Splinterlands Weekly Challenge Battle! PORTAL SPINNER

in Splinterlands2 years ago


Every week there is a Splinterlands challenge to share a battle using a specific card and on this week's post it is the Portal Spinner card. I also encourage Splinterlands players to partake in the challenge because you get to try different strategies and earn some crypto in the process.

Featured Monster: Portal Spinner

Portal Spinner.png

Portal Spinner is a light splinter card that costs 5 mana. It starts with the scattershot skill and learns the snare ability at level 5. The scattershot ability targets a random monster and the snare ability will remove the flying ability on the monster. Its stats are fine but it has relatively low health but it does have 1 armor. Overall, I think it's fairly weak for a 5 mana cost card.

I rarely use this card because I don't like the scattershot ability too much. It makes the entire fight more random and that can go against you quite easily. As I have other cards with better abilities with a 5 mana cost, there are just too many other alternatives that I could use.

Rule set, Battle and Plan

rule set.png

The ruleset this time is healed out and holy protection. This means that I can't heal and the first damage a card takes is negated. There is 22 mana available and I can use either life or death splinters.

summoner.png

The summoner I choose to use this time is Mother Khala. Out of all my light summoners, this is the highest level. Without it, my cards will be weaker and some of them will be missing abilities.

SplinterMana CostPositionReason
Mother Khala3Summoner+1 health
Crystal Jaguar41stThorns
Luminous Eagle62ndReach and backup tank
Soul Fiend03rdFiller monster
Portal Spinner54thDamage dealer
Venari Crystalsmith45thDamage dealer
Total Mana:22

My plan is just to have a lineup with a Crystal Jaguar for thorns followed by Luminous Eagle for the reach ability. Next up is a filler monster to take an extra hit or to soak up hits from an opportunity monster. My last two cards are damage dealers and I am using Venari Crystalsmith because of its stats even if it can't heal.

Round 1

round 1.png

At the first glance of my opponent's lineup, I think I have a good chance of winning this match. Having a shield on my Crystal Jaguar and Luminous Eagle means that the charged attack won't hit my cards if I can kill off his tank fast enough. My opponent only has 1 attacker outside of this so I will fast forward until the match gets interesting.

Round 4

round 4.png

After a few rounds of back and forth, both of our tanks are at 1 health. My portal spinner has also taken out the holy protection for his last two monsters. The only danger is whether or not I can kill Bila in time with the rest of my monsters. However, I believe I should be fine as the rest of my monsters still have the holy protection.

Round 5

round 5.png

I forgot that Holy Protection stops the leech health ability so it gives me some more time to finish off my opponent. I don't think there is any danger in me losing because I have 7 damage available and I have 3 turns of this damage.

conclusion.png

After another round of trading blows, I was able to finish off my opponent and he only hit me once more.

Conclusion

The battle this time around went exactly as I expected. The luck I received was random but it did take out the holy protection of the backline monsters. While it would have been nice to focus on the damage more, I am happy with what I got this match. It was nice to see that the 1 armor on my first two monsters gave me reassurance against the charged-up attacks. With that, I only had to deal with 1 damage dealer on my opponent's side. My damage dealers were able to freely attack from the back and take out my opponent's cards.

Mother Khala was a great summoner and the extra health made the difference between my first two monsters dying in 3 attacks instead of 2 attacks. As for my opponent, I do not know why he chooses to use all those high mana cards in this match with the holy protection rule set. I do think I would have been in more trouble if heal was not banned but I still think I would have won this match.

You can see my entire match here.

What did you think of my match? Was there anything you would have done differently? I think it is quite interesting to see how different players use the same card.

Sort:  

Nice win, I like Crystal Jaguar with Thorns I need to have my upgraded 😃

It's one of my preferred card and I use it as my main tank during little league matches for light.

Congratulations @jfang003! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022

I'm not playing with a white splinter, but I did see Portal Spinner in action many times... On higher levels, it has huge range damage which is very often increased from Summoners... The random attack is powerful as it can attack cards that the opponent does not expect at all!


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project and it will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

Posted using Proof of Brain

Thanks for sharing! - Underlock#8573

Good work!

I'm not a fan of the life splinter so don't really focus in these cards, hence no portal spinner. But seems like it could be an asset to any deck if lady luck is on your side. !PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@mimismartypants(5/5) tipped @jfang003 (x1)

Join us in Discord!