Splinterlands - SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge - Theme: Monster With Scavenger Ability

in Splinterlands3 years ago

Hello Friends,


image.png

https://peakd.com/splinterlands/@splinterlands/share-your-battle-weekly-challenge-scavenger

I hope you enjoyed your season end rewards from the recently concluded Splinterlands season.
With Untamed packs sold out, the cards prices are getting up and I saw a tweet on Twitter today telling that the Gold Foiled Golden Dragon is listed for a price of $80K!!!!!
While the price is not the real price as market may see the price go up or go down based on other person's listing, but, for now, the card is work $80K ;)
Talking about this week's challenge, it's not a monster, but, an ability, Scavenger is the theme and we do have some awesome scavenger ability monsters such as Screeching Vulture, Parasitic Growth or Cave Slug.
I am gonna share this below battle and lineup details as part of this week's challenge.



Image Courtesy: @Splinterlands from the blog link shared above

Scavenger enables a monster to gain a health when a monster dies and the process continues with each monster's death.

Line.jpg

Battle and Lineup:


image.png

Battle Link: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=1feaff9688515db0d5161ef4ecab4ad0f2b9ca17&ref=coolguy123

Alright, this battle was against a good friend of me and the win was sweet one considering the amount of knowledge and the level of monster he has and I always appreciate his support and help in understanding the ABC's of Splinterlands and beating him in a battle is a nice one.
I used Mimosa Nightshade summoner to reduce the ranged attack by 1 and also remove the healing ability from opponent's monsters and the void ability it gives, will be more helpful against the magic attack sine it reduces the attack by 1.
The battle had enough MANA cap of 50 to accommodate some good monsters and the lone rule set of Up Close & Personal made me to use couple of scavenger monsters along with other monsters as explained below:

Lineup:

1. Lord of Darkness:

The mere sight of Up Close and Personal rule set made me to use this as front monster as I had decided to use Dark Ha'On at back end and taunt the monsters to attack it.
Lord of Darkness is best suited for this rule set battles since it has armors, shield ability and can enrage to inflict huge blow to the monster it attacks.

2. Corrupted Pegasus:

A tank healer, Corrupted Pegasus is like best ally to Lord of Darkness and my favorite reach monster at second position.

3. Skeleton Assassin:

I used couple of sneak monsters next up including this one and most of the Up Close & Personal battles will have some huge health monsters pitted at back end to attack later and I used this opportunity to line this up along with Sand Worm.

4. Parasitic Growth:

My First scavenger monster in this lineup is this Parasitic Growth and I used this to get rid of low health monsters since it's a monster with opportunity ability too.

5. Sand Worm:

Second sneak monster but the important one for such battles where all the monsters will be melee attack ones.
This one along with Skeleton Assassin did great job in removing monsters one by one from back side of the lineup.

6. Dark Ha'On:

Second scavenger monster, but more importantly, a taunt monster used to send all the attack towards it and let Lord of Darkness live long to keep stunning the front monster.

Opponent used Earth Splinter with monsters Stonesplitter Orc, Nectar Queen, Goblin Mech, Flesh Golem, Sand Worm and Stone Golem.

Line.jpg

Battle:

Looking at the opponent's lineup, I thought I have a better chance of winning the battle since 4 of them will not attack unless they move to front position since those were all melee attack monsters.

Round 1:

Skeleton Assassin poisoned Stone Golem, Lord of Darkness stunned Stonesplitter Orc, but that was not enough to remove a monster in this round since the monsters which were attacked, all had armors to survive the First round.


image.png


Round 2:

Stonesplitter Orc was stunned by Lord of Darkness in last round and that means, eventhough it had better speed, it couldn't attack and was the First monster to be removed.


image.png


Round 3:

Stone Golem placed last on the lineup by opponent, has to fallout since the sneak and poison abilities combined to remove it in this round.
Also removed were the Dark Ha'On from my lineup and Sand Worm from opponent's.


image.png


Round 4:

With half of the monsters already got removed, it wasn't an easy task for opponent and next to get removed was the front monster of Nectar Queen as it was stunned by Lord of Darkness.


image.png


Round 5:

Sneak monsters continued to remove the back end monsters and Flesh Golem was the last one to be removed leaving Goblin Mech to keep the fight alive for opponent.


image.png


Round 6:

With just 2 health before the beginning of this round, Goblin Mech just have to take one blow from Lord of Darkness to get removed.


image.png

Line.jpg

Questions and Answers:

Did my strategy work? What will I try differently next time?

I thoroughly enjoyed this battle and opponent's usage of 4 monsters which can only attack from front position, made the job easier for me and the sneak monsters I used were the best to get rid of those back end monsters and Lord of Darkness was up to the task stunning front monsters frequently and removing couple of those.
If I have to try something different, I might use Dark Ha'On at the front and use another monster which could make both of them attack instead of Dark Ha'On simply getting hit at back end.

Do I like SCAVENGERS? Why or why not?

Scavenger monsters are my favorites. When I use Earth splinter, I make use of Screeching Vulture, when I use Water splinter, I use Feasting Seaweed, when I use Life splinter, there is Cave Slug, when I use Death splinter, I can use the 2 I mentioned in this along with Maggots.
There will be a scavenger monster every now and then in my lineup.

Line.jpg

It was nice to defeat someone I admire so much and I thoroughly enjoyed battling and writing this blog, did you feel the same reading this?

Time to wind up, I have been thinking of starting a community for the sports I love the most and I want to announce it soon and get all the lovers of that sports in one place and discuss and curate. May be tomorrow is the day for me I think.

Let's see....

Thank You and Have a Great Day :)

Line.jpg

Join the new Official Telegram for Splinterlands via link given below to participate in contests and have fun.

https://t.me/splinterlandsHQ


Not yet signed up for Splinterlands?
You can join using my referral link: splinterlands.io and get some monsters from me :)
Sort:  

I'm guessing your opponent doesn't like this ruleset very much, he seems to have decent cards but a pretty poor selection/ placement. I would have least put that Retaliate thing at the back?

An easy victory!

@tipu curate

Agree with you,
Dave is one of the more passionate Splinterlands players.
Somehow, his selection didnt go like the way he wanted it I think.

Thanks as always for the tipu curation.

Have a wonderful day 🙂

I wonder if he misread the rule set as 'Melee monsters can attack from any position' - I've done that before!

lol, even I have done that 🙂. These rules related to melee monsters are a bit of confusing.

Thank you @coolguy123, for using the CO2 Compensation Coin (COCO / SWAP.COCO) on Steem-Engine or on Hive-Engine to reduce your CO2 footprint. You want to join? Buy some COCO / SWAP.COCO and transfer them to CO2Fund's account @co2fund.