In memory of my mother // En memoria a mi mamá

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago

Happy Monday my dear and creative friends of #NeedleWorkMonday. Last week due to various activities I didn't have the opportunity to read them and it was until last night that I read the challenge of the week, which by the way expires in a few hours.

1.jpg

Although I already have my amigurumi ready with its photos, I thought it was great that instead of doing a tutorial, I told about myself or my reflections and that seems perfect to me, because I think it is important that we tell the reason for our knitting, what we think, the situation we are going through. For me knitting is a meditation, each stitch keeps me indelibly attached to the present.

To begin the story I will go back some 34 years, when I was 15 years old. My mother was a crafts artist, she knitted, sewed, embroidered... it was to be expected that I would do the same, but for me it was very boring.

8.jpg

She tried in vain to teach me, but I didn't want to know anything about needles and thread and so her dreams of teaching me were put away in the drawer of memories. Some 27 years passed and my mom became ill. She had to move in with me for almost a year and a half.

At that time I spent a lot of time with her. My aunts and cousin would help me take care of her while I was working, but on weekends I would spend time with her, accompany her and share with her, but that sharing was a little strange, as we had very few things in common.

9.jpg

One day while I had free time at the office, I searched the internet for easy to make knitting patterns, to motivate her to teach me and that's how I found my first Amigurumi. It was love at first sight and I said to myself; "this is what I want".

I printed the pattern and the amigurumi image. I bought a crochet needle, yarn, anti-allergic stuffing and came home with tools in hand. I handed them to her and said, "mom I want to knit this"... she saw the picture and pattern and smiled, that Tibaire smile is not going to do it.

3f5b459c-b01c-4cb6-9765-18007ed41899.jpg
Knitting needles, my mother's legacy

Months passed and I learned to knit. I became a crochet fanatic, for me it was an escape from the overwhelming reality I had at the time. I took my knitting everywhere I went, especially during the long waits in the chemotherapy room, in doctors' offices, or when we had to go to the emergency room of a hospital.

During that time I would take advantage and make little amigurumis out of little balls that I would give to the nurses, doctors and cleaning staff. It was my way of thanking them for their kind treatment of my mother.

438b8696-dac6-4b1f-8a9a-604bb594d851.jpg
Knitting magazines, my mother's inheritance

One day Mom decided not to have any more chemotherapy and returned to her hometown. As she was packing her belongings, I took her needles and magazines to keep them; but she stopped me, she told me now they are yours!

Mom left this world two months later and my most precious inheritance was learning to knit, her needles and magazines.

When I knit I know there is an energetic connection that is hard to describe. The needles she knitted with are mom's, in them is her energy. The amigurumis are my passion, so in them is my energy. The result is an incredible symbiosis of love, that love that is never forgotten and remains perennial in time and space.

10.jpg

The truth is that I have made #catarsis with this post. Thank you very much for reading it!

The creative work is my own, just looking at images of monsters on the internet //
All photos are my own taken with my Tecno Spark cell phone and edited with Canva.Com //
Free version of Deepl.com as a translator.

2.jpg



AHORA EN ESPAÑOL

Feliz lunes mis queridas y creativas amigas de #NeedleWorkMonday. La semana pasada por diversas actividades no tuve la oportunidad de leerlas y fue hasta anoche que leí el reto de la semana, que por cierto vence en pocas horas.

1.jpg

Aunque ya tengo listo mi amigurumi con sus fotos, me pareció genial que en lugar de hacer un tutorial, contara acerca de mi o de mis reflexiones y eso me parece perfecto, pues creo importante que contemos la razón de nuestro tejido, lo que pensamos, por la situación que estamos pasando. Para mi tejer es una meditación, cada puntada me mantiene unida de forma indeleble al presente.

Para iniciar la historia voy a retroceder unos 34 años, cuando tenía 15 años. Mi mamá era una artista de las manualidades, tejía, cosía, bordaba... era de esperarse que yo hiciera lo mismo, pero para mí eso era muy aburrido.

8.jpg

Ella trató en vano de enseñarme, pero yo no quería saber nada de agujas e hilo y así sus sueños de enseñarme quedaron guardados en el cajón de los recuerdos. Pasaron unos 27 años y mi mamá enfermó. Tuvo que mudarse conmigo durante casi año y medio.

En esa época yo pasaba mucho tiempo con ella. Mis tías y prima me ayudaban a cuidarla mientras yo estaba trabajando, pero los fines de semana me dedicaba a estar con ella, acompañarla y compartir con ella, pero ese compartir era un poco extraño, pues teníamos muy pocas cosas en común.

9.jpg

Un día mientras tenía tiempo libre en la oficina, me dediqué a buscar en internet patrones tejidos fáciles de hacer, para motivarla a que me enseñara y así encontré mi primer Amigurumi. Fue amor a primera vista y me dije; “esto es lo que quiero”.

Imprimí el patrón y la imagen del amigurumi. Compre una aguja de crochet, hilo, relleno antialérgico y llegué a casa con herramientas en mano. Se las entregué y le dije: “mamá quiero tejer esto”… ella vio la imagen y el patrón y se sonrió, esa sonrisa de Tibaire no lo va a hacer.

3f5b459c-b01c-4cb6-9765-18007ed41899.jpg
Las agujas de tejer, herencia de mi mamá

Pasaron los meses y aprendí a tejer. Me volví una fanática del crochet, para mí era un escape de la abrumadora realidad que tenía en ese momento. Para todas partes llevaba mi tejido, sobre todo durante las largas esperas en la sala de quimioterapia, en los consultorios médicos, o cuando debíamos asistir a la sala de emergencia de un hospital.

Durante ese tiempo aprovechada y hacia pequeños amigurumis de bolita que regalaba a las enfermeras, doctores y personal de limpieza. Era mi forma de agradecer el trato tan amable que tenían hacia mi mamá.

438b8696-dac6-4b1f-8a9a-604bb594d851.jpg
Las revistas de tejido, herencia de mamá

Un día mamá decidió no hacerse más quimioterapias y regresó a su ciudad. Mientras empacaba sus pertenencias, tomé sus agujas y revistas para guardarlas; pero ella lo impidió, me dijo ahora son tuyas!

Mamá se fue de este mundo dos meses más tarde y mi más preciada herencia fue haber aprendido a tejer, sus agujas y revistas.

Cuando tejo sé que hay una conexión energética difícil que describir. Las agujas con las que tejó son de mamá, en ellas está su energía. Los amigurumis son mi pasión, así que en ellos está mi energía. El resultado una increíble simbiosis de amor, ese amor que nunca se olvida y se mantiene perenne en el tiempo y el espacio.

10.jpg

La verdad he hecho #catarsis con este post. Muchas gracias por leerme!

El trabajo creativo es propio, solo con ver imágenes de monstruos en internet //
Todas las fotos son propias tomadas con mi celular Tecno Spark y editadas con Canva.Com //
Use Deepl.com como traductor.

2.jpg

Sort:  

Hermoso Tibi. Me hiciste llorar.

La verdad @charsdesign lloré mientras escribía!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

@tibaire am sorry for your loss, but your work Looks nice 👍

Thank you... my mom live in my projects! And that is great!

Your welcome

 3 years ago  

I'm so sorry for your loss. This is one of the most emotional needlework posts I've read so far. Goes straight to the heart. It's a sweet feeling knowing that your mom still lives in your craft. Thank you for sharing this very personal freeneedling post with us. I became a little bit emotional reading through it.

Thank you very much for your beautiful words. To tell you the truth, I cried while writing... it was liberating to write this post and tell a little deeper everything behind my knitting.

Wow @tibaire una experiencia un poco dura por la muerte de tu mamá, pero son momentos que no se olvidan, heredaste esa agilidad para tejer cosas tan hermosas, por allí vi unos tejidos que realizó tu mami y la verdad era toda una experta en agujas, me imagino lo que sentías en cada palabras que escribiste. Espero seguir viendo estas bellezas de amigurumi... Un gran abrazo.

La verdad tuve la mejor de las herencias que se pueden recibir, su don para tejer, sus agujas y revistas!

It is beautiful that your mom left you with something to always remember her by. The connection between you and her will forever remain.

Hello @blezyn , you are absolutely right, he left me his energy, he left me his gift, he left me his passion... it is something very beautiful!!!!!

It's so beautiful. I love it!

Es que definitivamente tienes potencial para el tejido @tibaire . Me impresiona que tejas sin un patrón y eso sin lugar a dudas lo heredaste 😊.

Muy bonita esa conexión de amor que sientes con tu mami al tejer 😍.

Tu mami siempre te cuida y esta presente en todo lo que te propongas hacer, porque el amor de madre es único, sincero y verdadero 😊 🤗.

Así es @jomarbym es un amor único y verdadero!!! ❤️

Awwww. This made me happy and sad at the same time. 😔
I am not sure how long ago your mom passed away, but I am sure she is happy that you now enjoy the craft she used to love, too!

And that amigurumi is adorable!!

Think you... My mom passed away almost 8 years ago, but she still live in my projects!

Muy conmovedor relato hermosa @tibaire de como llegas a despertar tu pasión, meditación y modelo de vida, pues creo el tejido es la red donde nos desenvolvermos allí envueltos de emociones por la historia de vida de cada ser que tras hilvanar sus puntadas logra conectar con lo esencial de si mismo. Bellísimo post inspirador.

Hola bella @evev gracias por tus lindas palabras. Así es tejer ha Sido fuente de inspiración, meditación y alegría

I remember when you shared a little about your mom and this story and I was intrigued by it then. Hearing it now in it’s entirety has left me so emotional. When I saw that photo of the amigurumi monster amongst your mother’s knitting magazines I lost it. Tears ran down my eyes at the thought of your mother living on through your beautiful creations and how she left knowing her daughter now had a joy for needles. ♥️

I also relate to this story in a sense that growing up my mother was a seamstress as a profession and a love. She was sadden by the fact I though it was a boring skill to learn. I only in the recent years was able to be taught the basics by her through my daughter’s interest in wanting to sew. She was delighted that I took the time to learn from her and I actually enjoyed it. I think of all of her books and magazines, sewing machines and supplies she has and would love for my daughter to be able to inherit those to put them to good use throughout her life.

Thank you so much for such a beautiful publication/entry, it was so heart warming and touching. I am sorry your mother is no longer here with you physically but it’s such a peacefulness knowing she lives on through your love and creations of these beautiful arts ~ 🤗☺️

Hello @crosheille , thank you very much for such beautiful words. As you say, Mom lives through my creations and every time I think about it, I am more and more convinced that my best inheritance was her skill, her needles and magazines. Very few times I speak so deeply about the reason, because it is something that moves me and tears come to my eyes. Knowing she is not here is sad, but she lives through what I do.

I think it is so nice that your daughter is interested in sewing, and that you are now sharing time with her and learning to sew with her, it is so exciting!!!!! It must be so nice to be able to inherit grandma's machines!

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

I can imagine how painful it is to talk about it at times but you spoke of her so well in this post and it has touched many. What a beautiful inheritance to behold. ❤️

Thank you. It has definitely been a memorable time for all of us :)

You are very cute and your words are very touching. Really, thank you very much, I feel very happy and touched.

🥰☺️🤗♥️

Hola @tibaire,

Este es un contenido conmovedor e inspirador...El legado de tu mami está entre tus manos y lo vas moldeando día, logrando grandes obras de artes que llevan el sello mágico de tu mami.

Que bonito has heredado tan hermoso don con agujas incluidas...Que siga la magia de la inspiración manifestándose en ti.

Abrazos

Gracias @jicrochet , me emociona mucho saber que heredé la habilidad de mamá y ella siempre estará junto a mi, en cada una de mis creaciones... su energía está aquí siempre.

Es una historia conmovedora. Hace unos años entendí que las personas están para cumplir una misión y una vez que la cumplen desaparecen o se desvanecen.

Gran recuerdo y conexión le dejó su mamá. Sobre todo porque ella estaba segura de que una vez que aprendiese a tejer lo haría muy bien. ¡Buenas vibras!.

Gracias @inici-arte , la misión que todos tenemos y dejamos pasar pues pensamos que no es lo nuestro y la vida en sus procesos, caminos, y giros, nos lleva de vuelta al momento justo donde nos habíamos extraviado.

Amiga bella, amé leer tu post. Mi mamá era aficionada a coser y a tejer. Yo no podría decir que eso me guste pero hago mi mejor intento. Para coser lo pienso mil veces y para tejer lo pienso un millón de veces. 🤣🤣 Hace poco tejí una ballena de Amigurumi y me encantó pero no he hecho más nada. Tengo agujas de crochet que heredé de mi tía, ella me enseñó a tejer por el plano de las revistas y tengo un par de agujas de punto que heredé de mi mamá pero con eso no he hecho nada. No sé tejer cosas que salgan de mi cabeza, por eso te admiro. 💐

Muchas gracias @antoniarhuiz , que lindo también heredaste agujas,jajaja entiendo perfectamente cuando dices que piensas mil veces para tejer o coser, eso me pasaba también, ahora, no he terminado un proyecto cuando ya estoy pensado en el próximo.

 2 years ago  

I am so sorry for your loss. Honestly… I had problems to comment at all. After the death of my father I am so afraid to also loose my mother that I try to not think about this topic in any way. But I am glad you could inherit the skills and love of needlework from your mother and that you have fond memories of her.
Sending love <3

Thank you very much, I understand you perfectly, it is a topic that we do not want to talk about, in itself, it took me a while to write the post. I didn't want to give too many details about what happened to him, so I tried to give it a different approach. Unfortunately, the people we love leave one day, but they remain forever engraved in our hearts ... so, they never really leave, they always remain!

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Que hermosura me encanto 😍😍😍

Gracias!!