Splinterlands - Playing With Wood Nymph (Weekly Battle Post)

in Splinterlands2 years ago



Self heal and tank heal has always been useful in their own right. Extending the life of a monster can sometimes me win or loss in a match. One of the older reward cards that has been out of print for a while but has tank heal and only 4 mana is Wood Nymph. In this post we look at a battle of me facing this earth card.

Formations

image.png

The match is set at pretty high mana of 44 and allows all but death splinter to attack. There were but two rule sets that made the mana count meaningless, Aim True and Little Leagues. The end result was two formationa at low mana counts.

For my formation I started with Biceratops as I needed a tanker with only 4 mana at max. Then I followed up with Minotaur Warrior, Goblin Thief, Magi of the Forest, Earth Elemental, and ending it with Swamp Thing. I had this as a formation where from round one any of the monsters would be able to attack.

My opponent started out with Xenith Monk, followed up with Earth Elemental, Kimer Princess, Wood Nymph, Goblin Thief and ending with Uraeus. It is clear my opponent was thinking the exact same thing where use of monsters that could attack at first round and onward was an objective.

Round 1

image.png

At the end of round 1 both tankers were knocked out and it was then five against five. On the surface it looks like we were evenly matched however the reality was I now had a weaker tanker in Minotaur Warrior while my opponent had Earth Elemental which had self heal and thorn.

Round 2

image.png

In deed by end of round 2 it was clear I was losing as I was down to three monsters while my opponent remained at four. In addition their Earth Elemental actually gained a health and now at six rather than starting at the beginning at five.

Round 3

image.png

By end of round 3 it was clear if my Magi was knocked out it would be over for me since my Earth Elemental would fall into the front position and will not be able attack with range. While my opponent still maintained four monsters. With three out of five with healing abilities it was difficult to overcome.

Round 4

image.png

By end of round 4 it was closer to my formation to death than my opponent's. I was simply a sitting duck waiting to be knocked out.

Round 5 - 7

image.png

It would take only a couple more rounds for my formation to scum to its death. Sadly it was not comparison and my opponent had their remaining four monsters at the end of the battle.

Conclusions

The mylor summoner and its thorn ability was difficult to battle against especially when I had multiple melee monsters. On top of that my opponent was able to setup a formation with three monsters having healing ability. Such probabilities makes it difficult to overcome in the end.

The healing help extend my opponent's formation and although the attack was subpar it was enough to finish off my formation when combined together. Combination of Earth Elemental, Kimer Princess, and Wood Nymph extended the battle for my opponent while the sneak in Goblin Thief complimented the healers. The bulk healing was too difficult to overcome and since low mana battles came with low attacking monsters there was little I could do.

If I had to redo the battle I may have went with dragon splinter instead with more focus on use of dragon cards. Yet still not sure if I could have won as I was facing both thorn ability and heal. Anyways if you are interested in watching the battle see link below:

Battle Link Here

Until next time thanks for reading!!!



If you want to play splinterlands then SignUp Here

I have plenty of other cards for rent! Just go on peakmonsters and check out the market place and if you are curious what I offer here is a link:

mawit07 rentals

If You have yet to take part in playing this great game called Splinterlands please click on my referral link. It is free but in order to earn real assets such as cards and token you would have to invest in a starter deck or purchase game cards. Join the discord to learn more. Good luck!


THANKS FOR READING! CONTINUE TO PLAY SPLINTERLANDS!


Sort:  

I played the Wood Nymph a lot with a good tank and Mylor. Even better in high mana games when you can use Kron.

img_0.846197253764671.jpg

It was minor league, so only up to 4 mana. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's unfortunate.. I don't like the 4 mana games.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@logicforce(2/5) tipped @mawit07 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Mylor is amazing for small mana battles and also for small leagues.

With a healer like wood nymph, that gives at higher levels also plus one to life with strengthen it is a blast.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

1UPmascot2.png

Boom! you have been manually curated by failingforward for your great content

1UPdevidercomment.png

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121