Splinterlands | Beating a STRONGER opponent with the Flesh Golem.

in Splinterlands4 years ago

The Flesh Golem is one of my old favorite cards in the Earth splinter particularly due to his healing ability which when combined with the gorgeous Wood Nymph, make for an formidable pairing.

Unfortunately, in this battle, I will not be able to demonstrate that pairing due to the 'Up Close and Personal' ruleset but his healing ability was essential in eliminating a much stronger opponent.

The Flesh Golem.


flesh golem.jpg

Theme: Flesh Golem
Edition: Alpha/Beta
Rarity: Common
Element: Earth
Attack: Melee
Abilities: Healing at level 3; Void at level 7

Pre-Analysis of the Battle


After skimming through my opponents previous matches and seeing their maxed out summoner and monsters, this was going to be a tough match.

Thankfully, the 'Up Close and Personal' ruleset was in effect which evened out the field.

Also, the Fire splinter was deactivated which meant my opponent could not make use of their Lvl 4 Legendary Yodin Zaku who gives every friendly monster the blast ability.

Yikes! Glad I did not face that.

Given the cards I was dealt, I chose my earth splinter which allows me to take advantage of my two Inspire abilities as well as the +1 Melee attack from Daria Dragonscale.

image.png

Here is how I set my lineup.

Battle Link: https://steemmonsters.com/?p=battle&id=e92711687dcef4d78daff4e6692ab3c4d710b19c
Mana Cap: 28
Rules: Up Close and Personal

1: Daria Dragonscale

Daria comes into this battle instead of my max level Lyanna Natura because of that extra +1 Melee advantage which I felt would be very important while facing a stronger opponent.

2: Flesh Golem

The star of the show is my tank in this battle. The heal ability is priceless. The ability to regenerate health gives the Flesh Golem durability as a tank giving him more time to do more damage in this battle.

Also, pairing him with the Orc Sergeant and Brownie plus Daria as the summoner gives him that extra omph in the melee department.

3: Orc Sergeant

Honestly, I don't know why I never hear much about the Orc Sergeant as a valuable monster in the Earth splinter. He has the reach ability and in addition has the inspire ability which boosts the Melee damage of all friendly monsters.

That is invaluable for me me because it allows me to do more damage on the off.

4: Screeching Vulture

The ever reliable vulture is a must-have. The opportunity ability always ensures that those pesky low health monsters get killed off quick which also allows the vulture to boost its own health from the scavenger ability.

With the increased Melee attack damage that enables him to cause maximum havoc on the opponent's monsters.

5: Brownie

Brownie is without a doubt my favorite in this lineup.

The swiftness ability always gives you the chance to be the first player to do damage in the battle.

If you are lucky you get to eliminate one or more enemy monsters which puts you in a magnificent position to win the battle.

The inspire ability also gives all friendly melee monsters an extra damage level which was very useful in this battle.

6: Goblin Thief

When you are playing with a melee advantage why not add another monster who will take full advantage of it to attack the enemy back-line.

The sneak ability ensured that was the case.

7: Enchanted Defender

Finally, to deter any sneak monsters from the enemy team, the Enchanted Defender makes an appearance.

The thorns ability was important in that regard and helped me win the battle.

Conclusion


With Daria, the Orc Sargent, and Brownie that gave my monsters an extra +3 damage and more importantly, the Flesh Golem went up to 6 melee damage at par with my opponents tank.

With the extra speed boost from Brownie, that ensured that I was able to do quick damage to the Goblin Mech before he did any to my monsters.

That was all I needed because the Stun ability would have made my Flesh Golem useless.

That was how I was able to beat a much stronger opponent.

Sort:  

Thank you for the Fleshy Challenge. 🙂

MonsterCurationFlauwy.png

monstermarket.png