Needlework Monday: God Dolls #3: Lugh Lamfada

Hello, beefriends! Today I am finally sharing with you my third God Doll, of Lugh Lamfada! :)

Lugh 1.jpg

I mentioned before that I was painting his hair to make it the right color. I did that with oil pastels and turpenoid (turpentine substitute). I used up almost two sticks of red and one of brown, and pretty much destroyed a paint brush, but it was so worth it! :)

Lughs hair 4.jpg

It took some time, doing one clip at a time and letting it dry in between! But I like how it turned out. :)

Lugh 2.jpg

I knit the body and sleeves of his sweater on knitting looms, and then made his hood on straights, and bordered it with a crochet hook. His pants are the same fabric as I used to make Morrigan's skirt. And his face, of course, is embroidered. :)

Lugh 3.jpg
hood up

Now he hangs out with Nuada and Morrigan. :D

Faerie conference 2.jpg

I did make him a necklace after this photo shoot, and I was waiting to make this post until after I had made him shoes, but he said he didn't want shoes (Nuada has shoes but doesn't keep them on, so they agree). So one must listen to the Gods! :)

In related news, I totally bought the two doll bodies that match the ones I have that I could find online when I had stimulus money, so now I have four doll bodies to make more dolls with. I still need to make a darker one for Dian Cecht as I couldn't find any in brown, but I'm glad I was able to snag more doll bodies when I could!

Happy needleworking, everyone, and thanks for reading!

bee good.jpg

Sort:  

I love the life you bring to your characters and that you listen to the Gods. The hair painting thing, is a great idea, I had not thought of it, although it is laborious, I think it is excellent to get the desired hair color, I will surely be painting the hair on a doll I make, I'll take this tips.

Thanks for sharing, I love what you share with us.

I will say that I did it with oil pastels and oil pastels do not ever fully "set," even if you use a fixer spray. So sewing them into his head left a lot of red pastel dust on his face, lol. I may experiment with different painting methods in future! Perhaps watercolors?

Glad you finally finished! They look cosy together.

@tipu curate

Thank you! They do, especially when the kitties snuggle them (which they totally do). :)

Yuan and fae 3.jpg

Loading...

Congratulations @phoenixwren! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 65000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 3 years ago  

Love love love the hair! The faded pink and white is perfect (but honstly I did not want to smell the turpentine :-DDD) And the dolls come together wonderfully, I could imagine them coming alive when you look a second away.

I used a turpentine substitute, so it didn't have a smell; what you smell actually is the oil pastels! I first tried airing out the hairs in an open window, then I tried putting them in the freezer, then eventually I sealed them in a plastic bag with baking soda to absorb the smell. You can still smell a little when you put your nose up to his head, but it's not as strong as it was. 😂 Thankfully oil pastel isn't a bad smell, it was just very strong at first!
And I totally made my first video with the dolls. :D I have plans for making more of them as I make more dolls, so now that I have three done I am experimenting now. I did it simply for the first one, photos and captions and music, but I want to try stop-motion and regular video too!
I made an account - @faeriestories - where I will be posting videos that I make with the dolls. :D

!BEER

 3 years ago (edited) 

I seldom use oil pastels, but I remember the last time I opened the box I thought they were rancid. What a smell 🤢 I never used them afterwards. So, I have no experience with how clingy this smell is, but your attempets to kill the smell bode ill (promise nothing good? English is still complicated for me :-D)
And yeeees to the video, will hop there immedeatly, I am so excited <3

EDIT: did you see thatthere is ocd contest for the needlework community? I think your post is perfect for the topic (express yourself thorough needlework)
here is the link
https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@ocd/ocd-community-boost-contest-7-highlighting-needleworkmonday

If you don't like the smell of oil pastels, I would definitely try something else! I was thinking if I experiment doing this kind of thing again in future I might try watercolors.

Bode ill is correct, yes! <3

I didn't put the video up on that account yet, I will do soon, perhaps today or tomorrow. :) Thank you for checking it out!

And thanks for the link, I didn't see that one!

Hello again! I have posted the video now on this account! :)

 3 years ago  

Perfect, I will jump there and have a look. Thank you for telling me <3


Hey @neumannsalva, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you @phoenixwren, for using the CO2 Compensation Coin (COCO / SWAP.COCO) on Steem-Engine or on Hive-Engine to reduce your CO2 footprint. You want to join? Buy some COCO / SWAP.COCO and transfer them to CO2Fund's account @co2fund.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment