My NaPodPoMo 2021: It is Finished!

in NaPodPoMo2 years ago

I buckled down and was able to finish all 30 episodes with minutes to spare before midnight. If I recall is was 11:48pm when episode 30 was uploaded to @Aureal. How did I do it? It was seriously a mad dash. You wouldn't think a micro-podcast would take so long. But crazily enough it did.

https://aureal.one/podcast/10627 <- Social Media and the Blockchain episodes 1-30

Observations:

Lessons Leaned

I tried a new recording setup and it caused more problems than it was worth. I wound up having to rerecord whole episodes or piece together sections. It was a mess with lots of lessons learned. It's okay though because NaPodPoMo has always been about experimentation. There is a reason you'll hear me talk about how this 30-day podcasting marathon is a #FailFastGetGood challenge. Because it is. You will learn quickly what works and what does not work. You fail. But you will fail quickly and make adjustments along the way.

Worked Better Than I Could Have Hoped

I've never seriously done a proper micro-podcast with structure and format. All of the short form podcasts I've done in the past were stream of conscience podcasts done on mobile apps. Social Media and the Blockchain was fully scripted with intro and outro music. Which took much longer than I would ever had anticipated. It's fascinating that short podcasts take more time, but it did work rather well.

I was able to share bite-sized nuggets of info and then use each episode to build upon the previous episode. I can look at the entire body of work and I am pleased with the end result. Could it have been better? Of course, but am I happy with what is out there? You betcha! 31 days ago none of this existed. Now there is an entire 30-part series. I am thrilled.

What's Next?

I answered this in the last episode....of season one. Which should tell you all you need to know about what is next.

untitled.gif