The Small World of Selective [ENG/SPA]

in Writing Club2 years ago


src

El Pequeño Mundo de los Selectivos



A few days ago I made a couple of friends in an online video game, I connected in an incredible way with one of them and we talked about many personal things in a very short time, this can become something very common but not in my case. I have always been a very reserved person in all senses that's why I don't go around revealing my things to others, I have only come to trust a few people and until time proves otherwise in this new friend I can say that I have found a person that I feel strongly that I can trust and everything was possible because contrary to what I thought I gave my contact information, and to my surprise everything went better than expected . The truth is that it puzzled me a lot when I heard others say that they had just met someone and had already told them more than half their life, but for some reason they had revealed things to that person that they would not tell just anyone, not even someone they trust, for me that I am so selective with EVERYTHING this was more than absurd, but this new person hit the right key for me to talk about my life as if it were a trivial topic, it still seems somewhat incredible and fascinating to me that even someone like me who is so cautious with what he says and even more careful with the people I relate to could be able to experience this comfort with someone I barely know.

Hace unos días hice un par de amigos en un video juego online, conecté de una manera increíble con uno de ellos y hablamos de muchas cosas personales en muy poco tiempo, esto puede llegar a ser algo muy común pero no en mi caso. Siempre he sido una persona muy reservada en todos los sentidos por eso mismo no voy por allí revelándole mis cosas a los demás, solo he llegado a confiar en pocas personas y hasta que el tiempo demuestre lo contrario en este nuevo amigo puedo decir que he encontrado a una persona en la que siento firmemente que puedo confiar y todo fue posible porque en contra de lo que pensaba di mi información de contacto, y para mí sorpresa todo salió mejor de lo esperado . La verdad es que me desconcertaba muchísimo cuando escuchaba a los demás decir que recién conocían a alguien y ya le habían contado más de media vida, pero por alguna razón le habían revelado a esa persona cosas que no les contarían a cualquiera ni siquiera a alguien de confianza, para mí que soy tan selectivo con TODO esto era más que absurdo, pero esta nueva persona tocó la tecla adecuada para que yo hablara de mi vida como si fuera un tema trivial, sigue pareciendo algo increíble y fascinante para mí que incluso alguien como yo que es tan precavido con lo que dice y más cuidadoso aún con las personas que me relaciono pudiera ser capaz de experimentar esta comodidad con alguien que a penas conozco.

Introverts have a characteristic that stands out, it is one that identifies us in a certain way and it is nothing more than being embarrassing by default, this makes it even more difficult for us to relate to the people around us, so imagine that in addition to being very embarrassing, introverted and incredibly selective, someone suddenly comes along and knocks down all those high walls that sometimes seem unreachable. Maybe for most my words mean nothing because they are neither picky nor introverted but I am sure that if it happened to someone like me then it can happen to anyone, and honestly now I can understand that it is a common thing, that the odds of something like this happening are not as slim as I always thought, the truth is that although I admit I am still very impressed with this I would love for everyone to experience it, it is something that is hard to put into words, it is something that goes beyond logic and just happens. I think an appropriate way to qualify this type of event might be the closest thing to magic I have ever witnessed, it was something magical not involving any romantic feelings just a level of compatibility and understanding that surpasses anything I knew.

Los introvertidos tenemos una característica que sobresale, es una que nos identifica de cierta manera y no es más que ser penosos por defecto, esto nos dificulta aun más relacionarnos con las personas de nuestro entorno, entonces imaginen que además de ser muy penosos, introvertidos e increíblemente selectivos llegue alguien de pronto y derribe todas esas murallas tan altas que a veces parecen inalcanzables. Puede que para la mayoría mis palabras no signifiquen nada porque no son ni selectivos ni introvertidos pero estoy seguro que si a alguien como a mí le sucedió entonces le puede pasar a cualquiera, y honestamente ahora puedo entender que sea algo común, que las probabilidades de que suceda algo así no son tan escasas como yo siempre pensé, la verdad es que aunque admito que sigo muy impresionado con esto me encantaría que todos lo experimentaran, es algo que es difícil de poner en palabras, es algo que va más allá de la lógica y simplemente sucede. Creo que una forma apropiada de calificar este tipo de acontecimientos podría ser lo más parecido a la magia que he presenciado, fue algo mágico sin involucrar ningún sentimiento romántico solo un nivel de compatibilidad y comprensión que superan todo lo que yo conocía.


src

We selective people are seen by others as closed minded, shutting the doors to endless opportunities to connect or experience things that we decided were not what we were looking for or just don't meet the standards we have. We may seem like people who are very stuck up, that we are above others and very hard to please, but the reality is different. Our lives are based mainly on the search for that which will make us feel good, it is a task that never ends, I would not like to say that it is a job but if it were the case is that there are no free hours or recreational moments, it is something that never ends and can become very exhausting. For this reason, besides being exhausting, we have to add the daily obstacles and as if it were not enough, we have to learn to understand that not everyone is like us, so it is normal to feel misunderstood every day and just as others have to deal with our way of being, we also have to face the consequences of being who we are, as unfair as it may seem.

Nosotros los selectivos somos vistos por los demás como personas cerradas, que le cierran las puertas a un sinfín de oportunidades de conectar o experimentar cosas que nosotros decidimos que no eran lo que estábamos buscando o que simplemente no cumplen con los estándares que tenemos. Podemos parecer personas muy engreídas, que estamos por encima de los demás y muy difíciles de complacer, pero la realidad es otra. Nuestras vidas están basadas principalmente en la búsqueda de eso que nos hara sentir bien, es una tarea que jamás termina, no me gustaría decir que es un trabajo pero si fuera el caso es que no hay horas libres ni momentos recreativos, es algo que no acaba y puede llegar a ser muy desgastante. Por esto mismo dicho trabajo además de ser agotador hay que sumarle los obstáculos del día a día y como si ya no fuera suficiente tenemos que aprender a entender que no todos son como nosotros, así que es normal sentirnos incomprendidos a diario y así como los demás tienen que lidiar con nuestro modo de ser, también nos toca enfrentar las consecuencias de ser quienes somos por más injusto que parezca.

src

Personally I must say that I do not like to reject others, it is not fun to say "no" so many times a day or the most common thing to be excluded from any plan and not even ask if I want to be part of it because they already assume that my answer will be a resounding "NO!" can become very difficult, but if I look at it from their perspective it's perfectly understandable that that happens, because just as it's not easy to be this way it must not be easy to have to relate to someone like me in that sense and I've learned not to take that aspect of my life to heart, sometimes if I allow myself to get out of my safe zone and do things by choice, not because I want to go with the flow or because of group pressure, the truth is that it's not bad to do it from time to time, because I'm not going to lie to you most of the time it hasn't been very pleasant but other times it has, and I think those few chances are worth it because for me luckily, being someone very positive helps me to see the good side of everything, I usually don't have a good time when I do something I wouldn't normally do, but there have been times where it's not as bad as I thought it would be and I've even enjoyed it.

En lo personal debo decir que no me complace rechazar a los demás, no es divertido decir tantas veces a diario que "no" o lo más común que me excluyan de cualquier plan y ni siquiera pregunten si quiero formar parte de eso porque ya asumen que mi respuesta será un rotundo ¡NO! puede llegar a ser muy díficil, pero si lo veo desde su perspectiva es perfectamente comprensible que eso suceda, porque así como no es fácil ser de esta manera no debe ser fácil tener que relacionarse con alguien como yo en ese sentido y he aprendido a no tomarme ese aspecto de mi vida a pecho, a veces si me permito salir de mi zona segura y hago cosas por elección propia, no por querer seguir la corriente o por presión grupal, la verdad es que no está mal hacerlo de vez en cuando, porque no les voy a mentir la mayoría de las veces no ha sido muy placentero pero otras sí, y creo que esas pocas probabilidades lo valen porque para mí suerte, el ser alguien muy positivo me ayuda a ver el lado bueno de todo, por lo general no me la pasó bien cuando hago algo que no haría normalmente, pero si han habido ocasiones donde no es tan mal como pensé que sería y hasta lo he disfrutado.

src

Selectivity is something that is present every day, we all have something of selective because we constantly have to make decisions every day of our lives, so although it is true that no one escapes that fact it is also true that it is not the same, therefore as I have already mentioned it is common to be excluded or to be branded as "exquisite," by the way I express it seems offensive or very problematic and the most normal thing would be to try to change that, but asking someone to stop being so selective is like asking a person to change something of their own, like the way they touch their hair, the way they look at others, how they look at others or the gesture they make when they are angry, it is simply something that is part of our identity and yes changes can be made, but it is something that we have to want and that we have to do at our own pace, it is something similar to a drug addict or a gambling addict, they can change only if they want to and "change" may not be the appropriate word, trying to improve would be more accurate, looking for a balance if you will, because it is something that goes beyond, it is not like taking off something that does not fit you and putting on something else, it is not something that works that way.

La selectividad es algo que se presenta a diario, todos tenemos algo de selectivos porque constantemente tenemos que tomar decisiones cada día de nuestra vida, así que aunque es cierto que nadie escapa de ese hecho también lo es que no se trata de lo mismo, por lo tanto como ya he mencionado es común ser excluidos o ser tildados de "exquisitos", por la manera en la que lo expreso parece ofensivo o muy problemático y lo más normal sería intentar cambiar eso, pero pedirle a alguien que deje de ser tan selectivo es como pedirle a una persona que cambie algo propio de ellos, como la manera en que se toca el cabello, como mira a los demás o el gesto que hace cuando está enojado, es simplemente algo que forma parte de nuestra identidad y si se pueden hacer cambios, pero es algo que nosotros tenemos que querer y que debemos hacer a nuestro propio ritmo, es algo similar a un adicto a las drogas o a las apuestas, ellos pueden cambiar solo si lo desean y "cambiar" puede que no sea la palabra apropiada intentar mejorar sería más acertado, buscar un balance si se quiere, porque es algo que va más allá, no es como quitarse algo que no te queda bien y colocarte otra cosa, no es algo que funcione de esa manera.

Probably in your group of friends, acquaintances or family there is someone who is very selective like me, my recommendation to you is that whenever you can, just as you expect that person to get out of their comfort zone so do you, make plans to do something that person likes and let them know that you are doing it for their comfort, you have no idea how significant that will be for a selective person, that gesture will make the selective person much more willing to share and do the same for you because no matter how selective we are, many times (or most of the times) we are forced to do things because there is no other option, so if a group of friends, acquaintances or family members plan an activity thinking about the selective person and that person knows that you are doing it for him/her, be sure that speaking from experience that will generate a positive change in that person, at least regarding all the people involved. For my part as a selective I always try to give more opportunities to people and activities to which I would not normally give them, and although it may not be something good as I hope life has shown me over time that there are also very pleasant surprises as a reward for having risked.

Probablemente en tu grupo de amigos, conocidos o familia hay alguien que es muy selectivo como yo, mi recomendación para ustedes es que siempre que se pueda, así como esperan que dicha persona salga de su zona de confort también lo hagan ustedes, hagan planes para hacer algo que a esa persona le guste y háganle saber que lo están haciendo por su comodidad, no tienen idea de cuán significativo será eso para una persona selectiva, ese gesto hará que el selectivo este mucho más dispuesto o dispuesta a compartir y hacer lo mismo por ustedes porque por más selectivos que somos, muchas veces (o la mayoría de las veces) nos vemos obligados a hacer las cosas porque no hay otra opción, así que si un grupo de amigos, conocidos o familiares planean una actividad pensando en el selectivo y dicha persona sabe que lo hacen por él/ella tengan por seguro que hablando por experiencia eso generará un cambio positivo en esa persona, por lo menos en lo que respecta a todas las personas involucradas. Por mi parte como selectivo que soy siempre intento dar más oportunidades a las personas y a las actividades a las que comúnmente no se las daría, y aunque puede que no sea algo bueno como espero la vida me ha demostrado con el tiempo que también hay sorpresas muy agradables como recompensa por habernos arriesgado.



src