SPLINTERLANDS – Share your Battle Challenge – Scavenger

in Splinterlands3 years ago (edited)

Another week, another few more exciting battles on #splinterlands

My first challenge post was a humble yet satisfactory start for me, so here I am, only too eager to start another challenge.

This Week's Spotlight:

Card_ability_scavenger.png

We don't focus on a specific card this time, but rather an ability: Scavenger. This ability allows splinters to gain health whenever another monster, friendly or otherwise, dies. Now with this ability, I only have two splinters two work with. Both of them are used in very specific situations, so they don't participate in my battles a lot, but when they do, it is usually a win.

GELATINOUS CUBE

Gelatinous Cube.png

ANT MINERS

Ant Miners.png

Gelatinous Cube is great for battles with Noxious Fumes rule where you can watch your opponents die while your Cube gaining health. Of course this strategy works best in low mana battles as your enemies tend to die faster. Using this card in battles with Earthquake is, however, a great risk since your opponent can just put flying splinters there.

I usually deploy Ant Miners for battles with low mana cap and also when monsters have the Sneak or Opportunity ability. That way, this card can do damage in the backline and in the end game, can accumulate quite and amount of health which gives him a huge advantage over his weary opponents.

I intended to enter this challenge with a battle with Ant Miners, but later I had another one with Gelatinous Cube, so I guess I'll show both here.

You can watch my first game here. Luckily for me, this battle had a cap of only 19 mana, and it required even-mana cards, so I was able to employ the miners. Anyway, I had Cerberus as a tank here, adding an extra layer of protection with Furious Chicken which turned out to be a good idea because my opponent had plash damage. Pyromancer and Spark Pixies were the damage dealers, and Ant Miners at the back waiting for his turn.

image.png

Thanks to my summoner's ability, I was able to go first, killing the opposing Cerberus and Ant Miners. However, my Cerberus got killed right after that, along with the chick and Spark Pixies, exposing and rendering useless Pyromancer. At that point, my Ant Miner had accumulated enough health to withstand enemies' range attacks. He lived long enough to kill Goblin Fireballer, and the battle ended up with the opposing Pyromancer being a sitting duck for the ants to kill.

And here is the second game.

6.png

This battle was fought with Noxious Fumes. Besides Gelatinous Cube, other splinters were fodders; the unicorn was there for extra health; two magic attackers were to wear down the enemy tank faster and also in case the tank had regenerating ability. I also tried to deploy as many splinters as possible for maximum health gain, and Lorna Shine's ability allow my side to take one hit without being damaged.

The battle transpired as I expected, although Zalran Efreet was a bit of a problem. Fortunately, he got killed before he could gain any health.

So that's all for this week. Any inputs or advice is highly appreciated. Thank you for reading and see you in next challenges.

Sort:  

Congratulations @anhnghn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for sharing! - @mango-juice

Cube and Screeching vulture is my fav among all the scavanger monsters out there. good writing. Keep playing SL and post awesome contents.

Thank you. I didn't know screeching vulture has scavenger. Maybe my vulture's level is too low.