New Comic Book Pickup - The Encoded

in Nerday3 years ago

PXL_20210220_171542342 1.jpg

Here's another little gem I got in the mail today. This one is called The Encoded from Devils Due Comics. The story seems ok so far; sort of a mix between Blade Runner and some type of future where the powers that be can shut down all AI and electronics. I'll give it a go for awhile and see where the story goes.

This cover is a variant by Joel Humberto Herrera. I agree with some and think this almost looks like an early Adam Hughes type cover. A bit risque for the Hattie Collection, but I do agree that this might be sought after long term. I know Leofinance disagrees, but what can you do? Per the CBSI Top 10 List from February 5 of this year:

Thanks for the heads up from Justice For Comics who stated, this one was listed, then pulled, then listed again for a higher price and then sold out at Midtown. On the secondary market it is hitting around $25. Is this one of those covers that people will just want to get for their PC?

I agree that this one might be for a lot of collector's long-term collections. I paid $13 USD for it, and prices seem to be holding in the mid $20's range. Cardano, it's not, but I still like it.

One thing I'm not happy about is the little nick on the upper left-hand corner:

PXL_20210220_171546569.jpg

Eh, what can you do? It's art.

What do you think? Did you grab a copy? Did you read the story? And do you like the artwork? It does have a little bit of that Adam Hughes feel, and if you were lucky to get on his earlier stuff that is highly sought after, this might have some long term value.

Sort:  

I never got into comics, but the cover artwork always appeals to me...Especially the more old-school ones.

Yeah I got back into collecting more for Hattie three years ago (?) My parents kept our collections in their basement, and I pulled it out of storage a few years back to look on prices. Most are worthless, but wow, some had some significant value. Sadly, my brother and I read these things over and over since the late 80's/early 90ls, so the grade wasn't very good on most.

My thought was (with maybe no agreement from Liza - lol) that I would start to target some cool books with art, characters, "key issues", etc for Hattie to have when she gets older. It's analog, and who knows what analog will mean in a 15 years at this rate. So maybe she will have some "art of value collection" going in the future.

This one of course...maybe not so much for the Hattie collection, but I coudln't pass it up. It just had a look to it that I appreciated it. It's up almost 80% too - look out, who needs Bitcoin!?

I think it's a good idea to be honest...I mean who knew all those years ago that a simple baseball card cold be worth thousands several decades later? Also, I like the analogue comment...I htink the special people will know what that means in years to come, the privileged. No different to people who value history now I guess. Fortunately I'm one of them.

Nice work mate...Also, gave you a follow...Thought I had already, but must have had a blonde moment. :)

I agree with you on the analog thought. History and the appreciation of it are definitely dying. Liza bought me a record player a few years ago, and I've been gobbling up vinyl to play for Hattie. She loves to hit the start button, watch the needle slowly crank down, and then wait for the music to start up. Easily one of the best bday presents ever!

Thanks for the follow! I definitely appreciate the correspondence with you - it's fun to actually "converse" with someone consistently on Hive.

If the weather stays somewhat good this weekend, I should have a fun little daughter/dad adventure to share...I spent a good hour or two on Newspapers.com researching it during lunch today. Locations figured out and a trail set to follow; now we just need to get outside and get some photos of the adventure. Pioneer days, here we come...

Weekend adventures are always something to look forward to so I hope it happens! I look out for the post.

I had a record player back in the day, I think I got rid of it around 1992 or so...I've still got the records though. Van Halen's 1984 was the first vinyl I bought...Still have it. 😉

Wow, that was a classic album; that and Duran Duran dragged me into the dawn of MTV back in the day. Uh oh, I'm starting to feel old this morning...

Haha...Get that calculator out and punch some numbers...That'll make you feel young and alive once more!