You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HIVE: No Votes, No Attention - Thinking of Giving up?

in Writing Club2 years ago

Speaking for myself, I can only write about things that interest me. Certainly I hope there is a cross section of hive users who share some of the same interests and it gets me some upvotes. It's been hit or miss but that's fine.

Also, one of the things that you have to learn and accept is that it isn't entirely about effort. Certainly the importance of quality posts can't be overstated but it isn't always (or even usually) the posts you put the most work into that get the biggest upvotes. Just like the free market, it's more about what people want than how much work you do.

The other key of course is to build up your followers. You probably aren't going to have very many people upvoting your posts if you don't have very many followers. This means you have to interact...not just broadcast. Read other people's posts and join in the conversation.

Sort:  

I remember a time thinking, 'this is the killer post' and being very disappointed with it's reward gains. Then at other times, I could do what I call a semi shit-post and it did remarkably well.

In the past, I always saw HIVE (and STEEM) as different phases, and a HF marked a change. Especially when things such as the 75/25 changed to 50/50 and the community decided bid-bots where going to die. There have been many and it fascinates me.

Not wrong; walking encyclopedia indeed!
The other value, which doesn't have a vote or hive dollar figure on it, is getting better at writing. There's something in that too ;)

Yes, it's an incredible tool to improve your writing skills and literacy. Before I joined or knew about STEEM, I had around 1500 words of 'The Horrors of Kwiksave' written. I didn't know what to do with the partial story..., then I found the answer.

I would say my literacy skills were pretty good; but avoided creative writing at all costs!! Now I embrace two creative prompts in different communities each week. It's funny how just taking that one risk can change perspective. I had to google 'Kwiksave'; glad you also had the outlet to finish the piece.

I had to google 'Kwiksave'; glad you also had the outlet to finish the piece.

Well.. I have and haven't. I originally wrote it during 2018 and then decided to re-write it, and the newer version, is still unfinished. TBH, I need a kick up the arse and to get on with it!

You totally hit the nail on the head here I think. You can include me in the group when you say "speaking for myself".