schwarz-Weißen Anfangsreihen geribbelt. Ich bin mir auch halbwegs sicher wie ich es am besten mache, aus einem normalen Strickgewebe zu Double Knitting zu kommen, denn ich muss ja die Maschenzahl verdoppeln.

So far so good, I unravelled the edge of the hat yesterday and the first rows in black and white . I have some ideas how to start double knitting from a normal knitted fabric - I have to double the number of stitches.

Nun fiel mir aber eben auf, dass ich gar nicht weiß, ob ich genug Garn habe. Denn für "Doppelstrick" brauche ich ja die doppelte Menge an Garn... Da werde ich wohl morgen ganz tief in meine Box mit Baumwollgarn tauchen müssen. Drückt mir die Daumen!

But now I noticed that I don't even know if I have enough yarn. Because you need twice the amount of yarn for double knitting... So tomorrow I will have to some stash diving into my cotton yarn. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

Tipp fürs Tunesische Häkeln

Und wie das immer so ist bei mir: wenn ich ein Projekt mehr habe, als ich eigentlich bewältigen kann, und dann nicht so ganz weiß, wo ich anfangen soll: Ich fange etwas Neues an ;)

And again this happened: when I have a project more than I can actually handle, and I don't quite know where to start: I start something new ;)

Letzten Samstag hatte ich ja ein Oberteil gezeigt, dass im sogenannten Tunesischen Häkeln hergestellt wurde. Das hat mich daran erinnert, dass ich das lange nicht mehr gemacht habe, und auch bisher nur den einfachen Stich gelernt habe. Ich habe mir also flugs angeschaut, wie man linke Maschen macht dabei und jetzt ein kleines Projekt angefangen - Perlmuster würde man es beim Stricken nennen. Vermutlich werde ich zwei davon machen und als Topflappen verwenden.

Last Saturday I had shown a top that was made in the so-called Tunisian Crochet. This reminded me that I haven't done that for a long time, and I had so far only learned the simple stitch. So, I quickly looked at how to make purl stitches and started a small project - in a "seed stitch" pattern I'd call it in knitting. I will probably make two of them and use them as potholders.

grafik.png


Ein anderer Grund wieso ich es jetzt ausprobiere: Ich habe in einem Video von einem Trick gehört. Es gibt ja für das tunesische Häkeln extra Häkelnadeln mit einem langen Seil daran, was für große Projekte auch sehr praktisch ist. Mein erstes Projekt in dieser häkel Weise war ein Tuch und da konnte ich das lange Seil schon gebrauchen.

Another reason why I try it now: I heard about a trick in a video. For Tunisian crochet you have special crochet hooks with a long cable on them, which is very practical for big projects. My first project in this crochet way was a shawl and there I could use the long cable there.

Aber für kleine Projekte wie Topflappen stört das lange Seil eher. Und jetzt habe ich diesen Trick gesehen: Wenn man einfache gerade Häkelnadeln ohne Griff hat, kann man sie für diese Technik nehmen. Man macht einfach ans Griffende ein Gummiband und dieses hält die Maschen davon ab die Nadel zu verlassen. Das habe ich in einem Video gesehen und wollte es unbedingt ausprobieren. Also, schnell ein Gummi um die Nadel gemacht, angefangen zu häkeln und es funktioniert, der Mann hat recht!

But for small projects like potholders the long rope is more of a nuisance. And now I have seen this trick: If you have simple straight crochet hooks without handle, you can use them for this technique. You just put a rubber band on the end of the handle and this keeps the stitches from leaving the needle. I saw this in a video (see below) and I really wanted to try it. So, I quickly put a rubber band around the needle, started crocheting and it works, the man was right!

Ein einfaches Gummiband und die Maschen bleiben auf der Nadel / A simple Elastic and the  Stitches stay on the Hook

Wer also diese einfachen Metallnadeln hat, auf zum tunesischen Häkeln!

If you have such simple crochet hooks, you can start with Tunisian crochet right now :)








made by @quantumg

DACH-Community Discord - für alle deutschsprachigen Nutzer





Du hast keinen Hive-Account? Hier ist der schnellste und einfachte Weg dorthin!

You're not on Hive? Here you'll find the best and most fast way to enter this world :)




5% der Einnahmen dieses Posts gehen automatisch an @needleworkmonday, unseren Gemeinschaftsaccount.

5% of this post's rewards automatically go to @needleworkmonday, our community account.

Sort:  

Gefällt mir sehr gut! Bestimmt schön warm. Ich weiss noch wo meine Oma noch gelebt hat, da habe ich die besten Socken und Mützen gehabt. Ist leider schon sehr lange her.

Liebe Grüße Michael

!invest_vote
!jeenger

Zum lernen ist es nie zu spät ;)

I decided to give away one SBI share to one of the accounts making a comment under last week's post. The winner is @puellacreativa :)grafik.png

Wow!!! Thanks a lot!! Lucky me!!

Congratulations @muscara! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup

I love both, the hat looks great, the pattern is nice, and blue is my color. The Tunisian crochet pattern looks very interesting.
Looks like you've been busy ☺️

 4 years ago  

Waaaas!? Schon wider diese Mütze??? (Sorry couldn’t resist the pun) But nevertheless you are really patient, I would perhaps had bought one to save the trouble :-DDDD As you already unraveled the ribbing my idea to sew some fleece inside instead of double knitting the brim is a tad late.

So sorry, but fleece wasn't possible because it makes my sister sweat...

The good thing about this: that's the Christmas gift for this year :)

@mima2606 denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@mima2606 thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Your contribution was curated manually by @mima2606
Keep up the good work!

Oh!! I do the exact same thing, always make something new before I finish the previous!!
As far as the tunisian crochet, when I first made one piece, it happened to have one from my mum, and I borrowed it for a while. But now, that I far away, I will follow your tip if I want to crochet something! Yes, of course I will find something! Oh no... Lol!

I decided to give away one SBI-Share to one who made a comment here. The Random Hive Picker picked @erikah - congratulations!

Yay!!! Thank you very much, very nice of you! 🤗