My DIY Lampshade From Empty Canister and Brocade Cut-outs

in Build-It3 years ago

IMG_20210415_125419.jpg

Have a pleasant day everyone! How's your day today! We have low pressure going on and the landfall is expected tomorrow. We had heavy rain yesterday the whole day through hence I wasn't able to post as scheduled yesterday. Anyways, I dug in my box again and looked for something to do while it's raining cats n' dogs outside!

Then I saw a piece of brocade fabric which I've used for the band uniforms of high school students years back. I automatically thought of making an emergency lampshade using a flashlight in case of power shortages especially during this time.

IMG_20210415_122202.jpg

The cloth is organza and very light. I imagined it would look like this. I only needed the following materials:

• Light transparent fabric.
• Double-edged tape
• 2 Empty canister
• Flashlight
• Plastic bottle as flashlight holder

IMG_20210415_122108.jpg

IMG_20210415_122028.jpg

First, you need to measure the height of the canister and cut it accordingly.
IMG_20210415_105235.jpg

After cutting it into two, you need to see a finishing stitch on the edge to prevent the strands from doing down. Next, paste the tape on the other end in diagonal.
Gently pull the covering while pinning the cloth on the wall of the canister.

IMG_20210415_112225.jpg

See, it's perfect for the shade. The light will illuminate from the inside as planned.

IMG_20210415_114652.jpg
.
I kept this black thick canister for future use. I bought this for my workout session before the lockdown. It will be good for the lower part of my lampshade.

IMG_20210415_120812_HDR.jpg

See, they looked good together!

IMG_20210415_120902_HDR.jpg

I placed the flashlight on the little plastic bottle upwards. The lamp served its purpose, with the lovely embroidery shadowing which gave a romantic ambience of the surrounding.

IMG_20210415_120854_HDR.jpg

See, it gives a different glow instead of the direct light from the flashlight. You can simply stare at it in a nice way while waiting for the electrical power to go back.I've had many rechargable lamps before but they don't last long so this will be a better option in case of emergency and for sound budgeting!

IMG_20210415_121842.jpg

It will serve as my side decor too when our electricity is in good condition.

Thank you for dropping by my page.

Till then,

@Sarimanok

Sort:  

Oh what a good idea for those canisters! I have a bunch of empty ones in a cabinet and I'm always trying to think of things to use them for, lol.

Hi there! Yes, you can always create new ideas when you have the materials. I keep the good ones for future use such as this.
Thanks for dropping by!

@sariamonok Aww, me encanta 🥰, te quedó genial❤️

Ganda naman original lampshde.