You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grindylow the magical monster "Splinterlands Art Contest! // Week 158 //

in Splinterlands3 years ago

Hello @funb0y! This is a great rendition for your splinterlands art however you seem to just copy paste the details from this website: https://harrypotter.fandom.com/wiki/Grindylow. Unfortunately if you don't properly put references to your blogs especially if its just copy-paste, this would be considered plagiarized.

Using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

I suggest you update this blog asap.

Sort:  

I think I made it clear in the article that the idea was taken from the wizarding world, I mean Harry Potter.

And I admit that I took that information about the beast and put it in my article, this information is general and spread on Wikipedia (of course I won't come up with all those ideas out of my imagination) and I think some of them belong to the fantastic beasts series.

  • As for the drawing, I drew it on the sketchbook program from a drawing by Grindylow and converted it into art within the game splinterlands.

I worked so hard on this drawing dear.!!

I don't mean you any harm here. I didn't say as well you made those things up. As a Harry Potter fan, I was drawn to your work. Its just that its hard to provide support for budding authors here in Hive because there are certain "rules" that we can't violate.

We have so many authors that are so good but we cant help them out because time and time again, they don't source out the info or data taken from other websites.

But its still up to you, I'm just giving you a heads up though. Keep up to good work! See you around.

Thank you for your alert, I really appreciate it But is the mistake that I drew the same creature as Harry Potter, or because I took the words and the description about this creature.
I hope you can explain more so that I don't make the same mistake again.

The mistake is not the drawing. 😅 Its the copy/pasting of words from other websites. Even though its general information, its best you don't copy it word for word. Like use your own words in describing your work. Then add a link in your words where others will be directed to that website where you took that information as reference.

Copy/pasting for others here in Hive is considered as a form of abuse.