Possibly stupid question - What happens to Splinterlands if the company/servers shut down?

in Splinterlands3 years ago

I am aware that the cards themselves will continue to exist on Hive-Engine as tokens.

However

  1. Can the game still be played?
  2. Can anyone run a server (is it open source?)
  3. Can all the game assets still be used (card art, sound effects etc.) in the game? Are those assets copyrighted?
  4. Can new sets be created? Does the governance system allow for people other than the original Splinterlands company to create and officially sanction new sets?
Sort:  

It is mostly centralized controlled right now. The assets are all on the HIVE blockchain and are fully decentralized. But the game itself is not. They intend to build a decentralized system eventually, in which the game runs entirely on nodes that are incentivized with some sort of reward system.

I am aware that the cards themselves will continue to exist on Hive-Engine as tokens.

The cards are not tokens on Hive engine I don't think. They are tracked on the blockchain according to the Splinterlands custom JSON transaction, but the cards are not directly tradeable via Hive Engine. There are third party markets like @peakmonsters. But even these might depend on Splinterlands APIs to determine the state of card ownership.

Can the game still be played?

No the only place to play the game is at splinterlands.io, which is run by the company. Were they to shut down, perhaps they'd open source the game play code.

Can anyone run a server (is it open source?)

No the game play is not open source.

Can all the game assets still be used (card art, sound effects etc.) in the game? Are those assets copyrighted?

The assets are copyrighted, although Splinterlands has stated they are okay with third party use under certain conditions. It was in a Hive/Steem post, but can't find this yet.

Can new sets be created? Does the governance system allow for people other than the original Splinterlands company to create and officially sanction new sets?

I think they stated they are interested in third parties issuing cards, but I don't see how that would be possible currently. These cards wouldn't work in regular gameplay, but only in other games that decided to use Splinterland cards.

Good question. I assume that we depend on someone running the server for any of the games and we trust them to do it fairly. If anyone else ran it they could tweak it to their advantage. I have a lot of value in my cards, but I mostly play for fun.

!BEER

Is that means hive network server? Though I think splinterland still can work on other blockchains networks

I mean whatever runs the interface you log into and play on at splinterlands.com

@dhimmel did a great job answering these questions. The answers to your questions makes me feel really good about staying focused on the first layer staking and investing hustle as a very small stake hodler.

But if I was a bit more sharky minded and actually liked games, then I would be loving the short term prospects. But long term has some serious alarm bells.

I can see why it was brought up to me that Agg monopolized/centralized development of hive. I can see how now. But still its a business and market the consumer/trader wants and we are benefiting from it currently it seems.

Hopefully, everything continues in a positive way with SL like it is and we see continued investment and excitement with Hive as a result.


Hey @demotruk, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

@dhimmel did a great job answering these questions. The answers to your questions makes me feel really good about staying focused on the first layer staking and investing hustle as a very small stake hodler.

But if I was a bit more sharky minded and actually liked games, then I would be loving the short term prospects. But long term has some serious alarm bells.

I can see why it was brought up to me that Agg monopolized/centralized development of hive. I can see how now. But still its a business and market the consumer/trader wants and we are benefiting from it currently it seems.

Hopefully, everything continues in a positive way with SL like it is and we see continued investment and excitement with Hive as a result.