50k SPS Staked + CL Collection Strategies

A big milestone reached for me, 50k SPS staked. According to the calculations I did back in august, I should get about 85k in total, but the numbers keeps changing, so I'll just have to wait and see. Besides, I did use a couple of thousand SPS to buy CL packs also, something I'll most likely think of as a horrible decision, when the airdrop is finished and SPS becomes scarce.

But lifting my gaze for a moment. 50k SPS has been airdropped to me for doing nothing except owning Splinterlands assets! Even at the current SPS value (that I personally believe is way undervalued), that's a whole lot of money that has been given to me simply for believing in and participating in the game. I find it fascinating how traditional game companies are now bashing NFTs so hard, calling it a scam and the people believing in it crazy, apparently without even attempting to understand what's going on.

I guess only time will tell, but I know which side I'm betting on.

50k-staked.png
The Spirit Shaman

Status CL Collection – Road to max gold league level cards

As elaborated in my previous SPL post, my collection so far has been pretty much maxed out in Silver League, and the goal for my CL collection is to max out Gold League in preparation for the coming of the CL only Guild Brawl Frays.

And it's coming along nicely! My CL leggies are almost all at level 3 now, something I'm very pleased with. I also got my Rares up to level 6. I have a few Commons at level 8, but most are level 6, so still a way to go there. The Epics are all at level 4 with a few level 5 exceptions.

My strategy moving forward is to;

  1. upgrade the rest of the Legendaries to level 3 (with a few exceptions, mainly the 0-mana cards).
  2. then the Epics to level 5
  3. and finally the Commons to level 8. Not all commons get any stat bonuses from level 7 to level 8, though, so I will probably skip those.

BUT! There is an alternative strategy to this that I'm seriously considering, which is to postpone the maxing out in gold, and instead funnel all my funds into Gold Foil Legendaries for flipping once CL packs sell out. GFL's are available now for about $100-$150, and if they see the same price appreciation as previous series when they sell out, this should be a no-brainer and could potentially equal to thousands of dollars profit. I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on this in the comments, if you have any.

cl-leggies.PNG

I'll also mention that the way I was able to afford getting my cards all the way up to this level is from finally selling some of my Beta cards. I probably should have sold them a lot sooner, but hey, no time for regrets. I made sure to mostly sell cards with a low DEC burn value to preserve collection Power, as I've finally reached 1+ million CP, and wasn't about to fall under that threshold again.

So yeah, a pretty large number of expensive commons from Beta sold, equaled a ton of legendary CL-cards that put my collection in a lot stronger position than it was. I also put a few Level 1 Legendaries up for sale, cards that I never use anyways. But they have yet to be sold. I guess I have to wait at least until the land expansion is released before someone will be interested.


Thank you for reading!
@mightpossibly

Sort:  

Congrats on a great milestone, seems like we will have a soon to be Splinterlands millionaire soon XD

There is an alternative strategy to this that I'm seriously considering, which is to postpone the maxing out in gold, and instead funnel all my funds into Gold Foil Legendaries for flipping once CL packs sell out. GFL's are available now for about $100-$150, and if they see the same price appreciation as previous series when they sell out, this should be a no-brainer and could potentially equal to thousands of dollars profit. I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on this in the comments, if you have any.

If you go back to history it is possible, though you should also consider the maximum supply of cards, But even though you will not be getting thousand profit from a single card, it is still a good play in my opinion, I am pretty sure they would increase to at least $500

!1UP

Thank you! And also for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. That's very true, and I guess I phrased myself a bit unprecise. I meant more like *thousands of dollars in total IF I were to buy several of them.

seems like we will have a soon to be Splinterlands millionaire soon XD

I'll drink to that xD

I don't think the new GFL will cost thousands of dollars in the future. A lot of new packs have been released, and these cards are never comparable in price to the old ones.
Selling beta cards seems like the right decision. In the future we will have to separate the battle formats and you will not be able to use the beta cards in the Modern format.
Well, the SPS stacking is also the right decision, as now the price of tokens is too low :)

Totally agree, and you're right. And I should've probably phrased myself more modest. It's obviously highly unlikely that CL GFLs will have the same appreciation, given the amount of new cards that are being released. But still, also most likely some good profit to be made, even if not thousands of $ on singles, hehe.

Very true with the modern format. I'm glad you agree with the decision, though I still did it with some mixed feelings, considering the likely future need for a competent work-force once the land expansion arrives.

Uh oh, I keep buying Legendary GLs in CL, but mainly for the DEC/gameplay bonus, and confidence that they will be somewhat more valuable over time. I'm not expecting them to be worth thousands in the future except maybe the summoners.

I'm pretty certain they'll be worth a lot more than they are now, at least!

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @ivarbjorn!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@monster-curator, @oneup-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@curation-cartel(16/20) tipped @mightpossibly (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Congratulations @mightpossibly! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 8
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more