Learning By Doing - A Beginner's Guide To Splinterlands From A Beginner's Perspective

in Splinterlands3 years ago (edited)

Hello you beautiful disciples of Splinterlands,

The game everybody is talking about right now saw a massive increase of new players in the last couple of weeks and I was one of them.

grafik.png



My discovery of Splinterlands


I discovered the social media Blockchain Hive and wanted to blog about my pet issue "prepping" amongst other things, but soon after onboarding one of the frontends (ecency) and getting to know the ins and outs of Hive, I discovered the best thing, I could have found. Splinterlands.

Right after reading the introduction pages. I was hooked. I bought the summoners spellbook and started playing.
At first I tried out the unranked newbie battles but quickly, I got on to Novice ranking battles. Maybe it was beginners luck or the game provided me with bots at the start to gain confidence, but I fared well and got addicted.

But I had to found out little things and important information via trial and error and by finding my way to Discord and scrolling through a lot of unnecessary posts and discussions to find what I'd come for.

A better way


I thought to myself, there has to be a better, more engaging way for newbies to discover the depths of this incredible game and searched for content on YouTube (and later on 3speak).
I found a couple of interesting videos and guides, but I wanted something else.
Most of these videos were for advanced players and that is great too, but for absolute novices, it was kind of hard to absorb that many crumbs of information, floating around in no particular order.

A new Concept


I thought long and hard and came up with the concept of

"learning by doing - A Beginners Guide to Splinterlands from a Beginners perspective".

I for one made a few mistakes like renting an awesome card for not many DEC and finding out,
that it had a lockout period and I could have
spotted it, when I'd known, that the little clock picture indicated a prohibition time.

And of course the many mistakes a beginner can make through the various rulesets of Splinterlands.
I don't know about you, but with the rising of YouTube and other edutainment sites, I find myself learning through video tutorials better, than by just reading. Hence the "learning by doing" idea.

Let's make the best of it and learn from one another. If anybody has an interesting battle to share, you can send it my way and I'll show and review it. Or you see a mistake, I make and want to suggest a better way or a solution, so we can grow our knowledge together as a community.

Little by little, we will conquer this game together and reap all the rewards it has to offer.
Like I said, I am three weeks in, I couldn't even buy a pack of cards yet (for they are sold out and I don't pay moon-prices on the secondary market...yet). I invested about 25$ into the game and play rentals, but I must say, it is a very good substitute to buying cards.
I am competitive right up to Silver I and a 1250 to 1400 rating, and I hope
to rise in the ranks and leagues as soon as possible with my approach.
My third season will be the first season I broadcast my battles and my thoughts on the game and hopefully you'll get something out of it. Perhaps you're like me and you can't get enough of a specific content, you fell in love with. Or you seek information and don't want to read a whole lot. Or you are a pro and want to help a small but growing community of absolute beginners with tips and solutions for problems yet to be uncovered by the author of this article.

Promotion on various Social Media Channels


To promote this game and the Hive Blockchain, I'll try to get a YouTube Channel started as soon as possible and all of you are invited to leave a subscription and a thumbs up.
Maybe we can push Splinterlands to another level with a group effort.

I'll keep you posted on the Channel and the first video, I publish. I don't know about the implementation of YouTube Videos here on Hive yet, but I figure it out.

When all goes smoothly, I'll try to get few different streaming-sites involved as well. But first, let's start on YouTube and get this thing going.

Cheers


grafik.png
Splinterlands

Referral Link

If you want to start the Game via my referral link
Splinterlands-Account: Prepperfreiheit

YouTube Channel: CryptoGamingPrepper

Sort:  

Congratulations @freedomprepper! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Ein guter Anfang - weiter so :)

Danke :o). Morgen sollte das erste Video kommen. Ich hoffe, ich stelle es mir nicht zu einfach vor.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @freedomprepper.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks for sharing! - @cieliss

Great post.