Splinterlands Challenge of the Week: Equalizer

in Splinterlands4 years ago (edited)

This week's Splinterlands Challenge of the Week was to showcase the Equalizer Rule Set.

image.png

This battle features yours truly (me) defeating a maxed out Earth Deck, with half of my cards not maxed!

And to make it even more embarrassing for my opponent, he plays Prince Reynn, who has one of the highest win rates of any summoner, slightly lower after this battle...

The Line Up and Rule Set

Screenshot 20200927 at 10.08.55.png

  • Mana 30 - acceptable for a high mana summoner!
  • Equalizer
  • Heavy Hitters

Summoner - Mim0 - I find affliction is MOST useful with Equalizer!

  1. Lord A - simply the best tank!
  2. Dwarven Wizard - part 1 of my snip/ stun/ double damage strategy
  3. Fallen Spectre - for the hexes
  4. SoulStorm - for the stun and hexes
  5. Twisted Jester - part 2 of my stun and snipe strategy.
  6. Tower Griffin - for some additional shields, flying defence agains sneak.

Did my strategy work?

Beautifully, to see it in action click here!

  • Round 1 - we exchange blows, no losses! It's apparent it's not going to go well for my opponent as by the end of this round his Cocatrice is netted and he's missed me (thanks to blind) more than I've missed him, and his treble heal strategy is nullified by affliction!
  • Round 2 - He loses his Cocatrice and then his Earth Elemental - pre-stunned in round 1, it gets finished off by SoulStorm who does 8 damage with the Heavy Hitters ruleset!
  • Round 3 - No losses
  • Round 4 - he loses his Princess thanks to snipe and reflect and then his Swamp Thing which is now in the front row. My Lord A is still holding up!
  • Round 5 - No losses, but he's double stunned thanks to my snipe stun strategy.
  • Round 6 - it's all over! I win, with NO LOSSES!

Why did I win so convincingly?


Well my opponent got unlucky with Earth - Mim0 trumps Earth with equalizer as her universal affliction hex eradicates the usual double or treble heal capacity that comes with earth.

You have to play cleanse to overcome this, and that was my opponent's biggest downfall, and Earth does not have cleanse!

The general hexing power of death combined with shields also proved most effective in defending me for six rounds, I could have lasted 7 without losing anything, and that's with no healing. Blind helped too, my opponent missed me a few times!

But the primary reason for my victory is that I actually played the Heavy Hitters Rule - which means I've got two cards doing 8 (Soul Storm) and 6 (The Jester) damage when enemy monsters are stunned, and that kind of damage is sufficient to plough through most monsters in two rounds, many in just one round.

Final Thoughts: good strategies for Equalizer?

  • I've found Mimosa to be most affective - universal affliction, hexing for defence, and because there's so many low health cards, you gain more by playing this splinter - especially the Fallen Spectre - his only weakness is eradicated!
  • Stun also works quite nicely in Equalizer, it prevents heal after all, and takes damage out for a round.
  • Cleanse, cleanse, cleanse is a great defence against affliction, and good to play in Equalizer, but you need Life or Water for that!
  • Flying. dodge, blind, all have more time to work too!
  • Blast is a great idea
  • Healing, of course, you won't necessarily get afflicted, and if you combine it with cleanse, it can work!
  • Shields, armour, repair.
  • Get the basics right - you want Lord A as a tank, with all damage halved.

Generally I don't pile in with high health monsters, I let my opponent gift me that - monsters with low health tend to have better stats elsewhere to compensate, so it makes sense to make the most of those other benefits and if yer opponent wants to play a sleeping giant and waste a card with no attack, just welcome the 17 health all yer monsters get!

If you don't yet play Splinterlands, why not give it a go?

Anyone using my referral link will receive a free rare card or better!

Sort:  

Evidently there is a lot to think about in tactics for this game. It sounds fun.

Pretty cool that you can watch the battle even when you’re not logged in.

Thanks for sharing! - @ashikstd

Whoa, whoa, whoa.
What a battle!
You had a fantastic lineup there.
Keep on playing.

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!