How Did We End Up Here? ( My Thoughts On Life And Animal Welfare)

Today was the birthday, of a very dear friend of mine. She is such an inspiration to me, having set up an animal rescue centre in the past and she has one of the biggest hearts I know. She had to let someone else take over as she was diagnosed with cancer and needed to heal herself.

photo_2022-09-06_00-07-41.jpg

Even so, she continued to rescue animals and bring them to her home, until they were rehabilitated. She is the first person that I turn to, for advise, whenever I see an animal in need. She has been living in this area a lot longer than me, so she knows how best to approach people and communicate with them.

I know quite a few people who love animals around here, but not to the extend that we do. So we often turn to one another to share our pain and frustration about how animals are being treated.

I often see people take animals into their homes and yet have no idea how to care for them. Sometimes they expect the animals to behave like humans, and scold them if they do not. Very few seem to understand the way in which animals communicate with one another and get very upset if the animal growls or hisses at another one.

Animals have their own way of communicating with one another, of establishing how where they stand in the pack or herd. If we do not respect that and try our best to understand that, then we are mistreating them.

I remember when I lived in Australia and accompanying a friend who was visiting his brother. He had this beautiful sheepdog living with him, but he complained about how much the dog used to bark. Sheepdogs have a lot of energy and need to be exercised and also given tasks to do, otherwise they get bored and then they can bark a lot.

Instead of looking into ways, that he could work with the dog, he brought it to the vet. The vet put the poor dog on anti depressants, which made my friends brother happy. He was actually quite proud telling me this story.

I was shocked, the poor animal was being drugged. I expressed my opinion and left, I just couldn't be there anymore. I mean how could he not see, how wrong that was?

Everytime I get together with my friend (whose birthday we celebrated today), we always end up discussing this. Just how we came to be living in a time, where some people have no respect for animals and feel like they can treat them as their property.

But that's it really, isn't it, ownership.

Ownership does crazy things to people. There was a time, when land was shared amongst tribes and communities, so that everyone could support themselves and one another. But somewhere a long the line, land got divided up and suddenly people began putting up fences and cutting themselves off from the wild, from the wilderness.

P_20190701_124356.jpg

Cutting themselves off, from a very vital part of themselves. Suddenly you had animals that you "owned", "livestock" and with it, attitudes began to change. We became pitted against one another, instead of working together. Our focus more on individual success and growth.

This for me, was the beginning of our downfall. The great separation from nature, from animals, from one another and most importantly from ourselves. We literally were being told to cut ourselves off from our life line.

Not all of us, luckily. But enough ,so that we are living out of balance right now.

There are not many people I can have these conversations with and yet I feel like it is really important to talk about it, to try and understand so that we can work towards changing it. To go back to a place where we all understand, that what we do to the natural world, we are doing to ourselves.

I had a lovely day today, celebrating my friend down by the river. Swimming in the glorious water and taking in the beautiful views. As it was getting dark, most of the group started to leave, I stayed for a little bit longer and I am so glad I did, because I saw a big dog, chasing a lone goat.

Goats do not like to be by themselves and are really quite vulnerable if they are. The goat was terrified and the dog was trying to bite her. I ran after them, putting myself between the dog and goat and done the loudest growl I could. The dog ran off, but the goat was too scared to let me go near her.

I left only after I saw the dog being put on a leash. Some might think that it was foolish of me to come between them, but that was my instinct kicking in, I certainly don't regret it. I stood in my power and the dog felt it. My girls however, found it hilarious that I was growling so loud in public, but they were also pleased that I was able to help the goat.

Growling is what I do, when I wish to communicate with dogs in a certain way, I use their language so they can understand me and my intentions. But obviously my growling sounds somewhat different to theirs.

Sort:  

You'll see, we have a lab crossed sheep dog, and he is neurotic and full of energy. He barks a lot, and can be aggressive, overly protective.

He is also the most loving dog I know, and if he loves you, it's for life.

Jacky the husky, doesn't give a fuck!

Oh shit, and there's the cat too.

I can't wait to meet them xxx

That reminds me of Armando. I don't know what breed he is but he was always just looking to be loved and to love. He was...a good dog despite his craziness and over agility. He climbed walls and he was really violent sometimes but never with those he loved. I miss him, but i know he is resting in Dog heaven 🙂

Armando sounds like my kind of dog! I am giving him a high five straight to heaven 🐾

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you or all the wonderful support you give me xxxx

I totally agree with this. I have seen people or heard about people treating animals poorly - in big factory farm situations - and I am quite sure it has to do with the powerlessness they feel over how the animals are treated that they then bully the animals themselves. It's all unconscious and it comes from the idea of "ownership" - which we do not have the right to "own" another living being - although we believe that we do. In a certain way we "own" them - but in the way that we are stewards for them, if they are "our" livestock. But again, this is an unnatural state brought upon us by the system in which we live.

We farm therefore WE are farmed. I believe this goes back to human origins. I am one of those that believe that humans were created from a hybrid of a certain type of alien race and a hominid - I was just watching a Lloyd Pye video about this the other day -

-

In this video, toward the end he starts talking about the 4 types of hominids that there are in the world and how humans come from a cross between Annunaki and the hominid to create a slave race - he even goes in to detail about the Alma's from Russia which are a type of hominid that has been captured by certain Russian families and towns and how they will make a female Alma into a sex slave for the village.

Then the Alma will give birth to some human/hominid hybrids and the villagers will just raise that offspring up as humans...

This kind of behavior, albeit unbelieveable, shows humanity's authority over other creatures - but that was given to us by our "creators" the aliens who wanted to make us into a slave race, so that we would mine gold for them - this is reiterated also by Zecharia Sitchin in his books... and leads us to where we are at today - in that we believe we "own" other life - but that is because the aliens who created us - believed that as well - and imparted that onto us. They believed that they had the "right" to use gene splicing to create a slave race for themselves so they could get us to the dirty work they didn't feel like doing... and here we are. This is what we do to animals.

And this is why they think they have the right to kill us off now that there are what they believe to be - to many of us - so they try to kill us off with their jab via a skamdemic.

Anyway - I enjoyed your article. For me the best thing I can do, is to talk to Nature Spirits and the Spirits of the animals I am a steward of and ask their permission and assistance...

Thanks so much @in2itiveart, yes we havebeen famred for quite a while now.
Thank you for the video, I will certainly look at it, I have learned that so much that we have been told, is simply not true and that we should do all we can to discover it for ourselves xxxx

This is bad to even think of.

Beautiful shots!

I wish people can understand it's important to treat animals right.
Well done champ keel up the good work
And happy birthday to your friend

Ahhhhhh! So it's not just me? One time I saw this mature cock chasing after this little chick. I didn't know what it was about to do but I certainly couldn't just watch. So i chased the cock and sent it very far from the chick. I feel happy whenever i give back to the world that gave me. I'm not an animal whisperer or anything, but i find myself talking to them 🤣. I talk with the chicken in our compound and although she just stares at me, sometimes I feel she understands me?... I don't know. Sometimes I believe I'm really as crazy as they say... haha.
And I'm so sorry about your friend...❣️

I talk with animals all of the time, our energy is what they pick up on most of all. You are not crazy @deraaa, I wish more people cared as much as you do xxx

Urgh you hit a nerve! I don't have pets myself, largely because I know it's a responsibility. There are a lot of people who just tell themselves "they're doing a good thing", and bring in an animal without the proper availability (financial, too, but also physical and emotional) to care for them. I don't think you should adopt solely on the premise that anything is better for that animal. Because it's not. My friend's parents have a neighbor who goes abroad for weeks on end, and trusts my friend's mother to feed his dog. But the dog is alone. We were there recently, and the poor animal was just staring at us through the fence, scared but also curious, and obviously craving some love. It made my blood boil. Still does.

Sadly, not all people are like you and your friend. They don't see another living being, but a possession as you said. Happy birthday to your friend, and I hope she is well :)

It breaks my heart to think of animals by themselves. Dogs need companion, they need a pack around them. So many people unfortunately, get animals purely for selfish reasons. I really wish the world showed more compassion xxxx

I hear you I would do the same for the goat or any other animal. I hate to see animals suffering. So every day my heart breaks here in Cambodia as you can't help them all, even though I would love to. Animals are being mistreated and seen as objects rather than living things. When they are sick, hurt, hungry, or in any other distress they just turn a blind eye. Even when it is their own animal. This is the one thing I don't understand here. Don't get me wrong, I love this country and I love the people, but for being Buddhists you would think they would show more respect for all living things. Have a beautiful day, big virtual hug coming your way 💜

I experienced the same in Thailand to be honest, and i couldn't understand it either, it makes no sense to me. Thank you @amy-goodrich xxxx

Some people should just not be allowed to own animals. Just like many should never have children.

I agree completely @buckaroobaby xxxx

Thank you friend for everything you do for the animals. It's a shame we're becoming so numb to the world around us.