You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Visible Invisible - an exhibition with art and excitement

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

During the exhibition I heard so many stories of women who felt uncomfortable with society's ideals and demands (but to be honest I also spoke with some who could not follow my ideas at all which I found kind of bewildering. They told me things like that woman are per se the beautiful species and that this is "natural" gaaaaaag).
I am sorry you too encountered the "smile demand" and understand that you are ok with being invisible. I only think it should be a choice... or I try to voice it the other way round: the high value on beauty which leads to visibility in the first place is also wrong. Visibility should not relate to only physical features. In my view everyone should have the possibility to get attention if they want it. If not, this is also ok and the other side of the coin, when women are made "visible" because of the body (like not wearing a bra) is gruesome too.
Sorry I not only ramble, I am also unsure if my English is ok enough to not be kind of confusing 😱
Conclusion: love your comment and I am happy you liked the exhibition.

Sort:  

We are visual creatures. It would be hard for me to know if you wanted to be visible or not unless there were some exterior cues we could agree upon. We also are drawn in by things that are different in each culture. It’s thought provoking and a stimulating discussion. Thank you!