The NeedleworkMonday-Community, my favorite Place on Hive

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

When I started on that other chain two years I did what probably most of us did: I used the tags to look for the things I'm interested in. And surprisingly I found posts about knitting and crochet and sewing - I hadn't expected that on a blockchain. And they even used a common tag: #needleworkmonday. I jumped into that with both feet by using if for my first post on the chain and, as they say, the rest is history ;)

NWM 070920.jpg

The tag is genius on the one hand for its simplicity - it's easy to remember. And it combines two things that define it: the contents of the posts (all kinds of needlework) and the time of the posts: Mondays.

It already was an established tag when I found it, having been started by @crosheille in July 2017 (the community account was created in July 2018). A lot of posts have been written since then (If you're interested in statistics you can find some number about the 2nd quarter 2020 here. We don't have an own Discord server but the SteemitMamas made place for us on their server.

A lot of hard work has been put into making the NeedleworkMonday the meeting place for all needle-using crafts: from cross-stitch to knitting, from sewing to crochet and a lot of others. Right now the NWM-team consists of the founder @crosheile with @marblely, @shanibeer and myself as admins. Our motto is "Support & Inspire" and we try to do that in and with our community.

We do a weekly curation posts (last week was # 104) presenting the best of what was posted that Monday in the Needleworkmonday-Community. For these posts we have quality guidelines (written down in our FAQs), we curate these posts. When @OCD started the Community Incubation Program we jumped to join it - being able to suggest posts for curation there makes it possible for us to reward the hard work our members did, not only with the posting but before in the projects they show.

I see the NeedleworkMonday as a virtual circle or quilting bee, where crafters meet and show their work to each other, where they can show off or voice their despair, where they can ask questions and share their experiences. We live all around the world - mainly Europe, Africa, South America and Southeast Asia with surprisingly few North Americans, but over time our members become a close-knit group (pardon the pun). For most of the regulars this community has become an important part of their week, especially in the last months.

In a way, we are in a tradition that goes back to prehistoric times, when people met around the fire pit with their work, doing repair work or mending, talking about their tasks and their lives or just listening and enjoying the company.

Sort:  

Maybe I’m just a big baby right now or going through some emotional changes with aging, but this was so sentimental. It was so sweet and tender and you expressed your love for the community so beautifully.

I see the NeedleworkMonday as a virtual circle or quilting bee, where crafters meet and show their work to each other, where they can show off or voice their despair, where they can ask questions and share their experiences.

That sums it up pretty nicely ;)

Thank you for taking the time to share why the NeedleWorkMonday Community is your favorite. Since day one you have been a fabulous addition to our growing needlework family and are such a huge asset to the success of this community. ♥️

Love the photo collage you used of your work ~

I am glad I met you and needleworkmonday as a community as well in Hive! You are right about everything and despite the fact that fire is not realistic, we have it in our hearts and that passion unites us :)

A great community, you are amazing. Thanks a lot.

Hello @muscara! Your post was selected by our staff on behalf of the OCD Community Incubation Program and has received an OCD upvote! Congratulations!!! Please keep sharing these quality posts :)

Written by @crosheille for the NeedleWorkMonday Community ~

A great greeting😘, I loved your post, I'm excited. Like you, when I entered the blockchain the first thing I did was to look for users who knit, my hobby and I got this wonderful community, I have shared part of my work. I was absent for a few months and have returned, and my second post after returning has been in the community. I enjoy and learn from what they share in this community. My favorite part of the post "I see the NeedleworkMonday as a virtual circle or quilting bee, where crafters meet and show their work to each other---" Thanks for the support. 😍

I feel proud to get such a related community to my study. Being a Textile Engineer, i was looking for such a platform in hive. I have come to know about this community by one of my colleagues couple of weeks back and found it really useful and learing community for me. Various kinds of works makes its super cool to me be familar with variations of works from differnt arena of the World. I am very much thankful to the community initiators.
@crosheille
& other admins
@shanibeer
@marblely
@muscara