This week in Splinterlands... has been rather slow... so let's have a look at a battle instead.. ;-)

in Splinterlandslast year

image.png

image.png

image.png

This week in Splinterlands... has been a bit slow in terms of news so I decided to share a battle instead. Since the "Share Your Battle Challenge" as we knew it has been suspended, I'll just got ahead and continue doing it from time to time as a part of the weekly Social Media Challenge.

The Monster I'll showcase today is probably my current most favorite dragon, namely Agor Longtail. Before getting into stats and the battle itself let's have a look at its LORE first.

So, Agor is a "she" and she's actually really large and wise. Her current status seems to be "really pissed of at the Chaos Legion"

image.png

Alright, we've got some idea of what Agor Longtail is, after glancing at her lore. Let us have a look at its stats and abilities at different key levels now.

image.png

  • Having in mind that it is a Legendary Monster, it is expected for it to start with at least 2 special abilities but in this case the Agor Longtail starts with 3. It has Flying, Taunt and Void Armor. All 3 are very useful as far as tanking is concerned. One more interesting fact which also makes the Monster even more powerful is that it actually has 2 types of attack - Melee and Magic. This means it can also be used at the back of the line-up and still attack or at the off-tank position, for instance.
  • At level 2 it gains 2 additional points in the Health department going from 11 to 13.
  • At level 3 it gains a 4th ability - Heal. Heal is probably as good of a tanking ability as it can get since not having to rely on external healing is really important in a lot of situations.
  • Finally maxed out at level 4 the Monster has 3 Melee Attack, 3 Magic Attack, 3 Speed, 6 Armor and 14 Health.

image.png
Now that we know what the card does (or doesn't do) at the different levels of play, let us have a look at the battle I have chosen to showcase.

<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>BATTLE<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>

  • The line-up of the Battle and the Ruleset:

image.png

The rulesets for this battle are Holy Protection (all Monsters have the Divine Shield ability),Fog of War (Monsters lose the Sneak, Snipe and Opportunity abilities) and Broken Arrows (Ranged attack Monsters may not be used in battles). The mana budget is 99 which is the maximum amount possible so I can choose all most expensive Monsters I have available if I want to and if they fit my battleplan. All Splinters but the Earth one are available. I am obviously going to choose the Dragon Splinter as I want to showcase Agor Longtail and my secondary Splinter will be Life, as I really like to pair Life with Dragon when I play Agor. I am going to go with my faithful (now) level 4 Quix (I maxed him out very recently). The battle takes place at the Diamond-league level.

image.png

image.png

I have chosen to go with my level 3 Uriel as the main tank. I like it a lot due to its considerable armor amount and self-heal. Its other upside is that it has the Flying ability so that makes it 25% harder to hit (by ranged and melee attacks) which also could be huge. Also bear in mind that while Uriel might be in the main tank spot, a lot of damage will actually be aimed at Agor and not him due to Agor's taunt ability.

image.png

image.png

The 2nd place in the line-up goes to a Monster I have also already blogged about, namely the Carnage Titan. It's currently the best off-tank in the game due to its Reach and Double Strike abilities.

image.png

image.png

Following immediately after the Carnage Titan is Oshuur Constantia. I've got her here to support my front line Monster as long as possible. She can also take a hit or two if it gets to that, while healing herself in the meantime. What's important is that she has the Reflection Shield (This Monster doesn't take damage from Blast, Magic Reflect, Thorns, or Return Fire) ability so she does not suffer any damage when her Magic Attacks are reflected back to her.

image.png

image.png

The 4th spot is for Adelade Brightwing. This is another Monster I basically constantly use due to its ability to repair amor, paired with its ability to Resurrect a fallen ally (once per battle) which is also huge if the right friendly Monster gets to be revived. It also has Flying which is also really helpful.

image.png

image.png

The 5th place in the line-up goes to the Chaos Dragon. I have in this spot since it is a flying Monster (a true dragon) with a decent health pool and armor so it can evade a few hits or take a few hits if it has to. It also has the Blind ability in its arsenal. We know that every miss is important.

image.png

image.png

Last in the line-up is the main protagonist - Agor Longtail. She is a great taunt Monster and a definite must-play, in my humble opinion, when the mana cap can accommodate her. It has Flying, Taunt, Void Armor and Heal. Basically it is a perfectly well-rounded tank. No wonder its mana cost is so high.

image.png

It is time for a quick round by round analysis:

  • So the Summoner I am going with for this battle is my very own Quix. I have just recently finally leveled him to level 4 as it was only a couple of weeks ago when I decided to take a leap of faith in my potential to max my CL collection and decided to start doing that. My enemy, who is none other than a Luke-WTP (a known figure in the community) is also rocking a level 4 Quix so our powers are matched as far as Summoner levels are concerned. Only my Carnage Titan is maxed for Diamond, while on Luke's side of the board we can see a total of 3 Monsters at max level but he also does have one Monster at level 1.

image.png

  • After 1 round of exchanging blows nothing substantial has occurred. There are still no deaths on either side. That's to be expected as all Monsters on both sides are very beefy and in addition to that they are immune to 1 hit thanks to the Holy Protection ruleset.

image.png

  • At the start of Round 3 there has been some development on the battlefield. Luke's Bakjeera died and got revived only to probably die very soon after the beginning of the round. My Agor Longtail is also probably going to die but I still have 2 revives queued up for her.

image.png

  • Round 4 is here and the enemy Bakjeera is only a memory. My Agor Longtail is still alive and kicking with the friendly help of her teammates.

image.png

  • Round 5 - my Chaos Dragon has managed to take down Luke's River Hellondale, and his Carnage Titan is basically a goner as well. At this point of the battle it can be seen that my chances of winning are pretty high.

image.png

  • Round 6 marks the approaching end of the battle. My opponent has just two remaining Monster on the battlefield while my team is still complete.

image.png

  • Round 7 - all that is left for me is to deal 1 damage to Luke's Chaos Dragon which will also mark my victory in this battle.

image.png

  • I was curious to check what the supposed win % for this battle was according to Splintertools and it seems my chances were... 98%. Actually I am a bit surprised there was a 2% chance for me to lose the battle.

image.png

image.png
Agor Longtail is a great taunt Monster for the Dragon Splinter. It comes a probably still a bit inflated price of $24 per BCX. I actually sold my level 2 Couerl Lurker some time ago to fund my level 3 Agor. I don't think I made a mistake.

Over and Out,
image.png

Referral
image.png

Sort:  

This post has been given a 10.0% UpVote by the SplinterBoost Community Curation Bot.
image.png
Vote For Witness | Delegate HP | Join Discord


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ghostlybg ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


Do you know you can win a Chaos Legion pack and many other things just by following some simple steps ?? Check out our Latest Daily Showcase and Participate our latest Giveaway. Thanks

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121

Congratulations @ghostlybg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 29000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
Keep Hive Buzzing - Support our proposal!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!