Would you Make a Bottle Wall... If you had the TIME?

in Hive Diylast year

image.png

source


This Saturday, I had a helper... a teenager we took into our house for the school year, because he needed a place to live close to the same school our little guy is going to.

In exchange of rent, we've decided to have a number of hours worked for his stay, and Saturday was a good day for all of us here on the suburban homestead!!! We're making a wall out of old glass bottles.

Before the weekend, I tested our masonry saw (wet saw) on a handful of bottles to make sure we had the proper tools to be able work. It worked really pretty well.

20221024_164247.jpg

I was surprised because it's an old cheap tool, that I got used from a friend... not that this friend took bad care of his tools, it's the fact that it's a cheap brand and is pretty old, so I thought at least the blade might need changed. No, it's all good to go!


Our saw has a guide that came in very handy for cutting every bottle at an exactly the same size, 4 inches from the bottom. We're putting these bottles on a cinderblock knee wall. Once two bottoms have been cut, they get washed, and taped together.

Here's this bottle going in, I have to hold it in place to slide it in towards the blade, slowly.

20221024_163052.jpg

This saw is a bit small for this, so I have to cut a part of the bottle and then slowly start to turn it, to cut it all around.

image.png

Here's the turning of the bottle, the first couple of times were terrifying... I didn't know if it would shatter, and send glass shards flying all around!!!

That's why I was wearing thick leather gloves, and safety goggles. But as you can see it cuts pretty clean actually, and not one bottle shattered:

image.png

image.png

That was it for the day, I only had a couple hours to play around, but I got a dozen bottles cut. Like I said earlier, this was just a test!

The weekend, was spent cutting about a hundred bottles, which may not be enough, being that we need two bottles per "brick". We can always cut more... I have been collecting for a few years, and we have a decent pile at the sanctuary still!

I'll post about this wall more for sure, because I find it fascinating, and I just love building with alternative, or upcycled materials!

Let me know if you would make a wall like this one, or if you already have... I would love to see your photos!

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, AND DON'T FORGET YOU CAN SUPPORT ME WITHOUT MAKING A DENT IN YOUR WALLET

Simply use our referral links and we'll earn a little extra along the way:

| Hive | Presearch | Odysee | Minds | Hipcamp |



Find me on Social Media:

Insta: https://www.instagram.com/mugwortexpress/
LBRY: https://lbry.tv/$/invite/@MugwortExpress:5
Odysee: https://odysee.com/$/invite/@MugwortExpress:5
Minds: https://www.minds.com/register?referrer=NoMansLand



FINDING AND HELPING DECENTRALIZATION EVERYWHERE:


presearch

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

These kind of windows/ walls are amazing. Very cool that you're doing this and are sharing the process :^)

I'm so excited, been wanting to do this for a long time. Thanks!!!

NICE! When I saw your title I was gonna mention things about the tile saw, the process of sorting, cutting, washing, and taping that takes up WAY more time than actually building the bottle wall. And that's not to mention the inevitable learning curve involving lots of broken pieces and glass shards everywhere. But it looks like you've got it all down pretty nicely. Can't wait to see your result! Unfortunately I haven't had the chance to do as much bottle work, since at every single build I helped out this project was getting pushed further away, for the aforementioned reasons.

One question: how do you combine your bottle-bricks? Same (or similar) colors together, or one colored half with one clear one? Personally I prefer the latter as it allows more light to pass through, though sometimes it can be hard to find a clear half of the same size as the colored one.

Yeah, we're gonna go for the half color, half clear on the bricks. We are going to do that at least for the blue bottles we have. Still may not be enough but they are the right size so far!

I'm excited too actually, been wanting to do one for a long time, and as you know very well, projects take a long time because of all the different bumps in the road of life!!! But this one looks close... at least we started, cut and washed everything. It sjoild be dry by now and ready for tape. Jopefully next weekend we can start the first few rows!!!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Of course... unexpected things happen at each step, and it's reasonable to give priority to the structurally important parts of the building. Though te cool bottle wall typically doesn't get scrapped, only postponed, I tend to miss out on it. So I'm excited you're at this stage, and actually going through with it.

Now remains to see when are we going to continue, and eventually finish... but at least yes, it has started!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh I would love to make one, once I get to settle somewhere for good. I have helped others to make one, but I would love one of my own, they are so beautiful. Looking forward to seeing the progress. Hope all is well with you. Sending love your way xxxx

Hey, thanks for the Love!!!! I really like these walls too, and for a long time!

We got lucky and found a few cases of blue bottles, we're thinking of making a big wave in the wall with the blue! Fill it in with other colors everywhere else.

We're doing well, thank you. I hope you are too.

great project! :)

Thanks so much 😁!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

looking forward how it will end up! :)

@klausklaus has also done this :)

I'm looking forward to it too...! I may have to have a chat with @klausklaus

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @senorcoconut! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 5000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-10 - Winners List
Be ready for the 11th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022

That is so cool. It's going to look amazing in the end! Interesting that you can cut the bottles with the wet saw. I wonder if we have one as I'd love to have some bottles cut to use as glasses... I'll have to ask my husband. It is different than a tile saw? I know we have one of those.

The first time I saw something like this was long ago on TV when I saw towers made from bottles. I think these are in Watts near Los Angeles. Even then it was a way of promoting recycling. The towers still stand, which shows how solid the construction was.

Thanks for publishing the post featuring your bottle wall. I wouldn't mind making my own bottle wall (or even bottle home) if I had the right situation and circumstances.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta