Autumn is here | Sahtouris' Poem | New Project on Air

Hello needleworkers from all around the world!

Tonight I will share with you another project I am up to and it is related to seasons. As a matter of fact I am always up to new projects since I always think about something else and still something else and I finish my UFO's only when it is absolutely necessary.

Well take it for granted that I love every month of the year for various reasons and I really wanted to make a project for that..

But, instead of doing a calendar project I decided to focus on the 4 seasons!

And since I am very fond of literature and poetry as well, I wanted to combine my love for poetry and my love for needles and threads.

So, I chose my favourite Greek poet, Miltos Sahtouris. He is a poet that lived during a very tough period in Greece and he expressed his feeling through many iconographic poems. And I say, iconographic, because his poems contain words that are full of images.

Sahtouris had written poems for every season of the year, so I chose the following one to start since it is Autumn after all.
Why start with Autumn?

Because for me Autumn symbolizes two things:

  1. Start of the year (school mostly and every other start after summer vacations)
  2. The Season of FALL in everything (like my hair for example) that can turn you down or make you wanna step up and give all the pessimism in a more creative and constructive way another look!

So, I submit the translated form of Sahtouris' poem...

AUTUMN
What's the girl looking for
in the darkness of the chair?
quickly
as night falls in autumn
she undresses
with clouds before her eyes
with the rain inside her head
with the needle in her heart
she removes the stockings
removes the flowers
discards the halo
outside the time's leaves
are dyed in blood
[Translated by David Connolly]

After I read this poem I started designing into a newspaper a sketch and then I transferred it to a fabric using my needle, my threads and my embroidery hoop...

τιτλε.jpg

I tried to be as close as to the poem and in the same time to attribute an honor to this great poet and his poems, which I admire so much. I am still in the beginning of this project and I plan to keep on with winter. I don't know yet how to combine the 4 seasons together when I finish them but I will figure it out somehow. And the halo, I think, I had to make it lighter...

So, how do you think?? Send me your comments and show me your love!

ba 1.jpg

5% of this rewards' post will be transferred automatically to @needleworkmonday for support!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts 105!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

NWMlogo.jpg

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the HIVE blockchain.

Subscribe to our NeedleWorkMonday Community today!

For more information on #NeedleWorkMonday and the @needleworkmonday community please visit our FAQs!

Thank you very much @needleworkmonday for this!! I am very honored and touched since Sahtouris is my beloved poet and I did whatever I could to honor him!

 4 years ago  

It is so interesting to get to know new authors and I definitly will research Sahtouris - the poem has such a beautiful tragic to it, I understand that you have chosen it. I always admire emboidery as it is like painting with yarn, I am much to impatient for this, but love the result. Looking forward how your artwork will develope over the seasons <3

Thank you very much!! I think I will be more abstract to the next seasons ... Sahtouris had lived through a very dark age in Greece and he tried to express all those feelings in his poems and I adore his poetry...

OK, I was away for a month and I just started scrolling my feed to take a look of what's going on around here. At first everything looked normal, just I was remembering it. And then bang!
Miltos Sachtouris is a beloved poet but absolutely unpopular in his own country! Imagine my surprise (and joy) to see his name and his poem here, posted from a girl on the other side of the world! What a wonderful surprise :)

Allow me to write down the original Greek version too, for those that can read Greek but have never heard of him (about 98% of my country's population).

Τι γυρεύει το κορίτσι
στο σκοτάδι τής καρέκλας;
γρήγορα
καθώς νυχτώνει το φθινόπωρο
γδύνεται
με σύννεφα μπροστά στα μάτια
με τη βροχή μέσ᾿ στο κεφάλι
με τη βελόνα στην καρδιά
βγάζει τις κάλτσες
βγάζει τα λουλούδια
πετάει το φωτοστέφανο

έξω τα φύλλα τού καιρού
βάφονται μέσ᾿ στο αίμα

I cannot describe the joy you gave me with this post!
Thank you!

By the way your handiwork is lovely and very close to the poem's mood :)

Thank you very much! Well, Sahtouris is more of a "cursed" poet since he lived in a very dark era... I adore him and I will develop my approach to him in a more abstract way as I will touch the other seasons! Thanks for stopping by and saying those words :) It gives me strength to go on!

Congratulations @puellacreativa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day