Some Insects from Today

Went for a little hike today with my macro lens. The birds are quieting down, migration is over until August and the nesting season is upon us. I even left my binoculars at home (shocking!) This is truly the start of 'bugging' season (for me at least).
Here are some of the beasties I came across.

I'm thinking this is a Red-necked Cane Borer Beetle (Agrilus ruficollis). It has a nice metallic sheen like many other borers:
beetle5.jpg

beetle5a.jpg
Some sort of gray flat-faced long-horned beetle...unsure of genus.
beetle3.jpg
Found out this was a Sumac Stem-borer Beetle (Orberea ocellata), a lifer for me.
beetle4.jpg
I love jumping spiders and they usually are obliging enough for photos. I'm not sure about this one, Phidippus or Paraphidippus...
jumper1.jpg

An Asian Oak Weevil (Cyrtepistomus castaneus):
weevil.jpg

Lots of these small Dioctria robber flies were out. I didn't see any of the bigger ones that look like bumble bees. I think they come out towards the middle-late summer.
robber.jpg

Happy hunting!

Sort:  

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated on behalf of Insects Of The World Community. It will be added to the weekly curation report. Keep up the good work.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Nice pictures and insects. It would be good if you gave more information about the insects that you photographed, that would give more notoriety to your publication.

Thank you for your comment. Yes in my future posts I'll try to add more information. I'm still a novice as far as entomology but I will share what I learn!

Hello @funferall!

<hr>
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!