A cosy convertible ear-warmer for freezing weather as Storm Arwen hits | Live chat on Monday 6 December 2021 at 7pm UTC

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20211128_110136_737.jpg

I was really pleased with this ear-warmer, I've been needing something cosy for these freezing winter days, especially as Storm Arwen hits England with rain, winds and floods! Even better, I made it from bargain yarn bought in the summer from a shop that was closing down. This is Sirdar Alpine fake fur fabric and makes beautiful soft garments and accessories and children's toys. I bought it to make a fur collar for winter cardigans to add a bit of drama, but the chilly weather demanded something for my ears!

The ear warmer is a simple rectangle with the short ends joined. I made it double width because I wanted to fold the rectangle in half long ways to get a thick, stretchy band to go around my head. You knit using 10mm needles and either garter stitch or stocking stitch (but why do purls when you can do knit stitches), so a very fast and easy make for beginners or anyone that wants a break from complicated knitting. I chose a shade called Mink, which is a kind of pinky-purpley colour.

I cast on 19 stitches and knitted rows until the rectangle was about 56 cms - long enough to fit snugly where I wanted it on my head - and then cast off using the three-needle bind off to join the two short ends together. I've threaded some of the yarn through one of the long edges, knotting each end to give a nice finish, and then making a tiny bow as decoration. This means you can adjust the fit if you want a tighter band.

IMG_20211128_110237_930.jpg
You can convert the ear-warmer into a hat by using the yarn threaded through one side to gather the knitting together, then tie the yarn into a bow. It makes a perfect neck warmer, too, worn either single layer, so you can tuck one end under your coat or jacket, or double layer, if that's your fancy.

When I finished the rectangle and before I joined the ends and bound off, I checked how it would look as a collar on a cardigan. I liked it - the back stood up perfectly creating a snug collar for your neck. You could knit the collar as a simple rectangle if you wanted dramatic lapels lying across your shoulders, or you could use short rows to create a shawl collar. Either way, it would be very fast and very simple! The ear-warmers/hats could make good gifts or donations for fundraising sales.

Live chat | Monday 6 December 2021 at 7pm UTC

The next First Monday Needlework Monday Live Chat will be next week on Monday 6 December. We've had two already with @crosheille, @phoenixwren, @monica-ene, @blezyn, @lauramica, @akipponn and @neumansalva taking part. They last about an hour and are in English. The link to join the Live Chat in Zoom will be posted in the Needlework Discord next weekend. I'll be writing some FAQs about how to organise and host your own Live Chat (probably over the Christmas holiday when I have a break from work and a little more time for posting). It would be great to have several Live Chats hosted in different time zones so everyone could get to one.

I will be modelling the cosy ear-warmer and demonstrating the different ways you can wear it, plus showing my latest knit cardigan using Noro wool, so look forward to seeing you next Monday. Bring anything you would like to show or model, and any problems that need solving (involving needles or otherwise), and some knitting, sewing or crochet (or nothing, that's good, too) and a nice drink and enjoy an hour with us. Christmas ideas or gifts would be lovely, too.

Screenshot (379).png

Saturday Savers Club
I run a savings club every Saturday over on the @eddie-earner account. We're aiming to save £670 ($800) by the end of the year using the 365 day savings challenge. YWe share savings tips and there's a free giveaway every week. There will be a new 365 day savings challenge starting on 1 January 2022.

First Monday - NeedleWorkMonday Community
Every First Monday of the month, I host a Live Chat for an hour from 7pm for the Needlework Monday Community. Bring your knitting, sewing, crochet (or nothing, that's okay, too), a nice cup of something, and join us for a relaxing hour of chat. Find our more in this post

Three things newbies should do in their first week and, for most things, forever afterwards!

image.png

Sort:  

That's a clever idea with the ear warmer/hat! Looks fluffy and warm, just what we need now.

On Saturday, I went out with my usual thin hat, I folded it in two around my ears, yet the wind was blowing through it like no tomorrow. I feel like I want to go and just buy a proper thick one but then why buy if you can knit it yourself. I have a real dilemma 😁

If you have the right yarn, it should take no longer to knit than it would to go shopping to buy one (plus you stay in the warm) 😍. I hear you about the wind, that was one of the reasons I wanted double thickness - minimise gaps between stitches!
Do you think you will come to the Live Chat next week? Should be fun 🙂

Is it on Monday or Sat the 4th of Dec? I am not sure if I will be back in time, but will try to join!

Ah, my mistake - it’s Monday 6 December!

 2 years ago  

Be honest! You have a hidden tribble farm and are now shaving their winter fur only to pretend here it was yarn from a shop 🤣
I only once tried to crochet with such a furry yarn and I found it hell because I could not see the stitches. It was possible but super slow. Since then I learned to knit and perhaps I should give this kind of yarn another try as your earwarmer looks so cozy (here its getting cold too)
And I am looking forward to the needlework chat and to get a glimpse of your noro project. I am thinking to sew two Christmas presents, but do not have patterns for neither of them (coat for my husband and a kind of tabard/shawl collar for my mother) Perhaps someone on the chat will have ideas/patterns…

Haha, yes, it's true, I keep tribbles in the cupboard under the sink! 😁

I agree it is tricky crocheting or knitting with this yarn - I dropped a stitch and it took me ages to find it and ensure I Had only dropped one. But at least it is so quick to knit that you don’t have time to drop stitches.

Here is a tippett made with the same yarn: is that the kind of thing you were thinking for your mother?

9743D0F1-6A51-4929-8FDA-BB2D98CFEFE7.jpeg

Here’s the link for the pattern

 2 years ago  

Tribbles are the best :-DDD And good to know that knitting with this kind of yarn is also not super easy (I contemplated to do something similar for my mother like your earwarmer). Both presents I want to make will be sewed. For my mother I meant something like the woman in this video is wearing


Perhaps a bit like this photo, but not quilted but made from a fleece or knitted fabric…

401238CE-DC9D-4660-9781-5D9CD3AEB3EA.png

Currently you can buy these garments at H&M (how ever they are named), but all have a big turtleneck and my mother dislikes this kind of neck. So I wanted to sew it myself. But I am unsure how to tackle this pattern wise and regarding the finishing of the fabric. I think it needs a kind of piping or bias band around the edge and I have not done this so far.

Sharing all the !LUV

Ma'am, this is so beautiful! I love the ear warmer

Thank you 😍.

!LUV

oh, how much can be made from one rectangular knitted fabric! these are great ideas my dear!

They are cute, aren't they? 🙂

!LUV

yes, and it's not hard to do it at all! 😀

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Wow so brilliant

Have some !LUV 😍

This seems lovely. I feel like it would be so soft and warm.

It definitely is very cosy 🙂

Lovely :)