Sort:  

It doesn't matter enough for the devs to change their position on it so they must feel like they add some value they'd like to exploit while keeping them in check so they don't eat the game.

The debate is whether or not they are succeeding.

Also, you lucky bastard. My bot drops me a tier every time I try to use it on my main account. :P

I don't disagree, but the devs' approach leads one to 1) git gud 2) bot 3) scholar ... or 4) leave, hence my position and argument (and article title). Based on our time, inclination, and funds, what can we as players choose to do to best position our account to benefit not only ourselves but the game?

I want to invite @willendorfia to this conversation. She recently came into the ecosystem and opened my eyes to how a lot of the changes I hadn't really noticed impact new players.

Point by point...

  1. Get Good
    I presume this means grind your ass off, drop a fortune into building a deck, or a combination of the two. Isn't that the way gaming works in general?

  2. Bot.
    If you're here to play, this is a moot option, and if you're here to farm you should have to drop a small fortune into it. If you want to mine more gold buy better equipment.

  3. Scholar.
    If you're budget doesn't have room to drop a 40 or 50 $$ investment into a crypto mining operation like nothing else currently in existence this is a great option from what I've gathered. I can see why it's not the most awesome because you don't get to keep all rewards, but having a ready to go deck handed to you isn't the worst case scenario

  4. Leave.
    Man, I've said it before and I'll say it again, and again, and again... (and I believe @mattclarke would agree) This isn't just a game. It's an experiment that is currently, as we speak, changing the fundamentals of gaming, work, finance, and governance as we know it. There are plenty of ways to participate without playing the game itself and if one doesn't enjoy it maybe they should play in other arenas within it.

When it comes to bots I feel like that's a part of the experiment. Banning accounts is nothing short of playing whack-a-mole. It's time, energy, and resources wasted with no solid resolution to the problem. I feel like it'll probably come to verified accounts getting incredible benefits over anonymous or bot accounts, to put real players in a different tier with higher rewards, but even that is problematic. I guess what I'm saying is I don't think there's a solution so much as a balance to strike.

Thanks for tagging me in, @sinistry, though I'm not sure how much I can really add to this particular conversation. After all, until reading this post (and the one by azircon that led to it), I didn't even know scholars existed. I will pepper you with questions about that in DM, though. :)

Thus far, I've been in the grindy-grindy class, and it's been extremely difficult. And the only reason it's been difficult rather than discouraging me to the point of quitting the game, is because sinistry has done so much hand-holding. Otherwise, I likely wouldn't have stuck around long enough to even figure out that you cannot advance AT ALL without buying, renting, or having someone delegate cards to you.

It was insanely frustrating those first few days to play game after game, and win multiple times, only to receive 0 reward points each and every time. It should REALLY be made clear to newbies that buying the spellbook gets you nothing on its own. If you don't use the $3 in credits you get on cards (renting or buying), you will never earn a single reward point because playing with starter cards cannot earn RP.

Thanks to sinistry's explanations I understand why this was done (to thwart farming with no investment), but folks who have been in the ecosystem a long time, and didn't have the restriction of earning 0 RP when they came in, don't seem to realize that it is incredibly frustrating to newbs who don't have the benefit of a friend with a huge deck who can afford to loan them a bunch of cards to get started. I know I wouldn't have hung around if I didn't, and I probably would've trash-talked Splinterlands to anyone who would listen, because the onboarding process (as well as the onboarding process for hive in general) has been an absolute nightmare. Add in the disappointment of being unable to advance without going above and beyond the initial investment, and I would've given up long ago.

I don't know if this helps anyone, or even really speaks to the issue at hand (if I ever get enough cards to try a bot, maybe I can form an opinion). But for those of us in the far bottom rungs, bots are the least of our worries.

Hi! Welcome! I'm really glad Sinistry has taken the time to show you around and help you out. I swear, the game needs about 50 volunteer 'ambassadors' or something to help onboard new players.

The new player experience was not fun when I joined in January 2022, not without making a solid investment, and with all of the changes since then I imagine it's pretty miserable now.

According to the team, they are focusing on solidifying the economy before shifting focus to the new player experience. I'm not a business person, but this choice seems to be like picking between eating and drinking when you should do a little of both every day.

I'd encourage you to look at your opponents' names - even just the ones you've recently played. It looks like you might have a bit of a bot problem, too.

Capture.PNG

Hey, thanks for the response, and the warm welcome! I don't doubt at all that I've been playing against bots. I've noticed the weird usernames that seem unlikely to be humans, but honestly, at my level of inexperience, I can learn as much by losing to a bot, as I can from losing to a human. 😂

I am a business person, and I agree that that approach sounds a bit wonky. However, every business has to make decisions, and given the crappy crypto market we're in right now, I'm sure the choices on Splinterlands are harder than most. I just hope that they manage to get the economy bit squared away soon, as new customers are the lifeblood of ANY business. As I pointed out to sinistry early on, if the onboarding experience continues to be this awful, the business will die out naturally, no matter how many hardcore oldtimers it has.

I really, REALLY like your idea of onboarding ambassadors. I don't know what you'd have to do to run that up the flagpole, but it sounds like an excellent idea whose time can't come soon enough!

I'm not really sure what I can add here, man, I think we're getting tangential. I never mentioned or have advocated for banning accounts, but since you brought it up, that ties in with point 1, ironically, since in every other gaming platform banning would occur as a response to botting - which is viewed in every other gaming platform as cheating - so why bother 'getting gud' if you're going up against cheaters - why bother even talking about 'governance' if the game underpinning it all is in a broken-ass state for a good portion of the player base - who, in turn, are usually treated with a hefty dose of sarcasm and dismissal ("maybe they should play in other arenas within it") when they speak on the topic.

I didn't mean to come across as sarcastic or dismissive. I was just pointing out that this isn't an average game and it's appeal extends beyond the typical gamer mindset, and crosses into realms that aren't historically associated with gaming.

I just think there's something here for everyone, but that doesn't mean just playing the game is the thing that everyone will be into. There are a lot of fun and profitable ways to engage and if newcomers aren't digging what they're playing with there are options to mix it up.

I'll probably re-read your original post tonight and add more, but I have to get ready for work now and I'd like to think about what exactly we're talking about (or at least what I'm talking about) before I ramble farther.

I didn't think you were meaning to. It's just an odd trend (?, if that's the right word) I've noticed since I've been here and spent most of my time observing vs. talking in the public sphere.

And I agree - it's not an average game, it's got multiple points of appeal and engagement and earning. But the core game itself has got to be fun.

And really, what I'm trying to go about here is not to say "this is what the developers of the game should do etc. this is the black and white solution etc." but firstly speak of my own experience and learning and growth here (which is every day), and then if I'm lucky, speak to the mass of players who are in positions to affect a lot more than their own pocketbooks with their choices.

I don't think bots are some kind of scourge to be eradicated as much as I think we've reached a point now where we players need to think long and hard before flipping on that switch for ourselves. That switch is here, if not for everyone, then for everyone soon.