Spray Bottle Holder

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

This whole week is already forecasted as a yarnful of week for me. This time, it's because my mom in law requested for cocheted spraybottle holders. I'm really flattered because she showed off my project which led to PMs requesting for their own spray bottle holders. My husband is just as happy because he is finally seeing the yarns starting to transform into projects. I used to have a shameful habit of (hoarding) collecting yarns. They just sat there for a long time, and now it feels so fulfilling seeing them transform into these little beautiful thingies.

Materials

Monaco/Canon mercerized cotton yarn
0.75mm crochet hook
colorful buttons

I seldom use mercerized cotton yarn because it used to soak up in my sweaty hands and I end up with an undesirably stiff project. Now that my sweaty hands are no longer always sweaty, (who knew aging would cure my sweaty hands) I don't have to worry anymore and it's easier to appreciate the finished product.

The Pattern

I kind of just became playful with the designs. It evolved in form and design as I went along. I originally started with am upside down design. But mom in law but I love it all the same so I'm gonna keep my prototype still.

The new and improved design starts off with a magic ring. It then developed into a perfect circle with a total of 42 stitches. If you are weary about the perfectness of your circle, check out my tutorial about it.

To "lift" the circle amd for a sort of basket/bucket design, stop the increase by making an sc on each stitch in the back loop only. (BLO) It would work still the same but I like it much better with a ridge.

Continue to the next row until you get approximately 1cm of sc rows. Change yarn color and make 2 rows of sc for the "highlight".

Next, move on to the dc rows. My husband suggested that there should be some little holes in the holder so the owner can easily check if their spray bottle needs refilling. His wish is always my command and so the next rows are dc on the next 2 stitches, 1ch (sk 1 stitch) until you get back to the start.

Continue with this pattern for the next rows until you reach your desired length. Towards the end of the project, make two rows of sc using your highlighting colors.

Make one more row of the holed design. This is for the draw string. Make around 60-70 chains for the handle. To make it sturdy, make half double crochets across, skip around 12 chains to make a slot for the button.

Slip stitch across to close the row. Fasten off and weave ends.

I thought of finishing this off ar this point. But looking at it, I found it too simple and unremarkable. But that was easy to workaround with. A series of picots and we get a decorative edge.

This design was just 3 chains, sc into the ch space, 5 chains, sc into the chain space, and 3chains, sc into the ch space. To move to the next chain space, make three chains then sc into the next ch space. reoeat the 3ch,csc,5ch,sc,3ch,sc pattern until you've covered all the chain spaces.

Fasten off, weave ends.

The drawstring is composed of 130 sc's. Just attach it to the holder through the holes and tie it into a ribbon. Attach the button as well at the center top in front of the holder. And that's it!

I was just given dimensions for their spray bottles but I did not get the diameter for the bottle neck. I figured it's gonna be too loose if I follow the circumference of the base. So to fix this potential dilemma, I decided on using drawstrings to make it fit snuggly.

I purchased spray bottles online so my next spray bottle holders will include the spray bottles too. It'll cost a bit more but my buyers will be assured that it will fit perfectly. And I won't have to go through the anxiety of worrying if my client will be able to use the project or not. More than just creating the projects, we crafters need to make sure our clients have a positive experience with our products.

¨ðº°˜¨ ¨˜°ºð¨

@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

Sort:  

His wish is always my command

Bakit parang ayaw ko maniwala? 😂

But serious, these are so good and especially useful these times. And of course may point talaga si hubby. Kaya dapat making ka. 😁

 4 years ago  

Madalas naman sinusunod ko sya. Minsan talaga hindi. Hahaha.

May tama naman si hubby. Isa pa, mas mapapadali ang paggawa pg my mga holes instead of doublr crochet lahat. Makakatipid ka pa s yarn.☺️

Hello, good your husband is happy that you use the threads, which many do not understand, that having many threads gives us peace of mind. Let's keep knitting. Beautiful what you have shared with us, as well as useful.

Hello @romeskie! Your post was selected by our staff on behalf of the OCD Community Incubation Program and has received an OCD upvote! Congratulations!!! Please keep sharing these quality posts :)

Written by @crosheille for the NeedleWorkMonday Community ~

 4 years ago  

Thank you once again for all that you do @crosheille! 🤗

 4 years ago (edited) 

Absolutely! It's really a pleasure and so rewarding. I really love being able to help everyone get more recognition for their posts and to receive the best curation possible ~ ☺️

Hee hee I meant to post that message with the NeedleWorkMonday account. Oooops lol! 😉