Having a 10 Games LOSE Streak in Splinterlands (Should you be Concerned)

in Splinterlands3 years ago (edited)

I must start by saying Splinterlands is NOT an Easy game. It really does bring me back to the same realization that (I'm still Newb). But Along those lines, I really want to ask 'Are there people who never have Lose Streaks, and what are the requirements for that?' (Please teach me how to fish, if you're one xD). Splinterlands is Fun but it isn't easy, as long as you accept that it would be a long drill to the top (By this I mean your season quota, I aim for the Bronze 2 league). This week got me decided on the fact that tournaments are a better way to Win Dec or Cash (In preparation for the Chaos of Legion Cards set I mean).

I was having a discussion with this guy @raulfeld on Reddit a couple of days ago.

 " " \" \" \\" \\"reddit-20-win-streak_LI.jpg\\"\\"\"\"""

This really got me thinking, 20 Win streaks? That's a lot, I've seen people complain about the losing streaks they've had, and how it's all part of the learning process (Afterall practice makes perfect), but boy, can it be frustrating!. In this post, I would share my opinions of this experience and how I was able to offset it (just).


losing-splinter.png

How can you find urself in a 10 Games lose streak?

A very Good question Indeed, I mean there has to be a reason you keep losing Games right? Finding that reason is the culprit or solution (i don't know). Anyway, there can be a lot of misguiding thoughts in your head - (Why, Why, why me?), Since I have gone through this myself, I can relate to it perfectly.

I was thinking in my head;

- Maybe I'm just bad at this game,

- It turns out there are better strategic players than I,

- Oh I just started playing (that could be it ),

- Aha (My card deck is really just undervalued).

Yeah, it was pretty bad, yet all these were just me making excuses that prevented me from seeing what the main issue was. May I mention that I haven't had a 10 Games Lose Streak, but I've had about 5 and I didn't feel pretty about it. Splinterlands matter so much to me that it can actually affect my mood.

When I'm on a Lucky run of Win Streaks run VS When I haven't still opened my daily chest loot

 " " \" \" \\"grizman, springy_resize.gif\\"\"\""" VS  " " \" \" \\" \\"bangur_head2.gif\\"\\"\"\"""

I did read this post though and I thought (yeah, this is valid thinking, go ahead Chel). Shout out to @dynamicrypto. You're too fly xD!

 "strikethrough.jpg"

What causes 10 Battles Lose streak

I accept it, I have some losing streaks. I mean what's not to accept, it's in full view on my profile (no running away from that).

Can you guess what caused this unprecedented failure pig-run? (5 in total). If you're a 20 win streak kind of guy, this is where you start planning tips and tricks to throw my way - Me who is still wrapping my head around the different tunnels one can head into in splinterlands (Below in comments), and if you're not well, it's common logic to start thinking out, the reasons for your dilemma. There MUST be one, somewhere, something, that can be easily offset once discovered. Anyway, my reason was that I kept too much focus on Daily Quests. That right there, let me explain. When I just started playing splinterlands, the idea of winning, was obviously to level up in leagues as fast as humanely possible. This happened for the first week, afterward, as I got into discord communities and understood the cogs and drills of this magnificent game, I came to realize and accept that - Leveling up wouldn't be my goal anymore, I would instead focus on Daily quest. Why? It's simple logic. No matter how I level up until I can attain the 15000 card collection power, I wouldn't reach silver 111 leagues (which was my goal).

I was expecting approximately 12 chests for my efforts every end of the season by being in Silver three. Since it would take me a while to get that collection power, I decided that I could obtain more loot chests just by completing every single daily quest 14 in total. This paid off with exactly (even more) loot chests than I had hoped for. That became my new goal, and I mean, I do see a lot of people say "they must complete their daily quests every day, and they do" - So it didn't seem too difficult in my mind's eye.

Most of the daily quests I get are like - Win Five Battle with Earth Splinter, Win Five Battles with the Life Splinter, Win with Snipe Monsters Five times and so on. This caused me to focus too much on what to use and not if it was suited for any particular battle. I even went as far as convincing myself that it was suited when in reality it wasn't. It isn't a lie that some elements in splinterlands are more likely to defeat others when used in battle. I ended up losing too many battles in a row like never before, this was me using an Elemental Splinter repeatedly (Say Earth), without really seeing how Earth was a complete mess against the Elemental my opponent is most likely to use (Say Death).
 "strikethrough.jpg"

What I can do to mitigate LOSE Streaks in the future

At the end of the day, I've come to realize that having unrealistic expectations are never the way to go especially in splinterlands. I've decided that the best plan would be;

  • To just relax and enjoy the game
  • Taking up more competitions in Tournaments since I'm really after DEC- In tournaments there are no restrictive or pressurizing rules to use particular elements for bonus rewards
  • To simply change any daily quest proving difficult after a couple trials (Snipe would generally be easier for everyone to attain) AND YOU CAN TOO...

With all these, going further, I can see Splinterlands getting more relaxing in my eyes, I'm getting to know the game better which is what matters the most!.

Thank you for reading, that's all I had to say. I hope it was fun to read, your comments are highly appreciated.

Sort:  

I think the trick is having more cards to utilize and trying them together in different combinations as they work together different ways. I do horrible on most quests just get lucky once in a blue moon! Got 3 sons playing so keep giving my good cards away HAHA

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121