Yes, I Have Mushrooms in Our Defender Camper - But Would You Expect Anything Less?

in Build-Itlast year

Oh happy days - we are so close to finishing the camper we started back in June. Well, the idea started in June, shortly after we got our 2001 Defender 130 Td5 on the road. Then it was procuring the bespoke, custom 130 tub, pulling the entire thing apart and reconstructing it without the back doors into a unique 130 panelvan, which I still don't think exists anywhere in the world.

So the photo below is really significant because it uses the last piece of plywood in the stack. That means there's an awful lot of plywood in the build. Still, we worked out the weight of plywood and in comparision to say, a slide on camper, we're still coming in a LOT lighter. The table is built from a bit of furniture I was going to upcycle but it had woodworm, so we pulled it apart. The top was fine though, and a beautiful hardwood which you just can't buy at Bunnings. To complete the job, Jamie put a Landrover badge on it. The leather strap is a favourite old belt of mine.

What we will do with holes, well, that's for another post! We are halfway through it as I write (we stopped for coffee) so I'll share it soon!

The plan is to do most of the cooking outside, although we have built enough benchroom to put it inside if it's really super windy and wet. This tailgate table makes for a quick space to use the jetboil to make a quick coffee on the road if camp isn't set up completely.

Next, the copper string fairy lights. It's a bit of a running joke, the fairy lights, and I do insist we have them as they make it so pretty. I know a friend who lined all their roof with these but that's a bit much so we just did the interior of the cupboard. It does illuminate there. If we decide we can afford a pop top that top cupboard will have to come out, which is why we didn't bother with draw fronts. I've found some black curtain wire which will snap into place for when we drive in case that lip isn't enough to stop things going flying.

IMG20221125174138.jpg

By this time, you've spotted the mushrooms, haven't you? Yep, they are behind the bookshelf and on the left up top. It's actually peel and stick wallpaper - a sample I ordered a long time ago and I just love it.

I think it provides a nice break against all that pine, don't you? And I wanted a bit of whimsy in there - it's all fine and dandy to have things functional, but it's nice to have beautiful as well, don't you think?

IN this next photo you can see the doors. We have a mate who could have cut them out of one sheet but we could'nt be bothered and we thought this looks good enough.

IMG20221126095632.jpg

After we cut out the back door ply and did the table, we realised we couldn't really open the lower door from the inside with teh door shut, so we cut another strip of leather and folded it over to make a handle. I think it looks great as it matches the supportive strap on the back door.

I'm not entirely happy with the seat covers - those mattresses 'jigsaw' together to form the bed, with some planks between. If you read my post from Monday, you'll know I had a right hissy fit over them, so I have a friend who's going to try to do a better job. I included the photo without the kitchen cupboard doors so you can see how we fit the cafetiere, the jet boil etc as well as spices and so on.

WE also fitted the kitchen sink. I don't actually like proper sinks in a camper as it's just more things that can go wrong with water and plumbing, and it's easy enough to rinse your face here or pull the plastic tub outside onto a table to wash the dishes. People get far too fancy and complicated with this stuff when really it should be easy and fun, not just bringing another bloody house with you. There's creature comforts and there's pathetic creature comforts if you know what I mean. Keep it minimal - more simple, less fuss.

image.png

And of course, more mushrooms in the cupboard - it kinda suprises me everytime I open it hahha! That's over the fuel filler cap. Here sits my pea bucket and other laundry sundries, and the fire hydrant as well. Yes, I said pee bucket. Ask me questions in the comment. I'm not that shy.

Here's the view with the cupboards fitted. For the first time in any camper build, we have gas struts to hold them open - how fancy! THe little mushrooms are there for the 'oops' hole we drilled, and I matched it on the opposing side. It's just a fun little suprise. I mean, by the looks of this post the mushrooms are everywhere but to be honest you wouldn't know for looking.

With the ax, the colours, and the mushrooms, it's beginning to feel like some kind of naturalist/botanist van. I quite like how that theme evolved without us planning it.

There's a few other details I want to share but this post is getting a little long! Plus, as an addendum to Monday's post this week, I managed so sew the back curtain and who knows, I might even able to manage the side one... fingres crossed!

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

Wow the camper is really coming together. I was wondering about the weight, nice that it's not that heavy. I like the decorating touches. My wife has went a bit off the deep end on the fairy lights lol. We have them on a few trees along the driveway and outlining the fence around the garden 🙄 Luckily, they are solar so this time of year in Vermont they are only on for a few hours.

Hahahha I'm with your wife, the more fairy lights the better. And yeah everytime we added another bit of ply Jamie would say 'this is going to make it heavy' which was freaking me out. Then we worked out it was still less than a slide on camper so all good.

Looking super sexy and cozy and that axe will be useful to chop zombie heads.

Oh yes, I'll also pack my bow for full anti zombie experience!

Yiiiiiiis! But gotta think about chicken protection too, because chicken are our second biggest threat after the zombie, and those rabbit you posted another day.

Chickens are our friends! Egg protein for the apocalypse!!

That until they rebel. Then you'll see hell on earth.

Until they can figure out how to open a gate or coop I think we are good.

Haven't yours figured our yet? We have one little bastard that found a way out and is teaching the others.. even the dogs!

Way to go looks awesome!

Thanks heaps mate, we are pretty stoked. Wish we could get it to UK, never say never tho

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator slothlydoesit & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote ;) Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

Wow! Love how the plywood follows the curve of the roof. Also like the bits of mushrooms here and there. You are right, the colors and themes have all come together nicely.

Thanks beautiful! The curve was tricky, especially keeping it all straight so when you got to other side it was all lined up! But we got there in the end!

It’s looking so good and I love that mushroom wallpaper. I can’t wait to be reading about all your adventures in her. Well done you two xxxxx

I can't wait to HAVE adventures in her! Thanks! I can't believe I remembered that wallpaper, I had the samples for something else but sooo perfect for this!

Love how it looks from the inside. Would need something like this next year! ;)

What are you doing next year??

Just got a 1 year tourist visa granted recently...coming to Australia in march...wooohooo can´t wait :)

Omg fantastic, I am sooo happy for you!!! I know how much you love it here. Sidenote, vans are ridiculously expensive here currently. COVID made everyone a vanlifer. Plus with the floods and a lot of people homeless round northern NSW, everyone is living in them! Will you buy a car to travel or stay in same spot?

yeah I saw it on gumtree already. cars as well, super expensive. Last time I sold my Honda CRV ind mint condition for 4,7k and right now the exact same model goes for 7k. 😣
Should have kept it :)

Not 100% sure yet. Ideal would be to stay 6 months, do a quick visa run and come back before visa expires to get another 12 months as it says multiple entries. :)

But we definitely start in brisbane as we have many friends up there.

Brilliant. Well, call in if you come down our way. Cars are just silly expensive at the moment. It happened with the defenders/old Landrovers too - ones you could have bought for 1 k four years ago were selling for 20k. Insanity

will keep you posted. hope we still love it and covid hasn´t destroyed the vibe as well...bad enough that it has destroyed prices.

Oh Wow you guys are doing such an awesome job! I can’t even begin to wrap my brain around how you all do this type of stuff, building and creating and putting this altogether. Very impressive especially with no planning.

I totally love that mushroom wallpaper and agree you gotta have some beauty to go along with all the functioning stuff :)

Thanks so much! I am pretty proud of our efforts! It really has ended up a foresters van with the colours too, it just organically evolved that way!