Late To The Party? My Splinterlands Career Begins!

in Splinterlands2 years ago

This will be a very short post relative to my current experience -next to none- in the Splinterlands game, marking my actual start on it, hoping that I'm not TOO late to the party.

Screenshot_20211221-095716_Chrome.jpg

After hearing and seeing almost everyone playing and talking about Splinterlands, I decided to try it out a while ago.

I'm relatively new to Hive in general and there was so much to read and learn about so far, adding a new game to the mix early on wasn't a priority, but I got to it eventually!

When I first logged in on Splinterlands, I was overwhelmed, like any other cards game, it had MANY cards to understand and learn about. Something I haven't done till this day, but I'm getting there!

I tried out couple of battles, but realized I won't be able to do much without getting a summoner's spell book.
Which I wasn't prepared to get at that point, for multiple reasons, not having much Hive to buy one being at the top. So I basically just closed the game and left it for maybe some another time.



Couple of days ago, however, an awesome friend decided to gift me that spellbook to get me started on my splinterlands career. I won't tag them in here personally, but they're one of the ninjas over at @theterminal. Thank you guys, love you all! 💛


Screenshot_20211218-002237_Chrome.jpg

Now, that I have the spellbook, I atleast can do some daily quests to progress a bit while learning about the cards and the mechanics.

I've done couple of quests, one life quest and one sneak ability quest. which weren't that easy, but nothing that can't be done after losing 100 battles. 🙃

The rewards that I got from the chests weren't too great, but hey, at least I got something...


I mean 2 credits, and a potion that I have no clue what it actually does, how to use, or what to do with it. Sure, why not! 😅

Judging by the 2 credits I got, the potion must be a super common and useless thing. I read something about it increasing the chance of something when doing something or opening chests, something... It can stay in my inventory for now.

I'm sure it will take me a lot of time, and a lot of lost battles to learn the game, but I hope that I'm not THAT late to the party because so far it seems so.



My current stats

Yup! A total newbie. 😌

I keep going back and forth within the Bronze III league, I highly doubt I will be able to reach Bronze II anytime soon. Not with my current cards, and not with my lack of understanding what each card does.

I mean, less than 50% win rate, I clearly don't know what I'm doing. 😅


At least, I have 5 chests that I can expect to get when the league ends, and I can get a daily chest from quests.
With an effort for sure, but doing those quests should push me to learn about different splinters and abilities!

I can tell it will be hard and slow progress, but at least I started the game now, and as they say... Better late than never.



So what do you think? Am I too late to the party? And what advice can you give to progress, at least get to Bronze II to start earning some DEC?

Any advice would be appreciated. 👍

Thanks for reading, and thanks to the devs for making the game somewhat playable on mobile!




☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

If you haven't started yet, and are interested in playing the game, you can use my Referral Link if you want!

☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆


See you all later 🙋‍♂️


Join The Terminal if you have any questions or need help!
Your Terminal Discord Invite!

All content in this post is courtesy of me, and are from the Splinterlands Game.
© 2021 @yaziris.
Sort:  

You're way ahead of me, I haven't even had time to go into a battle yet, but I suspect at some point I will come in and do it to it! lol.
Glad to see you're moving on up, and 40 or 45% is not a bad start, no worries, just keep plowing on.

Hahaha. So much to do, so little time!

Look at you. Despite not tagging you so I don't bother you with my babbling about the game, you show up.
You should free some more time for yourself!

Thank you for everything that you do to help others.

Thank you for the kind words Yaz lol, I'm okay for now!

Definitely not late. Right now is a good time to get into the game. The introduction of the Chaos Legion cards just this month has changed the gameplay so much that it's almost new again for everyone. I'm reworking my deck myself, and a lot of the new cards have become fast favorites.

My advice would be to watch the games of the top players in your league. This way, you can see how the monsters work together. There are so many combinations available, so I would also suggest familiarizing yourself with one or two splinters and moving from there.

As for specifics, it always helps to have a healer in the team if it's available. Hope this helps. 😁

It certainly does help! I didn't know what was all the hype about with chaos legion but now I understand.

My advice would be to watch the games of the top players in your league. This way, you can see how the monsters work together.

This is a great idea, I'll focus on 2 splinters and do that!

I use healers whenever I can, some have lower hp and get sniped out fast though. Usually if no funny business happens during the battle, I win. But many of the buffs and de-buffs that happen are affecting the outcome, and I don't understand a lot about them.

Thank you for the tips.

You're welcome. :)

You can also read the players' posts on the Share Your Battle Weekly Challenge. A lot of the battles have explanations about why the player chose their lineup, etc. A lot of them have pretty good battles that you can learn from.

Will do. Much appreciated!!

I haven't played Splinterlands for aaaaages. When I played there were no guilds, and no potions, and... your screenshots of the game look so different to what I remember, haha.

I'm not sure I'll be much help!! But when I played, I personally looooved the Life cards. That was my favourite "element". I'm not sure if things are still the same, but my general strategy was melee characters at the front, ranged at the back... my very first character and very back character had the most health also. I found that advantageous.

It's probably not tooooo late to get into it. 🙂 Though I'm kicking myself very hard for selling all my cards ages ago. 😵😅

Though I'm kicking myself very hard for selling all my cards ages ago. 😵😅

OMG! Same here. I sold about 60k DEC worth of Alpha/Beta/Rewards cards about a month before the SPS airdrop. I had no idea. Good thing I got lazy and held on to rest of my collection. But I lost some pretty good cards there. Lol!

Now I'm re-learning the game, too.

I didn't know they changed that much. The game seems to be actively being developed and updated then, which is a good thing!

I don't know if something has changed regarding the life cards or if it's just me newbish and clueless how to play them, but I lose most battles when I use those. 😆

I do melee at front, tanking with the very first and magic then rangers at the back as you mentioned, but there are weird buffs and de-buffs that happen due to cards and other things which I don't know much about yet. They have big impact on the outcome of battles.

I'm kicking myself very hard for selling all my cards ages ago. 😵😅

I'd probably kick myself for that too. 😬
But hey, you said it: "It's probably not tooooo late to get into it."
So, maybe you should try it out once again too!

I'm more kicking myself because the cards are worth more now and I could've made a tidy sum. 😅 I don't really have any interest in the game itself anymore. If I was to play it now, it wouldn't be for fun, just for trying to make a quick buck... 😕

Reading through another comment that offered advice - yes, a healer!! I remember now. Tanky melee character at the front, second-best melee character second, healer in the middle, normal ranged with an ability of some sort, then tanky ranged at the end. Then it's just a matter of looking through all the abilities and seeing what's what. 😅

I remember there was an ability that lowered everyone's health -- I think I remember hating fighting the Death element because of that, haha!

That's what I meant, I heard some cards are worth a good sum now which weren't worth that much back then.

Unless I happen to fight against death element with fire, I lose the fight easily, and most people are using death, aargh! That's why I use fire mostly, but then again they use earth element and I'm dead. 😵

I had a few exclusive Kickstarter cards too. 🤣 Alpha cards, beta cards, arrrrgh, lol! (Except one Kickstarter card, that I'm still salty about after all this time I never received despite emailing several times, despite trying to contact people, eurgh. But, whatever.)

Yeah, I remember Death being used a lotttttt and I didn't like it. 😅 And whenever I tried to use the Death cards, I failed miserably!

It'll come to you though as you play and learn the game. 🙂 Despite failing against Death a lot, after a while I managed to get up to Diamond rank a couple of times! And that's usually where I stopped because I didn't want to fall back down. You can get there!! 😁

I'm not coming here to give you advice hahahaha cuz I do not know how to play LOLOL

you can pass along some nice advice to me when you get it hahahahaha cuz i've had cards for a while now and nope - don't know what to do with them

i just rent them out and collect my SPC and DEC hehehehee

I guess that's still a nice passive income right? hehehehe

I hope you have fun - but from what I hear - its not too late for you hehehehe

YES! Renting them out is the best you can do in that case, just whatever you do, don't sell them. Look at all the regrets that came with selling. lol

Yeah, it seems not TOO late. 😋 So, will see how it goes!

hehehehe yeah i will only sell if i am desperate!

i have my favorites and I buy some new ones when I'm feeling like having fun hehehehe

i just love how nice they look ROFLLLLLLLLLLLLL

I liked so much this post💜

Gald you did, thanks for stopping by.

Welcome to the world of pain and suffering LOL. But just at the start, hopefully.
Lets see if you can keep up with it.

Great Job Friend!

Congratulations @yaziris! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.
You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends