new un-wardrobe!

in Build-It2 years ago

Gorgeous, talented friends!

This is the new railing I set up for my un-wardrobe: the picture-hooks were bending worryingly on the old structure (see below) and all these beautiful clothes needed a shakeup and reorder...

The challenge began with a selection if old nails; I couldn't find the right ones, and literally don't have any money right now to buy new, specific ones... but then I thought to fix some old ones, which were all bent and useless. I fricking love fixing old nails! It is sooooo satisfying! I sat on the marble rock steps outside the house and hammered them gently straight again 😍😍😍😍

Then I cleaned most of the rust off.... caring for them this way, I am sure, led to this beautiful magical moment: EVERY NAIL I HAMMERED IN settled perfectly into place!! This has never happened in all my years in this house - all five nails, big ones, solidly in the wall and ready to use! I was singing and cheering!

Then the old-sheet ties; I cut a wee centimetre then ripped five long strips of this nice strong old sheet square. And tied them cosí

They got positioned ready for the pole, like this:

Below is a reminder of what the previous pole setup looked like - not enough support for the bending curtain pole, which was also all dirty and scraped from the coathangers over the years.

I cleaned and polished the pole nice and white again, and reset it, with all the clothes in proper order so I can see them and search throuhj sections easily - now as I tug at a jumper, I don't worry about the whole thing pulling the picture hooks out the wall and crashing down! Clothes are damned heavy, en masse!

Isn't it beautiful?! It's easier to walk by too, at the foot of the bed, and you can see more of the ancient blue paint layers underneath - from back when patterns were stamped onto walls in heavenly pigments - I kept this wall from when I first pulled down all the wallpaper, back in 2011 when fuest working on the house....

All good things to you in your domestic alchemy!
Clare.

Sort:  

Wooow!

What a great Innovation from you there. Keep it Buddy!🥂

Thanks so much for this good encouragement dear @peterale ! It helps me keep my spirits up!

You are welcome Buddy, cheers!🥂

It is a very interesting wardrobe and useful

Many thanks for saying so, @baboz ! 🤩

Beautiful indeed! It sure seems like the 'old' nails and pole were happy to be repurposed :<) Your recycling/ upcycling is pretty inspiring.

Aaaah - so glad you're inspired dear friend - I love getting things just nice in my house, yes I do! :-D Have a beautiful evening!