Wrought iron bunk bed. I am participating in the contest, an iron heart.

in Hive Diy3 years ago

Hello, friends as you are, I tell you that a couple of days ago a friend left the country of Venezuela, and she left me as a gift a bunk bed that she had saved, because my daughters have always asked me to buy them one and the truth is a little expensive and I couldn't, we went to look for it and the problem we got was that, where they had it, it received many days of rain and the iron deteriorated.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-08 at 11.33.04 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-08 at 11.33.04 PM.jpeg

These bunk beds are today here in Venezuela between $60 or $100. Here I show you a screenshot of my cell phone from the MercadoLibre page in Venezuela, where I can show you a bed similar or equal to the one they gave me.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-08 at 11.33.04 PM (4).jpeg

And so my husband and I decided to accept the bed to rebuild and remodel it, since we have three children and the room is very small for the three of us, it would be perfect to save space.

The materials we used to repair were:

  • 2 sandpaper no. 80 and no. 100
  • wire brush
  • brush
  • gray antioxidant background
  • lilac oil paint.
  • 5 welding rods
  • had for replacement

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-08 at 11.33.05 PM (3).jpeg

The first step I took was to replace the tube that was all hollow, in the two backs, with the help of my husband who welded it, then I passed the wire brush on all sides to remove all the raised paint and the rust that this had.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-08 at 11.33.04 PM (5).jpeg

The second step is to sand with sandpaper number 80 to reduce all the lumps that the brush could not remove and then pass the sandpaper number 100 to make the texture of the iron more smooth. Next we must anchor with antioxidant.

We cannot sand and anchor the next day because he had more rust and the work already done previously would not work; We must sand and then anchor to prevent rust from continuing to deteriorate the material.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-08 at 11.33.06 PM.jpeg

Once the first layer is finished, we wait about 30 min and cover with a second layer of background.

Once the first coat is finished, we wait for about 30 min and cover with a second coat of primer, we wait again for about 30 min and cover with the oil paint. It is important for your health that you paint in a free area and that you wait a minimum day for the smell to be released and having your piece already painted inside the house the smell is not so strong that it can cause an allergy or asthma.

I am usually careful in this for my children.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-08 at 11.33.06 PM (2).jpeg

Well, that's how beautiful the color of the bed was with a very smooth texture. To proceed with assembling it, I bought some thicker screws than the ones she had to make the fastening of the sides more firm, but I ran into a problem.

We do not have a drill and no one to lend me one, but luckily, my dad has taught me many things, and one of those was manual troubleshooting.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-08 at 11.33.06 PM (6).jpeg

With the tip of a screwdriver or a pointed drill, we make a small force to the sides, pushing the handle of the screwdriver upwards then downwards in circles and in this way the hole will open more and more.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-08 at 11.33.06 PM (7).jpeg

We proceed to assemble the bunk bed and decorate it as we want. My children are happy to have their new and safe bed.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-09 at 2.33.06 PM.jpeg

Thanks for reading this far and sharing this tutorial with me.

I invite my friend @reymoya95 to participate in a heart of iron.

Sort:  

Great! excellent job restructuring a bunk bed and turning it into a beauty, in Venezuela the comforts are a little expensive, so we must make the most of the old things we have in our home and repair them.

Felicitaciones!! no hay limites cuando se quiere, tu lo lograste, tus niñas imagino están felices con el resultado, me encanto, fue un arduo trabajo pero valió mil. gracias por compartir con nosotros tan hermoso trabajo.

Gracias a ti. Me gusta compartir las ideas con las personas. Creo que es un don que recibí de mi papá. Los comparto con todos los que quieran recibirlo.

Congratulations @phderoes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP