Living walls - workshop

in indoorGarden3 years ago



I really thought that with this covid thing going around it would give me more time to concentrate on my posting on Hive but unfortunately between family life and trying to survive financially it has meant that I have very limited time to pursue my own interests or post as often as I would like. I envy those that are able to post each day and sometimes even several times a day. Where the hell do these guys find the time? Has Hive become their full-time job? The evening is my hour or so of me time but even then I am knackered and so I don't have the mojo to write a coherent post about my normal work. But, tonight, come hell or high water I want to post something. So let me let you into a bit of what has been keeping me busy. This is an unrelated subject from my usual sculpture posts but I hope someone may find this interesting.

I just finished this pretty big project of living walls for several offices in the one industrial estate in Dublin. I figured I would put together a little post to show the process as it may be good information for the plant lovers of Hive. And since I am waiting for @d-lux.io to come back online to post another sculpture project I thought this would be a good filler.



As the title says, this is a loving wall, a process of growing plants vertically. The system used is the NextGen living wall which I Built into a frame and then hung on the wall. It was a simple enough job but took ages. Each one had it's own set of challenges. Every wall was different and trying to secure these heavy structures took brawn as well as brains.



How the system works is quite simple. There is a back panel which you attach to the wall and then from this, you hang a collection of trays where the plants sit. The trays also allow for easy watering. They are like champagne glasses stacked on top of each other, you water from the top and once the bottom tray is filled you stop watering.

Hopefully, you can make out how the potted plants sit and you can also make out the interconnecting tubes and overflow drains, When adding the plants you are free to compose whatever pattern you want like it is some sort of matrix display and that part exercised some of my artistic side.



We had fun with this with all the different plants in our arsenal. We had to hang eight of these and make eight different displays I also made 12 moss painting which I posted about last week.



In each pot, we put a little wick like a drinking straw. This makes sure the water all goes where it is needed.



I must say it was fun although the job dragged on longer than I would have liked now I am already on my next mission which needs to be installed by the end of the week.



I like how they worked out and that now it is nature's time to take over and improve on the compositions. It is a nice way to bring life to a cold, flat wall.

Sort:  

Hi @ammonite , I also envy you, every post you have on the hive, it is very neat. and all make everyone's interest to read, keep it.
Look at me, I post every day, but not to attract readers, maybe you can judge it too. I can't write as long as you can, it could take a week for me, and I also have to divide my time between 24 hours. 12 hours I work from morning to evening, I only have 4 to 5 hours to get back to rest, for tomorrow. For one post I always steal in between indefinite times, and what happens all is a short post.

image.png

someday I will imitate it. cool imagination.

Thank you very much @dedigobelz. I try putting a lot of effort into my posts and that is why it takes me so long. I hope that in the future my blog will be like an encyclopedia of my work and so I don't want to post too much just for the sake of posting. Instead, that each one is a part of a bigger collection.

Growth on Hive can painfully slow at times, especially when you see others racing ahead but I have found interacting with others and trying to be as consistent as my time will allow will pay off in the end. There was a long time when I was only getting a few votes per post but I still continued because in the end I am really making my blog for myself and enjoying the process.

I Don't think that the curation is working that well at the moment there is too much reliance on Autovotes to try and gain curation rewards from the more established authors. Hopefully, that will change after the next hard fork.

Your blog is always interesting to me. I love how you show how you work and live. Also, your photography improves with each day. (and my son loves the creatures you post) Maybe you should try posting to different communities, build-it is a good one for your work posts. Also look into the other tokens on Hive like Leo, Stem and planet. I think they give great opportunities for growth.

Keep it up, you will get there.

!ENGAGE20

I've heard that the auto vote will be abolished, it must be very difficult for me and cause my resources to not function properly. Because I can only read 1 to 2 posts every day, sometimes I can't even do it. But I also like checking out some interesting people like you. I am only a daily freelancer, fatigue makes it difficult for me to think about content and writing.

I also went over some tokens, but only for trading. I will definitely go on palnet.

I also always show how you accumulate sand and ice. Not only my sons, even my professional friends, they are amazed by the way you do it so carefully.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Your post has been featured in the Lotus Garden newsleter, which will be published tomorrow.


You've been curated by @minismallholding for Natural Medicine's homesteading newsletter, supporting gardeners, permaculturalists, foragers, environmentalists and other earth centred relationships with the earth.
CommunityIIDiscord

Thank you very much, I will hopefully have more content for this community soon.

What a great decorating idea with the living wall. I don’t remember ever seeing one before. it would be good for someone like me with 2 cats as it would keep the plants out of reach from the cats...I hope they couldn’t reach them. :)
Tip

Hi, sorry for the delay. I never thought about the pet-friendly aspect. It is actually a very simple thing to DIY, maybe you could give it a try on a smaller scale to see if it works. Thank you very much for the tip.
!ENGAGE20

Most welcome @ammonite. Thanks for the engage tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Pretty amazing idea that you have made for your empty wall space. Love ❤️ for your plants 🪴

Thank you kindly. Nature does most of the work.
!ENGAGE20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yes yes to more land art with nature !!

WOW SO BEAUTIFUL!!!🌱