When you love someone [Eng-Esp]

in Writing Club2 years ago (edited)
True love is the one that lasts in spite of time,

that marks our heart with fire,
that makes us tremble, that makes our feet tremble
that takes our breath away,
that makes us be ourselves

El amor verdadero es aquel que perdura a pesar del tiempo,
que marca a fuego a nuestro corazón,
que nos hace vibrar, nos hace temblar los pies
que nos quitan el aire,
que nos hace ser nosotros mismos

image.png

Road Is Calling - Pixabay

image.png

I was sitting at the bar of a bar drinking a drink while listening to the music played by an old jukebox, with my eyes lost, absent, as if trying to understand the reasons that had brought me there.

It was an unpleasant winter night, where the cold and the rain were the main protagonists. I still could not explain what had taken me that night to the bar, when it is not usual for me to go out for a drink.

Gone were those years where the adrenaline and hormones of youth led me to go from bar to bar in search of some new love.

Suddenly, the old jukebox started to play a very special song that immediately reminded me of a great love from my adolescence. At that precise moment nostalgia and melancholy invaded my whole being.

Suddenly my thoughts took me back to the past.

Carolina had been a great love many, many years ago. It was one of those loves that left a great mark on me, in such a way that it had become a real obstacle when entering into new relationships.

Every time I met a new girl, involuntarily and almost automatically the comparisons began and with them the disappointments that ended up sabotaging each of the relationships.

Along the way I had unintentionally hurt many women with whom I had not fallen in love.

Estaba sentado en la barra de un bar bebiendo una copa al tiempo que escuchaba la música que reproducía una vieja rockola, con la mirada perdida, ausente, como intentando entender los motivos que me había llevado hasta allí.

Era una desapacible noche de invierno, donde el frío y la lluvia eran los grandes protagonistas. Aún no me podía explicar lo que me había llevado aquella noche al bar, cuando no es habitual en mi salir de copas.

Atrás habían quedado aquellos años donde la adrenalina y las hormonas de la juventud me llevaban a ir de bar en bar en busca de algún nuevo amor.

De repente en la vieja rockola comenzó a sonar una canción muy especial que inmediatamente me hizo recordar a un gran amor de mi adolescencia. En ese preciso momento la nostalgia y la melancolía invadió todo mi ser.

De repente mis pensamientos me llevaron al pasado.

Carolina había sido un gran amor hacía ya muchos, muchos años. Fue de esos amores que dejaron una gran huella en mí, de tal manera que se había transformado en un verdadero obstáculo al entablar nuevas relaciones.

Cada vez que conocía una nueva chica involuntariamente y de manera casi automática comenzaban las comparaciones y con ellas las desilusiones que terminaban por sabotear cada una de las relaciones.

Sin querer en el camino había lastimado a muchas mujeres de las cuales no me había enamorado.

image.png

Zara Westwood - Pixabay

image.png

Suddenly that old song ended and the old jukebox started to play a violent rock that helped to distract my thoughts.

I ordered another beer and again Carolina came to my mind and the memories began to flow. Many times I asked myself why this love if we had not even consummated a sexual relationship. Love is so magical, so crazy and incomprehensible.

While my mind was searching for logical answers, an old friend who had been with me for a long time approached me and it was a great excuse for my thoughts to leave the place where they were. It had been several years since we had seen each other and Santiago.

We quickly began to catch up on our lives; we had a lot to talk about. We were so happy to see him that we ordered a pizza for dinner so we could talk more relaxed.

We talked about our jobs, old friends, travels, adventures, loves and heartbreaks, and reminisced about old times.

Santi, as I called him, told me that he had married very young and went to live in France because of a great job opportunity that had come his way. He told me that he had made a lot of money, but his obsession with work had caused him to lose his marriage.

When it was my turn to speak my story was much less interesting if you will. While I had done quite well on the work front, I had no trips to paradisiacal places like the ones Santi had known, nor had I started a family.

I told him that I had had several relationships to my credit, but none important. All short relationships, which passed almost unnoticed by my life. Of course this aroused Santiago's curiosity who asked me the reason and almost instantly answered me how well you did, almost disappointed by his failed story.

He thought I was a person reluctant to assume commitments, so I told him the story of Carolina, of the years I had been in love with her and that's why I had not given myself another chance.

He was astonished when Santi wrongly insinuated that we had very good sex, and I replied that we had never been together.

De repente esa vieja canción finalizó y comenzó a sonar en la vieja rockola un violento rock que ayudo a distraer mis pensamientos.

Me pedí otra cerveza y nuevamente vino Carolina a mi mente y los recuerdos comenzaron a fluir. Muchas veces me pregunté el porque de ese amor si ni siquiera habíamos consumado una relación sexual. El amor es así tan mágico, como loco e incomprensible.

Mientra mi mente buscaba respuestas lógicas se acerca a mí un viejo amigo que hacía un largo tiempo y fue una gran excusa para que mis pensamientos salieran del lugar donde estaban. Hacía ya varios años que no nos veíamos con Santiago.

Rápidamente comenzamos a ponernos al día sobre nuestras vidas; teníamos mucho de que hablar. Fue tanta la alegría de verlo que nos pedimos una pizza para cenar y así poder charlar más distendidos.

Hablamos de nuestros trabajos, de viejos amigos, de viajes, de aventuras, de amores y desamores, y recordamos viejos tiempos.

Santi, como yo lo llamaba, me contó que se había casado muy joven y se fue a vivir a Francia en una gran oportunidad laboral que se le había presentado. Me contó que había hecho mucho dinero, pero su obsesión hacia el trabajo le había hecho perder su matrimonio.

Cuando llegó mi turno de hablar mi relato fue mucho menos interesante si se quiere. Si bien en el plano laboral me había ido bastante bien, no tenía en mi haber viajes a lugares paradisíacos como los que Santi había conocido, ni tampoco había formado una familia.

Le conté que había tenido varias relaciones en mi haber, pero ninguna importante. Todas relaciones cortas, que pasaron casi desapercibidas por mi vida. Claro que esto despertó la curiosidad de Santiago quién me preguntó la razón y casi al instante me respondió lo bien que hiciste, casi desilusionado por su historia fallida.

El pensó que yo era una persona reticente a asumir compromisos, por lo que le conté la historia de Carolina, de los años que había estado enamorado de ella y que por ello no me había dado otra oportunidad.

Su asombro fue mayúsculo cuando Santi erróneamente insinuó que teníamos muy buen sexo, y le respondí que nunca habíamos estado juntos.

image.png

iStock by Getty Images - Pixabay

image.png

He didn't understand that love is much more than good sex, he didn't understand that many times there are people who steal our heart for strange reasons and we can never get them out again. That had happened to me with Carolina.

Quickly and skillfully he answered me, you did well not to complicate your life.

Soon after he said goodbye since he was visiting the country and the next day he would have lunch with his parents.

I decided to stay and drink the last beer and listen to that old song that brought Carolina back into my life.

The song started to play, I took the first sip of beer and closed my eyes as if I wanted to transport myself to those sensations, to those smells, to the perfection of her face. My heartbeat accelerated and even with my eyes closed a smile was reflected on my face. Those five minutes that the song lasted were magical, but there they ended. It was late so I finished my beer and decided to leave the bar.

When I opened the door to leave the bar a group of women were trying to enter and as a good gentleman I gave up my place so they could enter.

The women were entering the bar one by one and when I was getting ready to leave, the last woman to enter said Felipe, as if trying to guess who it was. That voice sounded familiar, and when I looked into her eyes I recognized her quickly. She was Carolina, the one who had been in my mind until five minutes before.

My legs began to tremble, my voice was no longer steady, my heart began to pound and my eyes could not escape her eyes.

El no entendía que el amor es mucho más que buen sexo, no entendía que muchas veces hay personas que roban nuestro corazón por extraña razón y nunca más podemos sacarla. Eso me había sucedido con Carolina.

Rápida y hábilmente el me respondió, hiciste bien en no complicarte la vida.

A poco tiempo el se despidió ya que estaba de visita en el país y al otro día almorzaría con sus padres.

Yo decidí quedarme a tomar la última cerveza y a escuchar aquella vieja canción que que trajo nuevamente a Carolina a mi vida.

Comenzó a sonar la canción, tome el primer trago de cerveza y cerré mis ojos como queriendo transportarme a esas sensaciones, a esos olores, a la perfección de su rostro. Los latidos de mi corazón se aceleraron y aún con los ojos cerrados una sonrisa se reflejó en mi cara. Esos cinco minutos que duró la canción fueron mágicos, pero allí terminaron. Era tarde por lo que terminé mi cerveza y decidí retirarme del bar.

Al abrir la puerta para salir del bar un grupo de mujeres intentaba entrar y como buen caballero cedí mi lugar para que ellas pudiesen ingresar.

Las mujeres fueron ingresando al bar un a una y cuando ya me preparaba para salir la última mujer en ingresar dice Felipe, como tratando de adivinar quien era. Esa vos me resultaba conocida, y al mirarla a los ojos la reconocí rápidamente. Ella era Carolina, esa que había estado en mi mente hasta hace cinco minutos antes.

Mis piernas comenzaron a temblar, mi vos dejaba de ser firme, mi corazón comenzó a latir muy fuerte y mis ojos no se escapaban de los ojos de ella.

image.png

Danny Martindale - Pixabay

image.png

We started chatting as if we were alone in the bar. She forgot about her friends and I didn't feel like going back home.

After talking for a few minutes I noticed that her eyes were looking at me the same way mine were looking at her and I knew that was love.

As I was saying goodbye I took her hands firmly and kissed them. Almost as a reflex she let go of her hands and gave me a strong hug, the kind that hints at something more. We exchanged phone numbers so as not to lose contact and after an interminable goodbye.

I walked the five blocks that separated the bar from my house, without feeling cold, nor noticing the faint rain that wet my face. That night I couldn't sleep and I just wanted to send her a message, but I restrained myself.

The next day when I woke up I had two messages on my cell phone; it was Carolina, where she told me:

  • "How nice it was to see you again!!!"
  • "Shall we have coffee later in the week?"

My heartbeat sped up quickly and without getting out of bed I answered her:

  • "I would love to!!!"

Since that week Carolina and I became inseparable and we decided to give free rein to our love story, the one we had put off for a long time.

The same thing had happened to both of us, inexperience, fear and shame had separated our paths, that one cold and rainy winter night brought us together again, never to separate us again.

Comenzamos a charlar como si en el bar estuviésemos solos. Ella se olvidó de sus amigas y a mí se me fueron las ganas de volver a mi casa.

Después de conversar unos minutos pude notar que sus ojos me miraban de la misma manera que los míos la muraban a ella y yo sabía que eso era amor.

Ya cuando me estaba despidiendo tome sus manos con firmeza y las bese. Casi como un acto reflejo ella soltó sus manos y me dio un fuerte abrazo, de esos que dejan entrever algo más. intercambiamos nuestros teléfonos para no perder el contacto y después de una despedida interminable.

Caminé las cinco cuadras que separaban el bar de mi casa, sin sentir frío, ni percatarme de la tenue lluvia que mojaba mi rostro. Esa noche no pude dormir y solo quería enviarle un mensaje, pero me contuve.

Al otro día cuando me desperté tenía dos mensajes en mi celular; era Carolina, donde me decía:

  • "Que lindo fue volver a verte!!"
  • "¿¿Tomamos un café en la semana??"

Los latidos de mi corazón se aceleraron rápidamente y sin salir de la cama le respondí:

  • "Me encantaría!!"

Desde esa semana Carolina y yo nos convertimos inseparables y decidimos darle rienda suelta nuestra historia de amor, esa que habíamos postergado por mucho tiempo.

A los dos nos había pasado lo mismo, la inexperiencia, el miedo y la vergüenza había separado nuestros caminos, aquel que una noche fría y lluviosa de invierno volvió a unir, para nunca más separarnos.

image.png

Separate text - Wattpad Pixabay

vibes.gif

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@pablo1601) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

El verdadero amor sabe esperar. El destino los unió de nuevo y espero que sea para siempre.
Me gustó la historia.

True love knows how to wait. Fate brought them together again and I hope it will be forever.
I liked the story.

Muchas gracias por tus palabras y por tu visita.

Gran abrazo