Reward Card Dilema - Chain Spinner

in Splinterlands3 years ago

I was lucky enough to get a GOLD chain spinner as one of my daily reward quests. This is my first ever gold card!

Screenshot 2021-07-29 101030.jpg

It took me a few moments to realise it was a gold one. I initially thought "fab - I can almost level up my (ordinary) chain spinners now as I currently have 3 of them". But when I realised it was a gold, I went to check the stats on the card.

Gold Card Chain Spinner Stats (& cards required)

This starts out on Level 3 for the first card

Screenshot 2021-07-29 101237.jpg

Normal Card Chain Spinner Stats (& cards required)

Screenshot 2021-07-29 102800.jpg

Dilema

At the time of writing, a normal Chain Spinner card on peakmonsters costs $0.268 and a gold Chain Spinner card is $8.99

If I wanted to purchase a Chain Spinner with Level 3 stats I would either need to spend $8.99 on a gold card, or 14 x $0.268 = $3.752 on normal cards and level up.

Hmm... the no brainer there is the normal cards.

The same is true for a level 4, or level 10, card. Level 4 = $17.98 (2 x gold) or $8.04 (30 x normal). Level 10 = $341.62 (38 x gold) or $107.2 (400 x normal).

So in theory, leveling up the "normal" cards to level 10 is better than leveling up the "gold" cards to level 10.

Should I sell it and buy normal cards?

If I sell my gold card for a little below market value (let's say $8.50) I could then purchase 27 normal cards (plus my 3 existing normal chain spinner cards) and level up to level 4. I would also have around $1.26 to put towards buying another card or pack.

This would mean that instead of a gold card at Level 3 (plus 3 normal level 1 cards), I would have a normal Level 4 card.

Conclusion

I wonder if this is the same for all cards, or just an anomaly for the Chain Spinner? Maybe some more research is needed at a later date...

BUT - this is my first Gold card. I don't really want to give it up. Should head or heart win on this one? I am as yet undecided. What would you do?

Sort:  

Gold cards are definitely worth it:
They give you extra DEC when you win a battle, but are also worth a lot more on the rental market (some tournaments if I remember correctly are Gold Cards only).

The trick is of course: You could be better off selling the gold card and buying 10x other cards that would boost your entire deck more than just the gold card bonus DEC when you (sometimes) use the card.

#My2Cents ;-)

I got a gold Undead Rex and was in a pretty similar situation. I still haven't sold it. 😆

i would keep it!

If you don't care about your collection power that much I would sell it

Congrats on your first gold foil! I would definitely keep it

If you level the card, make sure you have high level summoner as well.

Keep the gold for a while longer