The Untamed Turtle-Tortisian Fighter: Splinterlands Weekly Challenge

in Splinterlands4 years ago

Introduction

Hello fellow summoners,

This week's weekly challenge is about the Tortisian Fighter. Tortisian Fighter is a good 4 mana attacker with a small shield but pretty low health. This makes it weak to magic and things. They truly shines when they reach level 4 though and get teh ability shield making them very powerful in UNTAMED tournaments. Even so, if I can, I prefer to use the Spineback Turtle which has more health and has the ability Thorns.
image.png

Card Levels

image.png
Over 10 levels, the Tortisian Fighter gains 2 pretty useful abilities, namely Shield and Repair. It also gains a good amount of armor to compliment its Repair ability and its Shield ability.
Its low health and low speed is still there making it a good anti-sneak card or a lost magic tank.

Ruleset

image.png

The rulesets are Equalizer and Taking Sides meaning that every monster gets the same amount of health based on that of the monster with the highest health and Taking Sides means no Neutral Monsters such as Furious Chicken 😥. A healthy 34 mana means I can use higher mana monsters.

Monsters and Summoners

Summoner

Bortus

Since dragon is diabled for this battle, I had to use my best water summoner, namely Bortus. This also reduces any magic attack that may hurt my tortisian fighter and take it out of the play too ealry.

Monsters

Tortisian Fighter

This week's monster is going to be this abttle's tank. Because I was able to reduce magic using my bortus and equalizer allowed it to have higher health, I believe that it would be a good cheap tank.

Electric Eels

Always good to have a backup tank, the electric eels do reach damage from the back providing additional firepower.

Phantom of the Abyss

Good anti-snipe monster, it allows me to easily dodge snipe attacks though it is susceptible to the few magic snipe monsters which may come.

Ruler of the Seas

My main damage dealer, along with its powerful blast, it can ruin my opponent's team quickly.

Crustacean King

This healer helps keep my tortisian fighter up and kicking for a bit longer. Hopefully that means enough time for my ruler to do its work.

Naga Wind Master

Very good card that I use for its headwinds debuff and its additional 2 damage for a cheap 4 mana.

Battle Analysis

You can follow the battle here: https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=361e2506b3c738443ebb2a35fc5f0162252018e3

Turn 1

image.png
My opponent wisely put a unicorn mustang as a tank and it is going to drastically lower my magic ability. He also uses a mushroom seer which will reduce my magic attack to two. Thankfully, my attacks seem to just be doing enough to get through and my tortisian fighter is staying strong.

Turn 2

image.png
Same thing is happening this turn. Unicorn Mustang is getting hit down while my naga wind master and tortisian fighter is slowly taking damage.

Turn 3

image.png

3rd round is the charm and I got pass his unicorn mustang! My tortisian fighter is taking a beating and my naga wind master is going to fall soon.

Turn 4

image.png
Seem to be getting past his goblin thief way quicker than the unicorn mustang so I guess progress...?

Turn 5

image.png
Onto his woody nymph! My naga is in a sorry state right now though and will die at the end of the next turn.

Turn 6

image.png
Ughh that heal is really annyoing but my fighter is still standing and his team is slowly falling apart. My naga wind master died though.

Turn 7

image.png
My tortisian fighter has the same amount of health at the end as the start of this turn meaning that my opponent's damage has reached a point where my tortisian fighter will stay alive forever as long as my healer keeps healing.

TUrn 8

image.png
And my opponent's javelin thrower falls.

Turn 9 & 10 &

image.png

The final turns as my monsters destroy his monsters and my tank is still really healthy. Well played overall and I may have made a few mistakes in my lineup.

Conclusion

Overall, awesome match! I may have made a couple of mistakes in this match such as having too many magic attackers which slowed down my plowing momentum considerably especially against the mushroomer seer, unicorn mustang, and wood nyphm combo. Good thing I had a healer too or I would have lost. Thank a lot for reading and as always, BATTLE ON!

https://splinterlands.com?ref=cornavirus

Sort:  

Congratulations @cornavirus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.
You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice job - I'll keep this in mind if Life and Death are ever ruled out for Equalizer - normally I play death, with Mimosa or if not Life with Chanseus and the resurrect.

Tortisan fighter is a great choice for this rule set!

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 14/21)

Thanks! Mimosa and Chanseus are also great for this ruleset as you have mentioned but my Legendary summoners aren't high enough of a level yet to use them properly. Thanks for the upvote!

Nice choices, good win! Love to see all my monsters alive at the end, haha.

Copy_of_Upvoted_grapthar1.png