Splinterlands SM Challenge : The Massive Power Of Magic Attacks And The Unstoppable Valnamor

Hey there my awesome Splinterlands community,
How are you today? I hope you all are enjoying this weekend and spending a good time playing Splinterlands.

Just like the previous week, Splinterlands brought to us another 'Social Media Challenge' this week and I've decided to write up about my winning ratio using magic attacks and a powerful legendary water summoner Valnamor.

Splinterlands Social Media Challenge Valnamor.gif

I'll also share the best battle I won this week using Valnamor as the summoner of my team.

So let's start then...

Pagebreaker New.png

Before anything, I have to confess that I just love every magic attack monster, and the summoners that buffs the magic attack.
If you monitor the battles I played, you can see my winning rate using magic attack monsters and summoners are over 90%.
I wrote this earlier in another blog post that I always try to maintain a strong magic attack team. So, in my arsenal, the number of magic attack monsters is rather high than melee or ranged attack monsters.
Now let's talk about the magic attack cards and magic attack buffs summoners, that I use almost every day.

Magic Attack Buffing Summoners


First, let's talk about the summoners.
As we all know, the summoners don't have a direct magic attack, but they can buff the magic attacks of the team monsters.
These are the summoners having the ability to buff magic attacks of team monsters -

ALRIC STORMBRINGER

NAME:
Alric Stormbringer
ROLE: Summoner
SPLINTER: Water
RARITY: Rare
EDITION: Beta
MANA COST: 3
BUFFS: +1 magic attack for all friendly monsters.


VALNAMOR

NAME:
Valnamor
ROLE: Summoner
SPLINTER: Water
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Beta
MANA COST: 5
BUFFS: +1 magic attack, +1 speed, +1 health for all friendly monsters.


OBSIDIAN

NAME:
Obsidian
ROLE: Summoner
SPLINTER: Earth
RARITY: Rare
EDITION: Chaos Legion
MANA COST: 4
BUFFS: +1 magic attack for all friendly monsters.


DELWYN DRAGONSCALE

NAME:
Delwyn Dragonscale
ROLE: Summoner
SPLINTER: Dragon
RARITY: Common
EDITION: Promo
MANA COST: 5
BUFFS: +1 magic attack for all friendly monsters.


ARCHMAGE ARIUS

NAME:
Archmage Arius
ROLE: Summoner
SPLINTER: Dragon
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Promo
MANA COST: 5
BUFFS: +1 melee attack, +1 ranged attack, +1 magic attack for all friendly monsters.

Pagebreaker New.png

Magic Attack Monsters


After the summoners, it's time for the list of monsters that have magic attacks.
Well, there are quite a large number of monsters there and it's not possible to write about each monster in this post. So, I'm writing about those monsters only, which I use frequently.


Fire Splinter

CALADUUM

NAME:
Caladuum
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Fire
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Dice
MANA COST: 11
ABILITIES: Void, Cripple, Immunity, Thorns


ELEMENTAL PHOENIX

NAME:
Elemental Phoenix
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Fire
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Alpha, Beta
MANA COST: 7
ABILITIES: Flying, Blast, Magic Reflect, Dodge


Water Splinter


DJINN OSHANNUS

NAME:
Djinn Oshannus
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Water
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 8
ABILITIES: Void, Phase, Forcefield


RULER OF THE SEAS

NAME:
Ruler Of The Seas
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Water
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 6
ABILITIES: Blast, Swiftness, Silence


PHANTOM OF THE ABYSS

NAME:
Phantom Of The Abyss
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Water
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Untamed
MANA COST: 10
ABILITIES: Flying, Dodge, Demoralize, Headwinds


CAPTAIN'S GHOST

NAME:
Captain's Ghost
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Water
RARITY: Rare
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 7
ABILITIES: Affliction, Oppress


CORAL WRAITH

NAME:
Coral Wraith
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Water
RARITY: Epic
EDITION: Untamed
MANA COST: 4
ABILITIES: Sneak, Rust


VENARI WAVESMITH

NAME:
Venari Wavesmith
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Water
RARITY: Rare
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 5
ABILITIES: Protect, Dispel


RIVER NYMPH

NAME:
River Nymph
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Water
RARITY: Rare
EDITION: Chaos Legion
MANA COST: 4
ABILITIES: Cleanse, Amplify, Swiftness


Earth Splinter


MYCELIC SLIPSPAWN

NAME:
Mycelic Slipspawn
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Earth
RARITY: Rare
EDITION: Chaos Legion
MANA COST: 9
ABILITIES: Taunt, Forcefield, Slow


REGAL PERYTON

NAME:
Regal Peryton
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Earth
RARITY: Rare
EDITION: Chaos Legion
MANA COST: 5
ABILITIES: Flying


QUEEN MYCELIA

NAME:
Queen Mycelia
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Earth
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Chaos Legion
MANA COST: 4
ABILITIES: Protect, Amplify, Triage, Rust


WOOD NYMPH

NAME:
Wood Nymph
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Earth
RARITY: Common
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 4
ABILITIES: Tank Heal, Strengthen


Life Splinter


DJINN RENOVA

NAME:
Djinn Renova
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Life
RARITY: Epic
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 7
ABILITIES: Strengthen, Triage


HIGH PRIEST DARIUS

NAME:
High Priest Darius
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Life
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Untamed
MANA COST: 10
ABILITIES: Resurrect, Weaken, Blast


DIVINE HEALER

NAME:
Divine Healer
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Life
RARITY: Common
EDITION: Alpha, Beta
MANA COST: 3
ABILITIES: Tank Heal, Slow


Death Splinter


CTHULHU

NAME:
Cthulhu
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Death
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Dice
MANA COST: 11
ABILITIES: Cripple, Flying, Stun, Weaken, Last Stand


ANCIENT LICH

NAME:
Ancient Lich
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Death
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 7
ABILITIES: Life Leech, Void, Resurrect


DJINN MUIRAT

NAME:
Djinn Muirat
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Death
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Chaos Legion
MANA COST: 9
ABILITIES: Void Armor, Knock Out, Giant Killer, Magic Reflect, Forcefield


MAGI NECROSI

NAME:
Magi Necrosi
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Death
RARITY: Epic
EDITION: Chaos Legion
MANA COST: 6
ABILITIES: Snipe, Camouflage, Oppress, Stun


VENARI BONESMITH

NAME:
Venari Bonesmith
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Death
RARITY: Rare
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 4
ABILITIES: Life Leech, Poison, Dispel


Dragon Splinter


GOLD DRAGON

NAME:
Gold Dragon
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Dragon
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Alpha, Beta
MANA COST: 7
ABILITIES: Flying, Heal, Blast, Magic Reflect


Black Dragon

NAME:
Black Dragon
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Dragon
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 6
ABILITIES: Flying, Life Leech, Slow, Strengthen


Neutral Splinter


SPIRIT MINER

NAME:
Spirit Miner
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Neutral
RARITY: Legendary
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 6
ABILITIES: Dodge, Swiftness, Blind


MAGI OF CHAOS

NAME:
Magi Of Chaos
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Neutral
RARITY: Epic
EDITION: Chaos Legion
MANA COST: 6
ABILITIES: Oppress


PRISMATIC ENERGY

NAME:
Prismatic Energy
ROLE: Monster
SPLINTER: Neutral
RARITY: Rare
EDITION: Reward
MANA COST: 8
ABILITIES: Magi Reflect, Void

Pagebreaker New.png

Now, after this long list of my most-used magic cards, it's time to share the best battles that involve magic attack monsters and summoner Valnamor.

THE BATTLE

So, for this battle, I used the Valnamor as the summoner.
I had a long winning streak with this summoner and it never fails me.


THE BATTLE RULESET

Ruleset.png

Mana Cap: 40
Ruleset:
Healed Out: All healing abilities are removed from monsters and summoners
Equalizer: The initial health of all monsters is equal to that of the monsters on either team with the highest base health.
Active Splinter: Fire, Water, Earth, Life, Death, Dragon

My Strategy and Team Setup


It was my water focus day and I was playing all the battles with my favorite magic team and the Alric Stormbringer as the summoner.
I was winning most of the battles, but in some battles, my opponent used the speed buff of the Kelya Frendul to defeat me, and I needed a summoner that can buff the speed and magic attack of my team.
The Valnamor was the best choice as it has both the buffs.
So, my strategy here is simple, to create a high magic attack-based team, buffs the attack, speed, and health of the team using Valnamor as the summoner and win the battles.


THE SUMMONER


VALNAMOR

Valnamor.png

With the +1 magic attack, +1 speed, and, +1 health buffs to all the friendly monsters, the Valnamor is the mighty summoner anyone can have.
The only thing lacking here is the level count. I managed to rent only level 1 Valnamor. Therefore, some monsters of my team I can't use the higher level of them.
Also, in the reverse speed ruleset, I have to choose my team carefully if I use Valnamor.

THE TEAM


First Position

HARDY STONEFISH:
The Hardy Stonefish acts as a tank card in this battle.

Sometimes, I use the low health card like the Hardy Stonefish as a filler card in the 'equalizer' ruleset.


Second Position

DJINN OSHANNUS:
The Djinn Oshannus is one of my most used cards.

It has high health and the 'void' ability that makes him a perfect monster for the first or the second position in any battle.


Third Position

PHANTOM OF THE ABYSS:
A high mana cost but also the high magic attack card, perfect for the back-line.

It has the 'flying' and 'dodge' ability that's why it can miss the melee attack of the opponent.


Fourth Position

NERISSA TRIDAWN:
This is another high magic attack card with high mana cost but relatively high health.

I use this card frequently in mid to high mana cap battles along with the Alric Stormbringer.


Fifth Position

RULER OF THE SEAS:
This is a very important card that can change a battle's outcome with its 'blast' ability.

I generally use level 2 of this legendary card that has another important ability 'swiftness'.


Sixth Position

CREEPING OOZE:
This is another filler card to soak sneak attack of the opponent.

Also, with the 'slow' debuff ability, it makes the opponent's cards slow to attack.

Pagebreaker New.png

Team Submission

Unstopable Valnamor Team Submission.gif

Upon submitting my team I found that my opponent used the legendary dragon summoner Byzantine Kitty.
He used a filler card, the Radiated Scorcher with the 'shatter' ability in the tank position.
He placed another filler card the Scorch Fiend in the 2nd position.
In the 3rd position, he placed the Tenya Striker with the 'sneak' and the 'dodge' ability.
In the 4th position, he placed the Djinn Inferni with the 'giant killer' ability.
In the 5th position, he placed a level 3 Chaos Dragon with multiple abilities, like 'flying', 'scattershot', 'blast' and, 'blind'.
And in the last position, he used the Fire Elemental with the 'blast' ability.
His team seems more powerful than mine. But mine is faster.

Round 01

Unstopable Valnamor Round 01.gif

Round 1 starts with applying the buff and debuff effects on both teams.
The Valnamor already makes my team faster. So, the first and second attacks come from the Phantom Of The Abyss and the Djinn Oshannus simultaneously on the opponent's Radiated Scorcher.
Then the opponent's Fire Elemental attacked my Hardy Stonefish and the Djinn takes additional damage due to the blast ability of the Fire Elemental.
Then the opponent's Djinn Inferni and the Chaos Dragon did a simultaneous attack on my Hardy Stonefish. Again the Djinn takes additional damage due to the blast ability of the Chaos Dragon.
Then my Ruler Of The Seas attacked the opponent's Radiated Scorcher that wrecked it completely.
Next, the Scorch Fiend attacked my Hardy Stonefish.
The opponent's Tenya Striker makes the next attack on my Creeping Ooze.
Then my Nerissa Tridawn made a big 4 magic attack on the opponent's Scorch Fiend.
The last attack of the round was made by my Hardy Stonefish on the opponent's Scorch Fiend.

Round 02

Unstopable Valnamor Round 02.gif

Just like the 1st round, my Phantom Of The Abyss attacked the opponent's Scorch Fiend and destroyed it completely.
The Tenya Striker was replaced in the front and my Djinn Oshannus attacked him.
Then, the opponent's Fire Elemental attacked my Hardy Stonefish and the Djinn took additional damage due to the blast ability of the Fire Elemental.
Next, the opponent's Djinn Inferni attacked my Hardy Stonefish and wrecked it completely and the Djinn Oshannus replaced him.
Then the opponent's Chaos Dragon made a scattered shot attack on my Nerissa and the two adjacent monsters the Ruler Of The Seas and the Phantom Of The Abyss takes additional hits because of the blast ability of the Chaos Dragon.
Next, my Ruler Of The Seas attacked the opponent's Tenya Striker and the Djinn Inferni takes additional damage due to the blast ability of the Ruler Of The Seas.
The Tenya Striker strikes back on the Djinn Oshannus.
The last hit of the round dealt by the Nerissa Tridawn which destroyed the Tenya Striker completely.

Round 03

Unstopable Valnamor Round 03.gif

In round 3, my Phantom Of The Abyss and the Djinn Oshannus simultaneously attacked the opponent's Djinn Inferni.
Then, the opponent's Fire Elemental attacked my Djinn Oshannus and the Phantom Of The Abyss takes additional damage due to the blast ability of the Fire Elemental.
The Djinn Inferni strikes back on the Djinn Oshannus that wrecked it completely and the Phantom Of The Abyss replaced him in the first place.
Then the opponent's Chaos Dragon made a scattered shot attack on my Nerissa and the two adjacent monsters the Ruler Of The Seas and the Phantom Of The Abyss takes additional hits because of the blast ability of the Chaos Dragon.
The Ruler Of The Seas attacked next on the Djinn Inferni and wrecked it completely. The Chaos Dragon takes additional damage due to the blast ability of the Ruler Of The Seas.
The last attack of the round was dealt by Nerissa Tridawn on the opponent's Chaos Dragon.

Round 04 / 05

Unstopable Valnamor Round 04 05.gif

Starting in round 4, the opponent's Chaos Dragon got wrecked by a single hit from my Phantom Of The Abyss. The Fire Elemental was replaced in the first place and became inactive.
It took only 3 hits to destroy the Fire Elemental by my three remaining magic attack monsters the Phantom Of The Abyss, the Ruler Of The Seas, and, the Nerissa Tridawn to secure my victory.

Watch the full battle in realtime - https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_3a8cd77653d42b06a2726eba2cc1c9a4&ref=furiousfighter


Also, apart from this battle, below are the few battles where I used the Valnamor as the summoner of my team.
Feel free to check these out.

Battle 01 Result - Win

Battle 02 Result - Win

Pagebreaker New.png

My Takes On The Valnamor


I don't see many players using this legendary summoner Valnamor due to its moderately high mana cost.
But believe me, you can safely use this summoner in 25+ mana cap battles.
It's the only summoner that has the complete set of buffs that makes any magic attack team stronger, faster, and deadlier.
If you ask me, Valnamor is my 2nd favorite summoner after the Alric Stormbringer, in the entire Splinterlands collection.
I frequently use this summoner whenever I can.
I was lucky enough to get the Valnamor at a 10 DEC rental cost. If you can search enough, you can get it even lower rental price.
So, try this summoner at least once and I'm sure you won't regret it.

Pagebreaker New.png

CLOSING THOUGHTS


As this article comes to the end, I want to thank you for your time to read this article. I hope you liked reading it, as much as I liked writing it.

It's so overwhelming seeing the amount of love and support you're showering on me. Your comments and upvotes are my inspiration. So, please keep them coming.

Also, if you start liking my writing, please consider following me for the latest update on my articles.

Wanna try this awesome game Splinterlands out? Join here - https://splinterlands.com?ref=furiousfighter

Peace.
Akash Kumar.

thank you for reading.gif

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121