Splinterlands Battle Recap - Beating a Kraken by doing No Damage

in Splinterlands3 years ago

I have a pretty weak set of cards, mainly the starter deck you can use when you buy the Spellbook. I feel like I am still a noob and am constantly hovering over my opponent's deck in the pre-battle talking to myself, mumbling, "I have no idea what that is" or "What the heck does that thing do" or "I have never heard of that one before." You get the picture.

With not so many cards and not so much skill, battles tend to either be over quickly or settled based on who gets to go first (almost always my opponent, right?) or who misses their attack (always me! especially my blind Sand Worm that couldn't hit its own face!!). There is a sense of Fate about most battles. Some prismatic efreet prince elder grog shows up and kills me dead and I rally the troops. What made this battle stand out was the fact that I am sure my opponent was doing spit takes and staring open-mouthed at the screen when it became apparent that I would win. This was pretty much an impossibility and yet it happened. I think you'll laugh right away when you see why.

Capture.JPG
Bow in Fear!

Here are the details of the battle:
MANA - 18
LEAGUE - Bronze III (hey I already told you I am a wimp!)

To milk the suspense a bit, let me first tell you what the attacking cards were for my team:
Elvin Mystic
Ice Pixie
Medusa

Yes, I was playing Water with the +1 Magic attack bonus. You see, the cards that my opponent had played in previous matches looked scary, at least the ones I had heard of before. I felt like I could not match their firepower, but that I might get lucky and they'd play a non-healing tank and that I might just get in enough attacks before I got obliterated. I really hoped they would not choose Water and play their Prismatic Bully Ball thing that reflects magic damage, does a million points and also has a million health (in my nightmares at least).

I was bummed when I saw they also were playing Water with +1 Magic attack. For a second I was excited because NO PRISMATIC BULLY! Then I realized that they had played a Kraken. There was no chance for me. Dead on arrival. To add insult to injury, the had a Furious Chicken in their first spot and a Crustacean King to heal the Kraken in the unlikely event that I came anywhere near bruising it.

Then it dawned on me that I was going to win!

You see, I had decided to take a chance and play a Peaceful Giant in my first spot - initially thinking it would be able to absorb a round or two of damage and that whatever magic card survived the Sneaks and Opportunists would maybe get enough shots off. Turns out it was the perfect choice for a totally different reason!

You probably already see why this battle was both ridiculous and glorious for my little team of Magic Wimps. But in case you do not, just think about the fact that if the Peaceful Giant could do even 1 point of damage, it would have killed the chicken and been quickly destroyed by the Kraken.

Yes, I won because I could not do any damage with my Tank!

But there is more! One of the key features of the terrifying Kraken is its Taunt ability, which means that all possible attacks, aka everything but the Tank, goes after it. If even one of my Magic Wimps could have attacked the Chicken I would have lost. This battle felt like a million-to-one, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did (and I think my opponent must have enjoyed it too as one of those impossible things that actually happened!).

Here is a link to the battle replay and an image of the setup. The gameplay itself is a triumph for the little guy but kind of boring. I just attack the Kraken over and over again and it just sits there getting zapped until it is dead.
https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=55bb36e792b7283efe48a358792dc24e5079c9c5&ref=pregosauce

Capture.JPG

If you would like to support wimps like me in our endless battles against overpowering forces, feel free to send me a Kraken card - and if you wish to punish me for upending the natural order of things in this battle, feel free to send me a Kraken card, so that I might taste bitter defeat like my opponent hahaha! :)

Sort:  

Lol. I know you’re joking but that ice pixie is a MF. It gets Shatter at higher levels and ruined me last night. I’m sure it was poetic for the opponent but it was infuriating watching my armor shatter to open me up for one shot kills one by one all the way down the line.

Congrats! The “impossible” victories are the most exciting.

Just curious, have you looked through the rental market for key cards to help bolster your deck? With the way everything’s taken off lately it seems it’s worth it but I have tried it yet.

I started to rent a Cthulhu in February but it was cheap enough back then to just buy so I still haven’t tried it.

I’m about to pull an alt account out of retirement, though, and will probably need to reinforce it so maybe I’ll get a chance to report next week.

Haha, I know...Ice Pixie is almost always just target practice for my opponent. I just couldn't believe how this one turned out haha!

I did rent a few cards last season. I rented two Gold Legends to give me enough Power to qualify for Gold III (and even won a game there but for some reason SPL clawed by my chest rewards to the Sliver I level - I was pretty angry because it was a waste of time set of reward chests anyway, almost all potions). Then I decided to get fancy and rented a couple of power cards I thought would help me win battles, but I am not good enough to win a t gold even with Chthulu and the Prismatic guy combined haha. And it gets really impossible to anticipate what an opponent will play when you have never seen any of those cards before and have no clue what happens to cards at L2 and L3. All told, I spent 220 DEC in 1 day to power up and lose a lot, and got less than that back in season rewards.

But, I will probably rent some cards to maximize the level I can get to before the end of the season hoping that I was unlucky last time.

Yeah, Cthulhu and PE are both high mana cards. I can see why it may be difficult to get a lot of use from them.

Congratulations @pregosauce! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @pregosauce.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more