Printing Oranges.

in Hive Diy2 years ago

Manual printing has a truly calming effect on my mind. I do find the whole process, from carving and preparing the printing plate, to finally apply color and discover only then the true outcome of your work, genuinely beautiful.

And that’s what I want to share with you. The beauty of manual printing.

Carving the rubber or linoleum plates, bit by bit, cutting out shapes and lines.
Stopping from time to time, readjusting the logic thoughts of negative and positive. Weather you need to cut out a part or leave it on, in order to get it colored or blank.
Until you reach a stage where you feel ready to apply color to the carved plate. And discover for the first time, what it looks like, the subject you just carved on for this whole time.

If you are not familiar with manual printing, let me explain the different steps, for a moment.

What you’ll need is, a plate, carving tools, paint, a roller and a glass plate or surface and paper or anything to print on.

You can presketch a subject on the rubber plate.

Then you carve out all the parts that you want to have blank, uncolored at the end.

When you feel ready or can’t handle your curiosity anymore. Apply the paint with the roller in a very thin layer on the carved plate.

To make sure the layer of paint is thin enough, you roll the paint on the glass surface first. Until the roller is covered in paint and ready to roll over the plate.

Then you place it on a piece of paper.

Press gently.

Lift it up.

…and get surprised.

You can always carve more and further. But you can never get back the spaces you carved or cut away.

And even if you design, sketch and plan your subject carefully, you’ll always encounter some pleasant and random surprises in the outcome of your prints.

The print never appears as planned.

This surprise remembers me of analogue photography. Where you take a photo in one moment but will only encounter what you truly captured in the instant the photo paper is starting to show shapes and forms, swimming in a bath of chemicals.

I took those photos of the printing process with my phone, and also in most other instances I use digital photography. Simply because I do not want to make the time it takes to develop the negatives.

But this effect; creating a piece of art and not seeing how it will turn out until the very end. Is a way of creating I look for in any creative process.

Thank you for your visit! It is a pleasure to have you around, sharing those stories with me. Have a lovely week!

(all photos and subjects are mine, taken and made by me)

Sort:  

Wonderful. If there's something I've learned with crafts, it's that you have to be patient to get to the end and have a good result... although sometimes I can't control my anxiety to see how it will end haha. I'd like to see how these stamps look quickly and see if I'm carving it right.

These looked great on you. Will these prints be part of a larger project or just these images?

Thanks for sharing your art. Have a great day ❣️!

Ooh yes, me too, very impatient at times!:)) I figured, listening to audiobooks at the same time calms me down hahah so I can concentrate on the story and not too much on weather or not I am doing the carving right...
And yes, they will be for a bigger project eventually😏
Thank you so much for another lovely reply💕 have a great week!!

Okay... this is next level work :)

I haven't done printmaking for years! Since I was studying fine art in fact.

You know you can do this on fabric and make original textiles, right?

And also... I'd LOVE to see more of your prints now!!! 🔥

thank you❤️
Yes I know, I did that some times, and for sure to print those ones on fabric would be awesome, but I guess then I have to start employing people..haha
but anyway everything at its time, I was actually going to post about the following up prints, and you just inspired me to start on that!!
by the way, I would also love to see any remains of your fine art studies (if there is something left, as I remember, you got rid of quite a bit? which I can also relate to)

Oh I look forward to seeing that post!

I have around 2 photos left, I think.

And, as it happens... one woodcut print :) (not a very good one though... :/ It's from first year!)

Happy to show you to encourage you to make more stuff. And please don't destroy it all. Yes... many of us artists do that, don't we 😆

aaah yes, difficult to know what too keep and what not to...

Keep it all!

I ll need a whole basement somewhere then😅

You are very talented by the way.

My dad was a pretty big manufacturer out here (clothing) for major retail stores and he would have snapped you up and put you to work in the design department in a heartbeat.

This is such a beautiful compliment, thank you!!!

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!